We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Short But Sweet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short But Sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very nice place to stay! I love new hotels. Everyone works well, looks good and smells good. The breakfast was good. I am always up early so seating is rarely a problem. I didn't know there was a continental breakfast so it was a bonus.

My room overlooked the Adams motel which I have frequented in previous years. (Also a good place to sleep and costs a lot less). If I were on my own, the large chain hotels are too pricey and offer little more than the smaller motels, if you're just passing through.

Newer hotels in northern Ontario seem to be very expensive. I guess it's expensive to operate for such a short tourist season.

That being said, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky_Jim29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    95
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
99
73
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the 2nd Fairfield my family stayed at while travelling and they did not disappoint. The facility is only 3 months old and we found that the hotel cleanliness was immaculate. I did notice a faint smell of dirty gym bag in my room and I found out afterwards there was a sports team staying--it wasn't strong and I just sprayed a bit of body spray and it went away. The AC unit in my room (312) made a rattling noise that we forgot to tell management about.
Other than that, absolutely no issues.

The breakfast area was well-stocked, and service from the staff was professional and polite.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank townandcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here while driving through Sault Ste Marie, and liked it so much that I stayed there again while driving back through a week later! The hotel is very new, and extremely clean. The price was great, too, which was a lot of the reason I came back. The parking lot was very bright, which was important to me as I was currently in the process of moving and my car was packed with stuff. When you’re coming in from Toronto going to Thunder Bay, it’s right on the main road so you don’t have to go out of your way to get to the hotel and you shouldn’t have any trouble finding it.

Breakfast and parking were included, with little microwavable breakfast sandwiches, bagels, etc. Its also right beside Boston Pizza, so it’s perfect for dinner.

The only downside I can think of is that the elevator is really slow for some reason. There are only three floors I thought, so I got over it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaclynSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, british columbia, canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a good small hotel for young families or grandparents taking grand-kids for a quiet enjoyable break. It's not rowdy, The rooms and hotel as a whole are new, clean, and comfortable, as with almost all Marriott group hotels includes a wholesome breakfast. The pool facility is lots of safe warm fun but not for serious swimming. A good menu of food delivery services is available in the rooms and the hotel itself provides an excellent and reasonably priced pantry selection of convenient meals, snacks and ice cream.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eirenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very nice new hotel. Exceptionally clean and friendly, especially the little old breakfast lady. Good value and location as well. They need to reposition their lighting on the hotel as it does shine in your window at night even with the curtains closed but thats the only negative I can come up with.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalesPro999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

All new furnishings big screen tv spotless mattress and pillows bedding very comfortable. Ample free parking breakfast buffet included and staff very hospitable. One of the nicest places that we stayed as we went to the Sault for 2 days of golf. Would highly recommend this place. It was so spotless and modern as well.

Room Tip: Never had a chance to use the whirlpool or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Sandra43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

While on trip around the Lake Michigan, needed a place to stay after atrip to the Soo Locks. Decided on the Fairfield based on reviews and their reputation, and the chance to see what Saute Ste. Marie was like on the Canadian side. The Inn is a nice place; it's relatively new and modern, with comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. On the negative side, the pool and exercise room were way too small for a large hotel and only one slow elevator for a 3 story hotel, meant a wait every time you left your room. It's on the main suburban road with a view of the steel mill, nothing special there. Finally, the breakfast room again is too small for weekend full of guests; the food selection was adequate and the excellent lady in charge of the area was working hard with a smile to keep everything stocked-- but who wants to fight for a seat or eat standing up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.3 km away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.8 km away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
3.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 633 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 5A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#9 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Fairfield Inn & Suites, provides everything you will need to make the most of your stay at a convenient location! Great value and great service; all backed by a name you can believe in: Marriott. We also offer great group rates, whether it be for a wedding or sports team. You will find everything you need right at your doorstep. Included in the rate is a complimentary breakfast served daily, free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, a Salt Water Pool, Jacuzzi, a 24-hour Fitness centre, guest laundry on site and ample free parking. We also offer over 1000 sq feet of meeting space. Within walking distance to the hotel you'll find several excellent restaurants as well as great shopping. We are a 15 minute drive to all arenas and the downtown core. We are also the closest hotel to the new location of the Sault Area Hospital. Call one of our experienced Guest Service Representatives today to book your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott-Sault Ste. Marie - Where staying is believing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn And Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing