We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fish and chips! Great service!”

Alternate Grounds Dockside
Ranked #14 of 243 Restaurants in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Mexican, Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Love the location! Food is fast and fresh! The fish and chips was excellent! My friend had a pulled pork sammy, and said it was awesome! The people there work together so well! Fast service, smiles, they make you feel welcome! Loved sitting watching boats, ducks, etc, made it such a relaxed and enjoyable time! What a great place!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 162 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Had a lovely supper on the patio. Perfect on a hot evening. We shared the picking platter, boys had burgers and I had the summer berry salad with chicken. All was very tasty. Service was fast and friendly!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Very hospitable establishment. Although the patio was full, we were seated right away in the back dining room that has large open windows giving the feeling of being outside. They offer a moderate selection of craft beers allowing for samples before committing to a favourite. Menu and specials offer a variety of choices. Service was attentive and food was excellent. Staff was very attentive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Nice atmosphere. Service was excellent, Chef did an excellent job on the steak, perfect medium rare, especially for such a thin steak. The problem was that the sirloin steak was almost impossible to cut, very grizzly, and tough to chew. Probably the worst piece of meat we have ever experienced in a restaurant, or anywhere else. This was a special of the night so perhaps they were trying to get rid of a very poor selection of steaks.If Dockside wants repeat customers they had better do a better job of meat selection. We would never order another steak at this restaurant. .We visited there on Wednesday August 15th during dinner hour.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

While at the Marina we spent a fair amount of time at this restaurant.
It has not disappointed us.
Breakfast 2 days and dinner 3. The service is always EXCELLENT and the food is AMAZING.. Once we were waiting to be seated and a customer going out said..."This place was AMAZING... aw like we didn't know.. But it is nice to know others enjoy it as well.
We had the appetizers. entrees and desserts All were excellent. The kitchen is so well teamed. Kudos to all the behind the scene folks.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meeze99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alternate Grounds Dockside also viewed

 

Been to Alternate Grounds Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing