We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
264
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews led lights fresh fruit watch the world dining room festival theatre coffee maker memorable stay breakfast is served dietary needs ontario st other guests the location is perfect tom patterson front porch amenities hosts home
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 279 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Chisholms in Stratford. It surpassed all all our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed the many amenities such as the fridge in our room as well as soft drinks and bottled water. There were little treats such as candy and chocolates. We appreciated the free acess to coffee and tea as well as cookies. Fantastic breakfasts and stimulating conversations were part of our stay. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've stayed at the Chisholms in Stratford several times since it opened approximately 10 years ago. It is run by Dianne and Kent Chisholms who are friendly and delightful hosts. It's difficult to think of a better B&B experience.

The rooms are all tastefully decorated and each in a unique style. We like the red room, but have stayed in the "Touch of Asia" and "English" room as well. All are very nice. They are all extremely well appointed with flat screen TV's and have many amenities. The wi-fi is fast and I have had no problems getting onto the network.

The location is centrally located between the Stratford Theaters and is a short walk to any of them, as well as to downtown and restaurants. They also have parking on-site for each of the rooms, but it's easier to walk than to drive to the theaters.

Breakfast is great. They start with a variety of fruit and muffins or rolls and move onto a different second course every day with offerings like Canadian back bacon or pancakes. They keep track so you won't have the same thing twice. There are also Continental offerings. They ask your preferences when you check in, so if you want it (or don't) you will likely find it at breakfast.

The hosts are both heavily involved in the theatre (Kent gives tours, Dianne is an usher at the Tom Patterson) and are a wealth of helpful information. They also strive to make every experience a terrific one. It seems that even if you mention something you want in an off-hand way it will magically appear in your room after you return from a show.

They are also genuinely welcoming. Staying here is like staying with friends.

I would recommend booking early. A large number of people staying here are repeat guests because of the wonderful, warm atmosphere. You won't find a better B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: If you go on-line they will tell you not only the available dates, but which rooms are available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We picked the Chisholms based on the great reviews, and it didn't disappoint. Stayed in the Red Room, which is very nicely appointed. There are lots of lovely little touches--the picture taken on arrival, great coffee machine. Very friendly hosts. Location is great--walking distance to all the theatres, and about a five minute walk from the Old Prune, a great spot for fine dining.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Lovely bed and breakfast, is a walking distance of the theatres. The rooms are clean, the breakfast is awesome and the owners make you feel welcome. I love the little details: chocolates, notes, picture and for our anniversary Champagne!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albayarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just returned from The Chisholms in Stratford and were very pleased. It was lovely, peaceful and comfortable. They also gave us a photograph of us that they took in front of their fireplace as a keepsake. What a nice touch!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank wobbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews