We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$81
Hotels.comUS$81
TripadvisorUS$81
FindHotel
Expedia.comUS$81
HurbUS$90
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
236
131
31
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
236
131
31
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk great stay pool and hot tub continental breakfast thunder bay would definitely stay here again beds were comfortable the breakfast area after a long day long drive marie ssm lcbo highway microwave muffins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 409 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2020

Clean place and nice a bright. No breakfast gust a bag of bs. Rooms are clean . Had a good sleep on nih combfy bed. No coffee in rooms any,ore thanks to the dirty China flu. Never got to swim cause pool closed too. Too much plexiglass glass

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fucovid2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2020 via mobile

This is a great place as it is at the northern end of Sault Ste Marie. For those who are tired of driving from Thunder Bay and beyond, this hotel isna welcome sight.

Rooms are decent, the breakfast is nice as well.

They are taking their cleaning protocols seriously. When they take your ID and credit card, they spray alcohol on them. And when checking out, there are two bins both drowning in alcohol where you are supppsed to drop your keycard in one and your keycard container on the other. I have not seen any other hotels doing that.

But better safe than sorry! Sault Ste. Marie after all is a full day drive from both Thunder Bay and Toronto, so a lot of cross country travellers stay at the hotels in the area.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thankunextbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin Barker, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2020

Dear thankunextbeach,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield By Marriott Sault Ste. Marie. We really do take the cleanliness of our hotel seriously. We have the key disinfecting station to protect our guests and staff, the keys are always cleaned after every use. We've done this from the day we opened our doors, we just have it visable now so guests can see how we care for you.
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our modified breakfast bags, a fruit cup, a Jimmy Dean sandwich and a yogurt, with Juice and coffee available is a reasonable breakfast and hopefully a way to provide a little bit to everyone.

We are striving to make travellers like yourself feel safe, and I'm bouyed by your feedback that you noticed and feel it may even have been overboard! This is exactly what we're going for, always trying to do more, never less.

Thank you again for choosing to rest with us, we hope to see you again some day! Be safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2020

Travelling during Covid, the hotel was extremely clean and all precautions were taken. Staff were wonderful, bed and pillows were very comfortable and the rooms were spotless. Very pleased overall! Location is also very good if you need food, gas, coffee shops etc.

Room tip: This is a non pet hotel, which we like because of allergies.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sunchasing17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2020

Check in was amazing, Sarah was super helpful. This is place is very motorcycle friendly, Sarah helped us move a bench so we could park our bikes under the canopy. Very clean rooms, spacious. Pool and Hot tub were closed due to Covid, unfortunately, but looked to be in nice shape. Would highly recommend this place if you are in the Soo!

Room tip: Motorcycle Friendly!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNRandyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin Barker, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

I was very glad to help move the bench, we want our guests to have a safe and comfortable stay. I'm pleased you had a great time and we welcome you back any time you're in Sault Ste. Marie. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2020

Check in staff was less than welcoming. We asked if there was a discount for all the amenities that were not available. We were there to attend a funeral and received a slight discount for that. The answer to our discount inquiry was, "no, and if you don't like it you can cancel your reservation"
The bathroom in our room had mold on the ceiling. No "bagged" breakfast was available for our second morning.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Snort2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin Barker, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Dear "Snort2"

We've looked into this and don't have a record of a day where we didn't offer our "to go" breakfast. It's offered every day without fail during the global pandemic; as we take our guest safety in upmost concern and we're unable to provide our usual "hot buffet breakfast" I've spoken with every associate who is assigned to our front desk and checked our logging system for all stays, we can't verify your stay. However, I can say with confidence that all our associates who are working through this global pandemic are dedicated to ensuring the safety and health of our guests and each other. While all our FREE amenities may not be available to ensure we can keep a safe distance from one another and ensure the top grade of cleanliness, we have increased our staff presence in public areas to enhance cleaning, and have all those sealed items in the "to go bags" available still free of charge. Should you have received a discounted rate, if would have been our most select discount to honour a stay of those visiting Sault Ste. Marie for bereavement reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews