We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Peterborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Peterborough
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Ontario
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“An excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our family stayed at this property for one night in February 2012 while in town to attend a high school basketball tournament. This was our first experience staying at a Super 8 property, and we were happy to find it exceeded our expectations.

Our junior suite included a separate bedroom with a king sized bed, as well as a living area with a full sofa bed. Two 32 inch flat screen TV's were well appreciated when travelling with a teenaged boy. The rooms were impeccably clean, as were all common areas of the hotel.

A fridge and microwave were provided in our junior suite.....not sure if they come standard in the regular rooms or not. Being a newer property (built in 2008) everything was modern and in excellent repair.

Our CAA rate of $112 per night included free wireless internet and a complimentary breakfast. Breakfast sorely needed an additional hot item or two (the only hot item offered was hard boiled eggs....which quickly ran out with the large amount of sports team families having breakfast that morning) which is one of the few "areas of improvement" for this hotel.

The pool area was bright and clean, though the pool itself was on the smallish side. Towels were well stocked. The hot tub was an excellent temperature. The floor of the pool are is the only single area of the hotel where I can find fault in the condition of the property (it was sorely in need of upgrading, and looks like it was done very cheaply) but it was a minor detail.

Staff were friendly and cheerful.

Location was excellent.....within fantastic proximity to shopping and dining of every description on Lansdowne Street.

Plenty of parking right at the door.

All in all, we felt we very much got our money's worth at this well cared for property. For an economical stay without sacrificing some of the amenties you want to have included, we would highly recommend this Super 8!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina-Gina-Bo-Bina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for sharing such a wonderfully detailed assessment of how we are doing. As a Top Contributor with Tripadvisor I am certain that your experience and perspective is valuable to many planning a trip to our area.

Your rating of our hotel as “An Excellent Value” is entirely consistent with what has always been our promise since we opened just over 3 years ago - To give our guests what they need for a comfortable stay, treat them like we’d like to be treated, and do it all for a reasonable price.

You may be interested to know that our brand will be launching a new breakfast program in early 2012. I am confident that the new menu offerings will address your preference for additional hot items.

We hope to be of service to you the next time your travels take you to Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    579
    174
    48
    24
See reviews for
741
285
73
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Thanks everyone for your spot on reviews of the Super 8 in Peterborough. They did not disappoint.
We stayed here while in town for a fantastic hockey tournament and my word to the wise would be that if you're planning on visiting a hotel that is hosting several hockey teams be prepared for the noise. We were prepared so we didnt' mind at all and enjoyed the different teams from out of town, others who were not part of the weekend fun did not like it so much. That said, very clean, basic (almost industrial chic) rooms with a lot of space. We traveled with our 3 boys and got connecting rooms and with the hockey gear made it easier to move around. The king bathroom was spacious and had a very large shower but no tub. The lighting was eco-friendly which also meant that you couldn't adjust for brightness. The pool was packed and the area not ventilated well, so although I did not go swimming my eyes were burning while watching the kids. Breakfast was well stocked with breads, fruit, cereals, yogurt and coffee which was available through the day.
We booked the Kawartha Room for the weekend which was a great way for the team to gather after games and before dinners out.
We ate at Kelsey's and Boston Pizza which are both nearby and offered great selection for our large group and excellent customer service.
We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are very grateful to members of the Tripadvisor community such as you who offer informative and candid reviews to the benefit of future travelers.

We are pleased to be the hotel of choice for many families attending sporting activities of all kinds in Peterborough– and I would agree with your cautionary note about being informed of such special events.

I am very pleased to learn that you and your family found a suitable fit amongst our wide choice of room layouts. It’s wonderful to see that you made full use of our amenities: pool, free breakfast and meeting room. While we certainly don’t have a monopoly on providing great hospitality, we are committed to remembering that it is you, our guest that is the reason for our being here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had to stay in Peterborough last minute and the front staff was excellent. We didn't check in until 1 am and in the morning and they gave us a special compassionate rate. When we checked out we ended up coming back 1/2 hour later to see if we could still have our room back (didn't have to be back at hospital until 2 pm). They gave us our room back at no extra charge for the whole time. The room were well kept and very clean and the breakfast was good. Didn't use any other facilties. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone the front staff went above and beyond their job.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEM10Barrie_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
It is very gratifying to learn that the hospitality and compassion extended to you by our team on this occasion contributed to your overall sense of well-being during what was undoubtedly a trying time.

Though the reasons for our guests’ travel may vary, each can count upon a friendly face upon arrival, welcoming surroundings in which to unwind, and of course – great value for your hard earned dollar.

We hope that you may give us the opportunity to demonstrate our special brand of hospitality the next time you are in need of a hotel in Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. catharines
Level Contributor
356 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here because of research on trip advisor first and I must agree why it is rated #1.The staff here are magnificent!!!!!!! Yes the building is clean and well upkept, lots of great parking. The beds are good quality and not worn out.We had 2 different rooms both were same standards and quality but liked the view of the city from the 4th floor room the best.
The room had a fridge and microwave and we wanted for nothing. A jaccuzi tube was the icing on the cake.
The staff here sepparate this place from everywhere else and have found a special combination of personalities who care about their job and make this place what it is.
Being new to the area their knowledge and pride about what was available to experience was like having an information center right there at your fingertips. From places of interest to good places to eat and the best directions how to get there.
I would have to question how anyone could ever review this place as anything but exceptional. Can only comment on our opinion and in this case it was GREAT!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
On behalf of our entire team here at Super 8 Peterborough, I would like to say how thrilled we are that your recent stay with us was such “a great experience”. I share your enthusiasm for our award winning associates who truly take pleasure in extending genuine hospitality to our valued guests such as you.

We hope to delight you again by demonstrating more of our passion and knowledge on the occasion of your next visit to Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis three or four times year a year when visiting Peterborough. I have never experienced any problems during these visits and the service has always been first class. The rooms are a decent size and always clean. The Super 8 Peterborough is always my first choice in that city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
A contemporary, clean place to rest one’s head. Modern amenities to support you in getting the job done. Friendly and attentive staff that project a genuine passion for hospitality. Rates that make sense and represent value. These are the elements that our business travelers tell us they seek in a hotel. We are pleased that you feel that we have delivered these to you on your past visits.

Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. We look forward to continuing to meet your needs when you return to Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Where is the missing painter for this property. The halls, rooms, and doors all need touch up paint, badly. Forget about a late check out as well. All 3 times that we have been here we were denied a late check out as they said that they had too many people checking out late already. All 3 times of stay? Other than that we came to this hotel for a couple on nights and I am quite empressed with the amenities here. It is well equipped with a pool and a hot tub and a hot breakfast. the heating and the beds are great. the tv channel selection is a wide range and the internet was free and reliable. We will be back again in the near future. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. See you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on what you have enjoyed about your many visits to Super 8 Peterborough hotel. I equally appreciate your points on what we might improve in advance of your next stay with us. Our team will continue to work hard to demonstrate that great value means you can save without settling for less. We hope that you agree that our amenities, design and service do more than hold their own against the best in the city.

A clean, comfortable and well cared for property is just as important to us as it is to you, our valued guest. You have offered fair feedback with respect to the paint touch ups and we will continue to target these areas that are critical to forming a positive overall guest experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels take you to Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our team stayed here for the weekend for a hockey tournament, and everyone was pleased with the Super 8. The staff, accommodations, breakfast, pool, location, were all just what we needed. The only negative was that I found the hotel was over-heated. The hallways were very warm, and we had to put the air on to cool the room. The beds were really comfortable, and the rooms were clean and spacious.
The friendly staff know how to make people feel welcome!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifesGR8atSuper8, General Manager at Super 8 Peterborough, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

We are proud of our growing popularity with sports teams such as yours. We have enjoyed celebrating in the victories and have shared in the grief of the ‘almost wins’. Our ‘secret’ game plan to ensuring a pleasant stay for our sports groups – friendly flexible service, clean comfortable facilities, and freebies that families appreciate like our SuperStart breakfast.

We value your feedback concerning the warm hallways. The changing of the seasons presents some challenges in regulating an even temperature as we prepare our air systems for winter. We are confident that you will find this more comfortable on the occasion of your next visit to Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.8 km away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
17.3 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Peterborough

Property: Super 8 Peterborough
Address: 1257 Lansdowne St.W., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Peterborough 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 100% smoke-free property provides easy access to major routes and is situated close to downtown Peterborough. Super 8 Peterborough is a new kind of hotel that puts style, innovation and friendly service within everyone's reach. Super 8 Peterborough offers guest rooms and suites, meeting room, an indoor pool, whirlpool spa, onsite coin laundry, fitness room and our complimentary SuperStart® breakfast — making it the perfect place to host your meeting or accommodate you while staying in the Peterborough area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Super Eight
Peterborough Super 8
Super 8 Peterborough Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing