We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa E

A great place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 18, 2022
We stayed at The Wandering Dog for 2 1/2 days and cannot recommend it enough. Cathy and Kevin are excellent innkeepers. The breakfast is great. The porch is a wonderful place to meet people, play games or just relax. The freedom of no Wi-Fi, television or cell service is amazing. The entire island is friendly and laid back. Thank you again it was awesome
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Side view Park Hotel
C$168
No prepayment needed
    20.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$270
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      C$269
    • Tripadvisor
      C$269
    • Vio.com
    20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    MISt Swinup Bar
    C$216
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      C$216
    • Hotels.com
      C$216
    20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The pool 2
    C$260
    No prepayment needed
    • Tripadvisor
      C$260
    • Vio.com
    • Priceline
    20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Pool
    Put-in-Bay Ohio's first swim up pool bar Dizzy Lizard
    C$269
    • Tripadvisor
      C$268
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      C$268
    20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free parking
    Pool
    The Lodge
    C$190
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      C$190
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$190
    • Vio.com
    20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$269
    • Tripadvisor
      C$269
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$193
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$193
    • Tripadvisor
      C$193
    • Vio.com
    20.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$406
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
      C$405
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    20.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Italian Room at Ahoy Inn
    C$246
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      C$246
    • Vio.com
    20.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Pelee Island
    Reviews (105)
    Filter reviews
    105 results
    Traveller rating
    97
    7
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    97
    7
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews king suite other guests screened in porch laid back beautiful property made us feel my husband and i coffee maker peaceful retreat wonderful place comfortable bed picnic tables new friends separate building fantastic stay fresh croissants get away
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 105 reviews
    Reviewed September 5, 2022

    The Wandering Dog is the perfect way to experience Pelee. The hosts are friendly and hilarious, the rooms and amenities are great, and the breakfast is top notch. Stay here, you won't regret it. Can't wait to go back.

    Room tip: The family suite was perfect for o
    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 5vinh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2022

    Thanks Vin! Loved seeing you + the fam and hope you make it an annual homecoming trip!

    C+K

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed August 25, 2022 via mobile

    My wife and I had a wonderful time at the wandering dog Inn Accommodations were wonderful .our hosts were spectacular the breakfast provided every morning was fantastic a wonderful stay will certainly do this again .A must stay on point peele island.

    Room tip: Make sure you book a ferry in advance .
    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Ken D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2022

    Awww! Thanks for taking time to write a review! Thanks for the kind words!
    ✌️
    C+K

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 25, 2022

    Think of a place, simpler, nestled back a little in time.

    No channels to tempt you on the two dimensional flat world of nothingness.

    Bits & bytes of web eye candy are no longer easy to consume between the palms of your hands….life slows down a gear or two.

    Some may call parts of this experience an outrage, elements similar to what a recent Canadian Telecom giant provided…we called it peaceful.

    Discover this quiet little sanctuary on Canada’s most southern location…Pelee Island.

    The Wandering Dog Inn’s hosts, Cathy & Kevin are outstanding, providing a warm welcome and making ones stay a relaxing experience. Plentiful continental breakfast, campfires built ready for marshmallow roasting and a sunrise that brings life into perspective.

    If you are looking for such a getaway…highly recommended.

    Date of stay: July 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank DVR63
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2022

    We loovvvve that you loved it!!

    🏵️

    C+K

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 19, 2022

    A welcomed and heartfelt greeting. Kathy and Kevin are amazing, delightful and gracious hosts. After a tour my husband and I walked into our suite and were amazed of its size and amenities. Stay here!

    Room tip: The suites off separate from the building were spacious and clean. The room was nice and quite.
    Date of stay: July 2022
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank vanessahB2802DX
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022

    Thank you so much for the review!! We look forward to seeing you again on island time!

    c+k

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 19, 2022

    We always love staying at the wandering dog! Beautiful old house with tons of character and Kevin & Cathy will make sure you feel at home there! Delicious breakfast, bonfire, hammock, even a gazebo so you can enjoy the outdoors while it rains! We will for sure be back!

    Date of stay: July 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank JHarway
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022

    Loved having you Jamie + Jonathon! Thanks for exploring the island in your backyard!
    c+k

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews