We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too many hockey tournaments” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Peterborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Too many hockey tournaments”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Now that my daughter is attending university in Peterborough, we have stayed at this hotel three different times. The good thing about it is that it has a cool pool that is both indoor and outdoor. That's what attracted us to the hotel. The first two times we stayed there, we were awakened by noisy people at 2 or three in the morning. Once it was kids running up and down the hall. Once it was people out on the balcony yelling till well after 3 in the morning. The third time, both those things happened and to add insult to injury, the hot tub was closed on Saturday evening "until next week". Every time we've been there, there've been a lot of (drunk?) disorderly people around the pool area and it's very crowded. At $168 a room, including tax, we've given up. To be fair, in each instance, the hotel staff appeared to do their best to address the issues, but either they're not very affective, or it's a chronic collection of issues and situations that can't be addressed. A much better deal is the Best Western Otonobee Inn - less than $100 a night and includes a free breakfast, lovely rooms, complete with pull out couches, friendly staff, and QUIET nights. NEVER will I stay at Peterborough Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archangelsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
First of all I would like to apologize for the issues you have had at our hotel, we are a family friendly hotel and the only hotel in Peterborough that has a restaurant so we are very popular with families of sports teams traveling to Peterborough. On times when we are busy with large groups we have extra staff on to ensure noise policies are enforced and have people removed from the hotel if necessary but as we are dealing with many different personalities of people this can sometimes be a challenge. We do have an executive wing of the hotel where the rooms only have 1 king size bed with a beautiful view of little lake that teams are not booked into, these rooms tend to be quieter during the busier times in our hotel. We do hope to see you back sometime and I am confident that you will enjoy your stay if you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    100
    90
    29
    22
See reviews for
98
66
11
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed one night and had several glitches with the organization. They forgot to bring us our extra cot, even after a reminder. Upon the second reminder they claimed they had no record that we needed one, but brought one in any case. The cot was very uncomfortable, I would not recommend it. The cleaning staff woke us up by banging on our door at 8:20 in the morning. We have no idea why because we were checking out later that morning, so there was no reason to be cleaning our room. The room itself had a nice view of the river, but the heat was not good. There was a very old style heater that was noisy when on, and the room was cold when it was off. The breakfast is very expensive. The only good point was the pool, which is quite nice and has an outdoor part which you get to by swimming through an opening from the indoor part. So, you can swim outdoors, even in the winter. On our way back we canceled at the Holiday Inn and went to the Best Western instead, which was much nicer, cheaper and included a complimentary breakfast which was quite nice.

Room Tip: Go for the river view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
661 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed here overnight as we were in town for a family Christmas gathering. My wife has stayed here before on business related matters. It is a older style type of Holiday Inn but satisfactory in what it has to offer. Rooms are nice and clean plus you get a newspaper delivered to the door to read. If one doesn't want to eat in their eatery than you can always go to the Tim Horon's located across the street. Did this twice in the morning for coffee. Close to downtown as well but wanted to walk. However I didn't as the sidewalks were icy so I didn't go from a health & safety point of view. Wanted to use the internet located neasr the front door but the same person was on it when I walked by it twice.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Your nice comments are very much appreciated and all of our team will be very pleased to hear them. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Peterborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We purchased a room with breakfast included and paid the premium for it. On checkin however we were give a $20 voucher towards breakfast, not per person, per room.

Beware that this hotel's idea of included breakfast is not included at all.

Also the promise of wifi is ordinary. It only worked in one spot in our room with a very low signal strength.

Otherwise it was a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
First of all we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you chose us again in the future. Our breakfast package is the same as all Holiday Inn’s as it is a brand wide rate program, the way it works at our hotel is you pay $10 extra on our Best Flexible rate and you receive a $20 voucher that can be used towards breakfast. I apologize if this was not explained to you at the time you booked the room and hope this help clarifies how it works. If you have any further Questions please feel free to call me at the hotel, 705-743-1144 and ask for the guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

For a Holiday Inn, this hotel is less than average and dated. I was there for a 3 day conference. The conference facilities were adequate. Meals were good. We had breakfast in the dining room and there is an adjacent lounge that was good for the evening to get together with colleagues for a drink. Room was OK. There is a small fitness centre that had good equipment and pool. The location is central, in downtown Peterborough. Did not see anthing comparable in the area, so if wishing to stay downtown, this is probably best place to stay. Staff were all very freindly. Paid a good price to stay here so good value if looking for a cheap stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a great hotel from a service point of view. Service at front desk, hotel maids and especially the dining area. Food is also top rate and priced very reasonably. What is a little out of date are the rooms, especially the heating system. I had a unit in my room which is noisy and you either freeze or it's too warm. Other than that, no complaints. Eat in the dining room!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM1Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
We thank you very much for staying with us and your nice comments are very appreciated, Our team works very hard to deliver the best service possible to our guests and it is nice for them to see that they are succeeding. I will make sure that all of our team is aware of your comments and I hope you chose us again I the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was an emergency walk in stay.

We were booked into a local B&B, but the owner had forgotten about us and gone out for the evening!

I will not name the guilty party as she was genuinely mortified at her mistake and offered us a free stay when we were next in town!

This is what I regard as a fairly typical Holiday Inn. The room was big but the décor somewhat dated and in need of a refurb. Probably true of the whole building.

We opted for a lake view room as we did not fancy the standard room overlooking the parking lot and main road. We found it to quiet (once we turned off the air con) and despite the dated, tired looks, it was comfortable overall and we got a good night's sleep after a slightly stressful evening.

We only really had contact with the front desk staff who were great, and gave us a late check out next day.

Thank you Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.5 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
3.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
14.3 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough
Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing