We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agawa Train ride”

Algoma Central Railway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It’s all aboard as you travel to the end of steel on 592-mile, round trip ‘Tour of the Line’ to the French Canadian community of Hearst, Ontario. Your journey begins at the Algoma Central Railway depot in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, where you will board our regular passenger service for a day-long rail adventure that combines the rugged mixed forests of the Canadian Shield, experienced on the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, with the boreal forests of the Great Clay Belt region. In marked contrast to the mountainous Shield country, the Clay Belt region, home to the lordly moose, is a combination of level coniferous forests and great inland lakes teeming with northern pike and walleye.
Sun City Center, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Agawa Train ride”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very nice staff and ride. First time to take this train and to enjoy the country side. Was a little disappointed on area's where the trees have grown up higher then the train, but when passing the open area's it was very pretty and enjoyable. Would recommend the ride as overall, very nice

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    21
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Too long and not much to see”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Train is very comfortable, but the ride to the park is very long (9 hours round trip) and although the scenery is pretty, it is not breathtaking. Food in dining car was good, and park was beautiful, but not extraordinarily so. Overall, we would not do it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PamsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice excursion”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We went with our 10-year-old granddaughter and we had a good time. It would be nice to have a bit more time at the destination after taking so long on the train trip--we walk slowly and could only get to the two waterfalls. But we had a good time.

The return trip seems to take forever--but you can't help that it is the same scenery. We enjoyed our trip very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice wilderness ride in the snow”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The scenery was great. I was suprised in the quality of the cars that were used. The web site touted the refurbished cars and these cars were not particularly better than I remember they had before they updated the cars. The web site also stated that there would be a camera that was looking ahead from the engineers view and although the mounts for the video screens were in place, there were no monitors. I recognize that this stuff is a bit picky and on the whole it was a fun experience. Just a few rough spots.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringotraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gogama, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Train Ride through Autumn in the Canadian Wilderness”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I had always wanted to see the Fall colors of southern Ontario by rail, and we finally made the reservations (suggested) and went ahead and did it. Reservations can be made through almost every motel/ hotel in the area, online, by phone, and some discounts are available. The train boards from the station (with plenty of free parking) in the early morning and arrives back in the late afternoon. It is an all-day affair, with the majority of the time spent on the train, looking at the colors, and picturesque waters and other sights.
Breakfast is served in the main dining car and was made to order, fresh and tasty. No telling who you'll sit with if you aren't a party of four. Lunch can be brought along, purchased on the train, or ordered on the train as a packed lunch for the only stop where the train turns around - a chance to walk and see foliage and streams and waterfalls, plus purchase lunch and souvenirs at the train stop gift shop. Gifts and mementos can also be purchased on the train.
If you like train rides, gorgeous Fall colors, and mild hiking through well-groomed paths, this trip is for you.
The 6-7 hour round trip can be very soothing or a bit tedious, depending on your perspective. It is a nice, relaxing way to spend a day in the Sault.
Best time of year is in September, as Fall comes early in Canada. A quick phone call will inform you of the leaves' progress, so you can plan accordingly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank comicmanrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Algoma Central Railway also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Algoma Central Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing