We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
307
161
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
161
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage across the street minimalist hotel parliament hill le germain grey cup great hotel open concept slater street rooms are modern byward market shower stall walking distance loved this hotel quiet room decent size lobby area business trip
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 505 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

I found the room to be very clean with all the appropriate amenities. The hotel itself if modern and has a minimalist feel to it. (Which I like) The cafe was handy and the prices again are reasonable.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philip D, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Good day GB S and thank you for your great comments! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back very soon! All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel, but...you should know a few things about it before you book/arrive.
1. It is not a driver friendly hotel. The entrance at the front for vehicles requires you to park on the sidewalk. This is distinguished by colour blocking. If is your first time here and it is raining or night it is very easy to miss...especially with pedestrians walking on it!
2. There is no parking on-site. They recommend a P for parking lot across the street. But be aware crossing this street is no easy matter. During the week it is a very busy street (double decker buses etc quickly rushing by) and with the hotel located in the middle of the street reaching a crossing light is annoying especially in bad weather too.
3. The breakfast which you must pay additional for isn’t worth it. You’re limited to 3 items plus coffee/tea. The items included a continental breakfast, with one type only of muffins, croissants, toast (which you toast and bread is often stale), fresh fruit which is clearly processed fruit and yogurt/granola/fruit sauce which is bland, boil eggs and cheese slices (not refrigerated). Best choice is the croissants and tea/coffee which is actually quite good!

Overall it is a nice hotel, clean and centrally located. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank karenrP5627ZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philip D, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Good day karenrP5627ZT and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and it will be our pleasure to share your feedback with the team. We will definitely pass along your comments regarding the breakfast selection to our food and beverage team as we are currently reviewing the format to ensure we can offer the best selection to our guests. If you have any additional feedback or suggestions to make our breakfast package a better offering, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to welcome you back very soon! All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Ottawa is a lovely city and the Alt Hotel is a perfect location to stay. Within a few blocks we were able to visit the Parliament, Byward Market, Art Museum, Canal walk. It was a wonderful weekend. i would highly recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philip D, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Bonjour Kim M and thank you for your great comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Best regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Have stayed at a number of Alt hotels (Toronto, Montreal), this was my first stay in Ottawa and it did not disappoint. My husband and I do not require pools, gym rooms so the Alt works well for us. Great sleep (I need to find out where they buy their mattress:)), friendly staff, great location. The views from our room was not great; we stared at a building roof top. We moved into another room to see if we could get a better view of the city but unfortunately much of the same view. There is also no free parking ... but neither dampened our stay. I would stay at the Alt Ottawa again and recommend for any looking for a comfortable stay at a great location in the heart of the city

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philip D, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hello Claudia C and thank you for your great comments! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and it will be our pleasure to share your great comments with the team. It is always nice to read comments from guests who have visited us across Canada and we feel privileged to be your traveling partners across the country. On your next visit, please do not hesitate to inquire more details about our mattresses as our team can definitely guide you to our supplier in order for you to get the same comfort at home! We hope to see you again soon! All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018

I was so impressed with this hotel from check in, to check out. We were greeted by very friendly staff at the desk. We were given complimentary welcome drinks at the beautiful bar. It was explained to us that the Hotel contained 100% Canadian products, including the matresses! The decor was very pleasing, and modern. Our room was pristine, and very comfortable. I’d definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 82sandif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Philip D, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hello 82sandif and thank you for your amazing comments! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your “Canadian” experience with us and it will be our pleasure to share your great comments with the team! If ever you would like to bring some of that experience back home with you, make sure to visit the Simons website where we carry all our linens and towels! We hope to see you again soon! All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews