We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but too much air conditioning”
Review of Shogun Sushi

Shogun Sushi
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We were staying at a hotel across the street and decided to eat here. The food was quite good and even though the waitress was new she was trying really hard so we excused the little glitches. The only problem with this place is that the air conditioner was cranked! We were freezing! It was like November. Even my husband had to go back to the car to get warm clothes. After dinner we went back to our hotel room and had to crawl under the comforter to get rid of the chill. It was mid-August! Other family members went there that night too and said the same thing. Save some money and turn down the A/C!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stoneycrkcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2018

I was asking the gal at the front desk of the hotel if a certain Chinese place was any good. NOT she replied but if your looking for something really good try Shogun Sushi. We tried it, and found the items that we ordered were hot and tasty. the place was noisy but clean and the service was good. Enjoyed it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrBean30453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We got take out from here as we travelled through the area. It is fair quality sushi for an ayce and prices were good...servicr was abit slow but staff were friendly..nice discount for cash payments..always good

Good variety of options for being so far north ...nicely presented and tasted Good!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank thumdercloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I normally read TripAdvisor reviews before visiting a restaurant in a new city, and was a little anxious about Shogun Sushi given the mixed reviews. My family and I were pleased with our meal overall, though; we really enjoyed the food. The service was attentive, too; we arrived on Sunday evening around 6:30, were seated right away, and had drinks and food quite quickly. Everything we ordered (various chicken and beef dishes, edamame, tempura and sushi, from the all you can eat menu) was tasty and seemed to be very fresh. We ordered two rounds (several dishes both times!) and had no complaints about the food. There was one hiccup in the experience; there was one server - a middle aged woman - who seemed to stare at us with a piercingly direct but oddly blank expression that made us wonder why she was acting that way - it could just be how she is, or maybe she had something on her mind and wasn’t aware she was doing it. In any case, it didn’t prevent us from enjoying our meal. We’re just passing through Sault Ste Marie for the night, but if we pass through again, I’m sure we’ll return here!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JenCoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This is the best place for sushi in the Sault hands down. It's all you can eat sushi ( yes there is a charge for unfinished food but I've never seen it applied despite having left a piece or two on the plate) and I would say good value for money. The price on the week-ends is higher as the menu has extra week-end items.The ipad menu makes it easy to order as the dishes are organized by type. The service can be slow if they're busy so order a few things as soon as you get there then take your time to peruse the rest of the menu. The service has been good, some of the servers are quiet but that's because of limited English not rudeness. I would definitely recommend this place for a night out with friends or family.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shogun Sushi also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Shogun Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing