We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and will return”
Review of The Red Coat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Coat
Ranked #1 of 2 Queenston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“we loved it and will return”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

wonderful place clean and friendly. the hosts were very nice and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. breakfast was creative and fresh.
queeston is a great location quiet and very close to both the falls and niagra on the lake.
we would highly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night for our anniversary. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast.
The house is very charming and cozy. Sandra was very welcoming upon arrival and provided a lot of information on the area. She was a great hostess and cook! Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit salad with yogurt, blueberry muffins and puff pancake topped with veggies and cheese.
We stayed in the 'shaeffe's loft'... Best room in the house! Although, we peeked into the others and were stunning as well.
We will definitely be back...Again and again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

My husband and I have stayed here twice, and loved it both times. Everything about the Red Coat is just right, but the hosts Keith and Sandra are the best things about it! The location in Queenston is a somewhat removed from both Niagara-on-the-Lake and Niagara Falls, which we found to be a distinct advantage--it is so quiet and calm!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

My husband and I spent a night at the Red Coat Inn during the Wine and Grape Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake and had a wonderful stay!!! The owners are so friendly and hospitable yet allow you your space after checking in. Although located in Queenston, you are within walking distance to the waterfront, Laura Secord house and several other key historic sites. My husband took a leisurely stroll after breakfast and enjoyed looking at the beautiful old homes. It's a perfect location! We stayed in the Secord Suite and it was so charming and very clean. The pictures on the site do not show it's true beauty. We had a large ensuite with all the amenities one needed. To top it all of the, the owners may a wonderful breakfast the next morning. I've got nothing but great things to say about our experience and being I'm in the hotel industry myself, I am VERY picky. My husband and I would definitely stay here again and recommend you do too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We had tickets for an evening performance at Shaw and three shows the next day. We had never stayed in Queenston, but it seemed close enough to NOTL to warrant consideration. While we were attracted by the web site, we found the B&B itself to be more delightful than the web site promised. Our hosts Keith and Sandra were welcoming, friendly, and gracious. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay, including two delicious breakfasts. If they were only closer to NOTL we would stay there every trip. If you want a delightful B&B in the wine country, and close enough to Niagara Falls and NOTL, this would be a first choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Red Coat for three nights and were impressed with the personal, friendly attention and professional service we received. Sandra provided excellent advice regarding what was available in the area and never steered us wrong, which meant that we were able to make the most of our short stay. We were in the Secord room, which was the smallest of the three, but never felt confined as we were able to use the balcony on the main floor. The area where this bed and breakfast is situated is quiet, secluded, yet within a 10 minute walking distance of the river. It is also located about half-way between Niagara Falls and Niagara on the Lake where the Shaw Festival is located. Of particular note is the excellent breakfasts that were served every morning. They were healthy and delicious, from a light bacon/cheese/broccoli/tomato crepe (which probably included zucchini as her garden was yielding a healthy crop this year), to french toast smothered in the local fruits, as well as fresh cooked waffles with home-made blueberry drizzle, maple syrup and whipped cream. We hope to be able to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Sandra and Keith are great hosts - they certainly make you feel like part of the family! I called Sandra ahead of time and I was able to check into the B&B earlier than the stated time to accommodate our schedule. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in the Secord room - the room itself was small and cozy - perfect for the two of us. There were even little chocolates on our bed - a very nice touch. Breakfast was wonderful - fruits fruits, yogurt, zucchini bread, and waffles with jam/syrup and coffee/tea. Sandra was careful to make sure the breakfast suited my lactose intolerance.The location of the B&B is perfect for those who want to explore Niagara on the Lake and Niagara Falls since it's located between the two. We spent all our time in Niagara on the Lake and Virgil - nothing was more than a 15 minute drive. Sandra gave us recommendations for things to do and dining spots. She has a lot of VIP cards for free winery tours/tastings which was a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaSKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenston
8.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,315 reviews
0.1 km away
South Landing Inn
South Landing Inn
#1 of 1 in Queenston
70 reviews
10.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,983 reviews
10.6 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
468 reviews
10.2 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Coat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Coat

Property: The Red Coat
Address: 5 Front Street South, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake > Queenston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Queenston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Coat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Red Coat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Coat Queenston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing