We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value and service”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Quiet location, literally a hop, skip and jump to the US border.

Room Tip: The suites on the ground floor are best. There's a door to the interior of the hotel, as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    110
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
76
101
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TOBERMORY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Best Western in Sarnia is one of a few places laft in the Sarnia area to stay at. The rooms are nicely done, and clean. The location is not easily found, and the neighborhood is not so great.
They support a lot of training room rentals, so expect to have difficulty getting a close parking spot. The dining area is somewhat substanadard. We found the tables very dirty, and the staff appeared to be overwhelmed with the customer numbers. The foos is average, and the price too high for what is offered. There is a pool, but it is an open outdoor pool, so there is no swimming in the cooler months. If visiting the Sarnia area, you will find it hard to get a good place to stay now, as economic times have caused the loss of places. I would likely not stay there again. London, or Chatham have better places for the money spent.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front face the blue water tourist building, and trucker exit from the bridge. The w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denaSarnia, General Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you for your positive comments and apologize for your experience in the restaurant. I will be sure to pass the comments on to our dining room manager and speak with the staff. If you wish to come and stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will ensure that your stay with us is a more enjoyable one.

Regards,

Dena Kent
General Manager
Best Western Guildwood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. The staff was very nice and helpful. I guess I was a bit disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. It wasn't great. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was amazing however. We had their ribs special....one hell of a good deal and it was delicious. So was the breakfast. I would go there again but hopefully the room will be cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeb1957_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denaSarnia, General Manager at Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I would like to take a moment to apologize for the cleanliness of your room. This is not a typical issue that we have here at the hotel. I have had the opportunity to speak with our housekeeping manager and she ensures me that she will speak to her staff regarding this issue so it does not happen again.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you come back and visit us again.

Regards,

Dena Kent
General Manager
Best Western Guildwood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Have stayed next door at the H.I. for years--everytime I drive by I always say that "next time" I'll try the BW.

Stayed this time and totallly pleased.

Nice clean, modern, quiet room.
Friendly, efficient check in. Nice lit parking lot.

A few cons---doesnt seem to be any locks on exterior doors from rear parking lot, meaning anyone could enter this hotel (not that it seems like a high crime area :) and, no bathroom fan, meaning shower steam has nowhere to go. Also could be an "issue" when dealing with more mundane bathroom biological necessities :) (luckily I stayed alone this trip.)

Saved about $40 by staying here instead of HI.

Hotels on the Sarnia side of the border are still about 2x as expensive as the Port Huron, MI hotels that are 2 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomerpyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from 1 nite stay at the Guildwood....

It did not disappoint based on the previous reviews we read. Great Staff, very clean and nice size rooms that have been recently reno'd. We stayed in a King size suite which was extremely comfortable. Pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary hot brekkie @ their adjoining restaurant - Shellys.

Also, the staff gave us a more than generous late check-out to accommodate a funeral we were attending. Really helped since we brought our dog & needed to keep it somewhere while @ the service.

Highly reco this place for Sarnia visitors!

Sandi

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
316 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good Points
-Great staff.
-Clean room. Upgraded to huge jacuzzi room
-Easy to get to off express way
-Good restaurant inside the hotel
-Reasonable rates
-Easy parking

Bad Points
-None I can think of

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

was here for work from 14 - 17 Feb 2012.
room 123, motel style hallway with the possibility of parking right in front of your room with outdoor access.
the hotel is fine, and I am told that it is the best in town. There has been a fair bit of remodelling done. The room was small but comfortable, a queen bed, tiny closet with ironing board and iron, dresser and fridge cabinet in one, flat screen TV, desk with task lamp and comfortable chair, 2 phones, single serving coffee maker with 3 cups of coffee and 3 bags of different kinds of tea,
The bathroom is mostly remodelled. New tub/shower enclosure and the water fills to a reasonable level in the tub. Bathroom is newly painted but looks old. The countertop is in good shape but also quite old. It is a clean bathroom though with nice fluffy white towels.
One bottle of water is provided in the bathroom.
I ate at Shelley's (the restaurant) for a breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is supplied with the room and you can choose what kind of eggs you want (2), toast, sausage or bacon and hashbrowns, Coffee and a 'small' (it was a good sized glass) orange juice included. This restaurant has a $10 beer and burger special which was appreciated by my co-workers. I had a great chicken tortilla soup. I would recommend both the restaurant and hotel,

Room Tip: you can park in front of your room with outdoor access, if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarnia hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sarnia/Point Edward
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
88 reviews
1.3 km away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#6 of 16 in Sarnia
32 reviews
0.6 km away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#7 of 16 in Sarnia
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn
Address: 1400 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guildwood Hotel Sarnia
Best Western Sarnia
Sarnia Best Western
Best Western Plus Guildwood Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing