We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave J

Hidden gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 9, 2023
Our first trip to Peelee island and was so ecstatic that we found the Wandering Dog Inn as a place to stay, truly a hidden gem. Kevin and and Cathy were such genuine and gracious hosts, always available and just nice to chat with. The pictures on the internet do not do justice to this b&b. The rooms were spacious incredibly comfortable, clean and with all the little touches that made the stay amazing. Porches are screened in and there are so many places to gather with friends, old and new. The continental+ breakfast was AMAZING and kept us satisfied well into the afternoon. Kevin also knows all the best on the island, where to visit,where to avoid, who had the best burgers, best fries...
Their hospitality will certainly have us returning with friends.
Just got home and already missing it.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Condo 1 loft second floor bedroom with second bathroom.
Booking.com
C$273
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$273
  • Agoda.com
    C$273
  • Vio.com
    C$273
19.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$300
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$300
  • Lol.travel
19.7 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Side view Park Hotel
Official Hotel Site
C$167
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
20.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$331
  • Hotels.com
    C$330
  • Expedia.com
    C$330
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$330
20.0 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$236
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$236
  • Hotels.com
    C$236
  • Vio.com
    C$236
20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
MISt Swinup Bar
Expedia.com
C$198
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$198
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$198
  • Tripadvisor
    C$198
20.1 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The pool 2
Tripadvisor
C$217
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Pool
Put-in-Bay Ohio's first swim up pool bar Dizzy Lizard
Tripadvisor
C$240
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$240
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$188
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$188
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
C$220
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$220
  • Hotels.com
    C$220
  • Priceline
    C$224
20.2 km from The Wandering Dog Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pelee Island
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
96
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king suite other guests screened in porch laid back beautiful property made us feel my husband and i coffee maker peaceful retreat wonderful place comfortable bed picnic tables new friends separate building fantastic stay fresh croissants get away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2023

I don’t even know where to begin with how lovely this stay was! The location is idyllic, the accommodations were beyond comfy and the hospitality was exceptional. Our Inn Keepers, Cathy and Kevin, went above and beyond with generous and gracious hosting. The breakfast and whole vibe were amazing!We felt so relaxed, welcomed and close to all of the beautiful Island amenities!! Thank you so much for everything! Julie, Dane and Alley!!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Adundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2023

Family! Many thanks for the kind words. Lovely to have met you all 🌸

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2023

Another amazing trip and stay at Pelee Island and the Wandering Dog Inn. I already miss the amazing breakfasts by Cathy and Kevin coming by every night to make sure we were good before we settled in for the night after a great day of biking and swimming. Great hosts as always. I highly recommend booking your relaxing time at both Pelee and the Wandering Dog Inn. What are you waiting for? Just do it!!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Seaside433429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2023

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay 🐾👌🌸

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2023

The best part of staying at the Wandering Dog Inn was the clean and comfy accommodations… or was it the breakfast?!!!….. or was it the location?!!!(same road as the winery and walking distance of the best beach)…. Or was it the dog?!!!! It was it the laughs around the campfire with new friends???!!! Or was it the hosts???? !!!! Truth is, everything was amazing and I would recommend Cathy and Kevin’s B and B to anyone who wants a laid back, comfy, and fun getaway!

Room tip: Suites have a small fridge and a grill. It’s a good idea to bring some snacks/small meals as restaurants close earlier than you may think.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jojom416
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2023

Awww! Love this + love that you loved Pelee Island! Come back any ol' time✌️🐾

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2023

The house is beautiful and very clean, the bedroom was comfortable and the Innkeepers were really friendly. The breakfast was ovee and beyond what we were expecting and we really enjoyed the nightly bondfire.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Venture48749392291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2023

An absolutely charming inn run by a very welcoming couple. Wonderful breakfast each morning. The wrap around verandah was a welcome place to read. Close to beaches and easy to get around by bicycle. Would gladly return.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy Miller, Owner at The Wandering Dog Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2023

Love that you enjoyed your stay! 2024 Calendar is now open. Plan your return any ol' time 🌸

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews