We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
438
513
154
43
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
513
154
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel indigo parliament hill downtown ottawa byward market parking garage front desk staff tim hortons location is great rideau canal corner room sparks street national gallery mini fridge coffee maker atrium lobby wallpaper
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable. The rooms are on the small size, but adequate. I understand they are about to commence renovating the rooms and is is time this was done. The only negative I have is the in-house restaurant is below par, but there are so many good restaurants near so it is not a problem.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KenRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay while in Ottawa. Close to everything. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean and bed was very comfy. Will miss our bartender Lilly. We will definitely be back. Love the city. So much to see.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Great stay, close to everything pretty much. Very nice Lobby, clean and great room. Noelle and Waylon were awesome at front desk, very helpful and knowledgeable. Would stay again and would recommend this hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you so much for the 5 Star Review and the shout out to Noella & Waylon! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us from our cleanliness to our location to our helpful staff! We hope to see you back again very soon!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic! Lobby and hotel room design are innovative and stunning; it was hard to leave the hotel!! The staff are so genuinely friendly, thoughtful and helpful! I spoke w/ Sophie on the phone while making reservations. She knew my daughter and I planned to see the light show on the HILL. Sophie went above and beyond! She left a nice card in the room with a picnic blanket and snacks for the show!! We were wowed by the genuine thoughtfulness. Great experience!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you SCampbell for the 5 Star Review and the shout out to Sophie! We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and we hope the blanket and snacks helped make the light show that much better! Your comments have been shared with Sophie. We hope to see you back again soon!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

The hotel is nice. The lobby is really beautiful and bright with a infused water station, which was nice. The staff was really kind and helpful. This is especially true of Shirley. She gave us so many good restaurant recommendations (we went to all of them and they were delicious), and accommodated us when we arrived early. Great lady, a shining gem in this hotel.

The rooms were nice, though the bathroom was not as nice as I anticipated. I read somewhere about a "spa-inspired bathroom" which was not the feel I got. It wasn't bad by any means, but just don't expect a big spa bathroom. The bathroom was clean, there were adequate towels, and it was pleasant. Shower didn't have the best pressure, but it did the job well enough.

One thing I didn't love is the distance from the parking garage to the actual hotel. It is 3 elevators and quite a walk away. This was only a minor inconvenience but just something to note if you have a lot to carry or kids who are going to fight you.

All in all, I would stay again. The location can't be beat. You walk out of the hotel and you can see parliament. It is only steps away from the Hill, and just around the corner from the street with all the restaurants and bars (Elgin). You also have access to the pool that is shared with the Marriott, as well as a gym. Internet was included. Staff was great, rooms were clean, really no complaints other than that pesky parking garage.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetcalfeGM, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you Isa C for the 4 Star Review and your feedback on your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay from our clean rooms to our location to our great staff - especially Shirley! We are starting renovations on our guest rooms this week with an expected completion date of Spring 2019 so hopefully you will come back and see us then, if not before. I think you will like our new rooms and bathrooms!
Best,
Kim, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews