We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vanessa H
Barrie, Canada

Tranquil

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 19, 2022
A welcomed and heartfelt greeting. Kathy and Kevin are amazing, delightful and gracious hosts. After a tour my husband and I walked into our suite and were amazed of its size and amenities. Stay here!
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: The suites off separate from the building were spacious and clean. The room was nice and quite.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this review
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Thank you so much for the review!! We look forward to seeing you again on island time!

c+k
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
MISt Swinup Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$216
  • Booking.com
20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$189
  • Vio.com
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$268
  • Hotels.com
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$282
  • Booking.com
20.5 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
38.8 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.5 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
32.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.4 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pelee Island
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
97
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king suite other guests screened in porch laid back beautiful property made us feel my husband and i coffee maker peaceful retreat wonderful place comfortable bed picnic tables new friends separate building fantastic stay fresh croissants get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 105 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2022

We always love staying at the wandering dog! Beautiful old house with tons of character and Kevin & Cathy will make sure you feel at home there! Delicious breakfast, bonfire, hammock, even a gazebo so you can enjoy the outdoors while it rains! We will for sure be back!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JHarway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022

Loved having you Jamie + Jonathon! Thanks for exploring the island in your backyard!
c+k

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2022 via mobile

Cathy and Kevin are absolutely amazing as a couple and a team! They’re organized, extremely
clean, very accommodating and SUPER Fun! By the end of our 2 night stay we felt like we were staying with a great big family. Wonderful stories by the campfire, breakfast and even a fun group adventure to the beach! We came home rested and refreshed!
We can’t wait to return.
Thanks to all our new friends and especially to Cathy and Kevin for such a great short vacation.

Barb & Kyle McDonald

Room tip: Reserve your boat trip to the Island promptly.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022

Barb!!!! Thanks for leaving such a great review! We love that you loved it and look forward to seeing you again and can't wait for the next moonlit tour!

c+k

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2022 via mobile

The Wondering Dog is a lovely Inn. Cathy and Kevin were gracious hosts. Our room in the separate building was spacious and clean. They provided great tips and advice before our daily outings. Take advantage of their local insight to avoid pitfalls. Cathy’s breakfasts were delicious. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are planning a quiet getaway to Pelee island.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M7231HIpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2022

Hey now! Thanks for a great review! ✌️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2022

We had the best experience at Pelee Island because of the Wandering Dog Inn. Our family suite was spacious, clean and a minute walk to the beach. Our dog Lola loved it as well! Nothing but wonderful memories and delicious breakfast. An amazing place to embrace the beauty of the island without the distraction from technology. The Owners were gracious and friendly. We will be back!!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BoardingPass63230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2022

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! We're glad you all (+Lola!) enjoyed your stay! 🐕

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2022

We recently enjoyed a fantastic stay at the inn. The owners are friendly, funny and only too happy to help with tips on where to visit and interesting facts about the island. The inn is a charming older building, which is well maintained and clean. The room was comfortable and there are various other amenities such as a nice continental breakfast and a campfire (weather permitting). We enjoyed a very relaxing and fun weekend at the inn. We would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Pelee Island.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloatingDutchman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2022

Hey now! Thanks so much for the kind words. Glad you had a good stay. Come back any old time you need a break from the city digs 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews