We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but disspointing”
Review of Bijou

Bijou
Ranked #12 of 142 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$68
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bijou, a culinary gem in Stratford Ontario, honours the tradition of inventive French bistro cuisine presented on a daily inspired Chalkboard Menu. Our regular menu is complimented by our after 8pm shareable Food Flights and Small Plates featuring the best ingredients of Perth County. These delectable bites are perfectly paired with small craft wineries and the best of old world classics. NOW serving lunch.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good but disspointing”
Reviewed 31 May 2015

we ordered from the global small plates menu. very disjointed and confused service. there were no cold/fresh dishes on the menu, so nothing refreshing. no small plate desserts, either. there is no indication on the laminated menu of which dishes were spicy and which were vegetarian. with only a few tables occupied, i thought that the chef might come out to greet us, but he did not.

Visited May 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank amyintax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    78
    22
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Four adults here for dinner before a Stratford play. Made the reservation for 6pm and didn't have time for desert which is basically my only negative. You can see into the kitchen and watch the chef(s) at work! But there is also a entryway into the kitchen where you can see the metal cabinets with cleaning supplies. Maybe a plant to block the view??
Service was very good, we basically had two servers so anything we needed we got right away. Was told that the venison carpaccio was the house specialty; so two of us tried it, and it was amazing! Our other appetizers and dinner (duck, lamb, curry, perch) were also quite mouthwatering. This is an expensive dinner, but I found it to be worth it.

  • Visited May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jencken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every bite was a delight!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015

Had a lovely dinner there with my aunt and husband before a show in Stratford. The dishes were well presented and delicious. Unique food pairings and fresh vegetables (ie.asparagus). We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bythebay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gracious and delicious”
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We enjoyed an extremely delicious meal, and the new owners went out of the way to make us feel welcome. As a farm to table restaurant, the menu changes daily. We ate from both the fixed price menu and the tapas. No one was disappointed at all.

  • Visited May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Horrible Service”
Reviewed 23 January 2015

My fiancée and I have dined at Bijou several times in the past. Always as a little special treat for the both of us when we visit Stratford as we both love the concept of local, farm to table dining. The food is wonderful, always well presented and taste just as good. However the service could use some proper training. We were the youngest couple in the restaurant each time we went, however I don't think that should be any reason for the servers to generally overlook us, ignore us or be down right rude. When a server walked past and I attempted to ask him if we could have our bread basket as our appetizers had already been served and they consisted of pate but we had no bread, the server harshly scolded me for interrupting him on his way to get drinks for another table. Needless to say after each visit ending the same, with us leaving feeling highly unwelcome and almost "not good enough" for them, they have lost us as customers. The food is good but not good enough to put up with the rude service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceWove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijou also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing