We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jack W
Nepean

Great time at Canada's southernmost inn

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 18, 2023
An absolutely charming inn run by a very welcoming couple. Wonderful breakfast each morning. The wrap around verandah was a welcome place to read. Close to beaches and easy to get around by bicycle. Would gladly return.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this review
Responded Jul 20, 2023
Love that you enjoyed your stay! 2024 Calendar is now open. Plan your return any ol' time 🌸
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
38.8 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.5 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
32.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of Tiki House
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
20.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Italian Room at Ahoy Inn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
20.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overhead Drone View of the Condos
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
21.3 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.4 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free parking
View more hotels in Pelee Island
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
97
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king suite other guests screened in porch laid back beautiful property made us feel my husband and i coffee maker peaceful retreat wonderful place comfortable bed picnic tables new friends separate building fantastic stay fresh croissants get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 105 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2023

Cathy and Kevin are outstanding hosts who made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Breakfast was delicious and the room was beautiful, the grounds were enchanting. Great place to reset and be still and listen to nature. Thanks Kevin for the great suggestions for restaurants and must see sights. We will be back!

Russ and Wendy
Ann Arbor Michigan

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveler0357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2023

Hey now! Thanks for the great review! We're glad you loved the island and we look forward to seeing you next time ✌️😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2023

My name is Mochi! I’m a 2 year old black lab from America. I sailed to Canada with my best friend, Vixen. It was our first international trip. Our hosts made us feel right at home with belly rubs. We wondered the beautiful property, enjoyed a doggy paddle at the beach and had a campfire in the evenings. The sniffs coming from the kitchen were enough to make us drool. Our humans kept bragging about the phenomenal homemade breakfast. Without Wi-Fi, our humans were forced to spend some quality time with their dogs. It was wonderful!! The highlight for us was a huge mulberry tree. Vixen and I loved foraging for dropped mulberries, our new favorite treat!! The whole island is dog friendly and we loved the boat ride too!! This was the best trip ever for a couple of labs that like to wonder the world!!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Q4517ERashleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2023

Mochi! I loved meeting you and Vixen! Please come back and party anytime! Cuddles from Jody 🐾💕

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2023 via mobile

Visited with 4 adults, a baby, and two Labrador retrievers. Beautiful property, very dog friendly, in fact one of our dogs refused to leave, she absolutely would not get in the van and pulled us back toward the inn. The inn is a short walk from a beach, which was nice for the dogs and the baby and we enjoyed bicycling around the island. We stayed in the family suite which is very spacious and could easily accommodate our crew. Cathy and Kevin were great hosts, we and especially enjoyed Cathy’s breakfasts!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank brentdohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 27, 2023

If you are looking to take a pause and slow down the hustle and bustle, please visit this gem. Cathy and Kevin (Owners) are the most lovely, wonderful people. They made us and our aussiedoodle Willow feel so welcome the minute we arrived. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed not only upon our arrival, our whole stay (and you will not be disappointed with the breakfast, each day was perfection)!
Our first visit to Peele has sparked so many more visits to come and with family and friends! Thank you!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikebS8277BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2023

Hey now! Thanks so much you guys! Love that you loved this little corner of the world and we hope to see you again on island time soon 😎🐾

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2023

The most charming and quaint little inn you could ever stay in!

If you're looking to disconnect from technology, reconnect with your partner, and connect with nature, this is a prime location. Also, if you're in need of solitude look no further.

Let's begin with the view. * This inn is just a hop, skip, and a jump away from the beach where you will see the most awe inspiring sunrises. The inn is remote enough that when you're nestled by the campfire you will bare witness to a sky full of glistening stars which would amaze any stargazer. Throught the entire day the birds serenade you with their beautiful songs.

Onto the breakfast spread. * Cathy makes a variety of scrumptious breakfast options which is absolutely delightful. Her freshly baked ((from the heart)) homemade loafs and tarts are incredibly delicious. My hubby thoroughly enjoyed the egg bites paired with the fresh croissants. Everything Cathy makes is well thought out and there is a burst of flavour in every single bite. This breakfast spread surpasses being basic; a spread that would measure up to being served in a 5 star hotel. Cathy uses the best quality of ingredients from the island itself.

Let's toast the most wonderful host! * Kevin and Cathy are so welcoming and gracious. They ensure that you feel that level of comfort that feels just like home. Throughout the day Kevin is always puttering away. Kevin continuously checks in every time you cross paths with him. Kevin wholeheartedly takes the time to hear about your day and what your plans are. Cathy has a smile that could light up any room. Cathy is such a warm-hearted and good-natured person. Cathy was so incredibly pleasant chatting with during the mornings while she was setting up the breakfast spread. Kevin and Cathy both ask about your plans and provide some suggestions of some hidden gems, all while providing insight and history about the island. There is no doubt that Kevin and Cathy genuinely love what they do. They put their entire heart and soul into their charming little inn. It's clear that their goal is to make people fall in love with the island, and they naturally and successfully do just that. Their compassion, cheerfulness, and attention to ALL of the little details does not go unnoticed.

On a side note... our room was spacious and put together beautifully. I absolutely loved the simplicity of it. Kevin and Cathy really captured the charm and essence of the island. The room was stocked with everything we could possible need and so clean that it sparkled.

I can honestly say that we look forward to returning so that our children, as well as our fur-babies, can experience the pleasure of staying at The Wandering Dog Inn. What started off as a simple couple getaway turned into an ideal spot to bring my blended family; an ideal spot that encourages bonding as well as creating lasting memories that will be treasured over a lifetime.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2023

OMG... Thank you for kind words. Your review helps others find their way around Pelee! Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews