We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chisholms in Stratford
Ranked #13 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2012

By far, the best B&B experience I've ever had. The accommodations are excellent, the food is glorious and the attention to detail in every way is unsurpassed. The hosts are full of information on the town and more importantly the Shakespeare Festival - backstage and onstage. Over the years, I have stayed in all the rooms and each are appointed with high quality furnishings and toiletries as well as up to date technology. For those who are concerned about high roaming charges, the Chisholm's offer free wi-fi service in addition to iphone speakers, satellite TV and DVD. To aid in the theatrical experience, each bedroom plus the entrance hall, have costumes from various plays presented at the Festival over the years. As long as the Chisholm's are in business, I will never stay anywhere else while in Stratford.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoisRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

The best part of our trip were not the plays or restaurants or scenery - it was this bed and breakfast! Great accommodations, great food, and every attention paid to detail - there really is no other place better to stay while you visit Stratford. It will be a place we come back to every year.

Room Tip: Spend the bit of extra cash to enjoy that Slipper tub in the English room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our fourth stay at The Chisholms and we were as pleased this time as every other stay and that is always the challenges for B&B owners to maintain that high level of quality year after year. But they manage to do that extremely well. The rooms are beautiful and furnished with high quality items from the great mattresses to the decor to the beautiful bathrooms. And then the there is the breakfast which is always superb - even providing doggie bags to take along bake goods for that afternoon nibble. This property is spotless and one of the things that I appreciate is that they extended the opportunity to check in by 1pm that allowed the freshen up opportunity before the afternoon theatre. Book early because its a spot in high demand

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGP669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We look forward to the Chisholms B & B as much as we look forward to the plays on our annual trip to Stratford. From the moment we park our car at their ample parking space every possible detail has been thought out. I have stayed in all three bedrooms--the last few years it has been the Asia Room with twin beds. The beds, the linens, the toiletries and amenities have all been thought out with the guest's comfort in mind. Kent's morning "chats" after the sumptuous breakfast which is exquisitely presented give us an insider's view of the Festival and Diane's expertise in the kitchen get every day off to a good start. The table at breakfast would give "Downton Abbey" a run for its money. As return guests we are greeted like family and are made to feel so very welcome. These two people not only operate the best B & B in Stratford (or probably in Ontario), they are good citizens of the city with their volunteer work at the Festival and other sites. We can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: The bath in the English Room is the size of a small bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The rooms, although perhaps a bit overfurnished, have every amenity - from a small fridge stocked with water and soft drinks (that are complementary) to chocolates and toothbrushes and toothpaste. The beds are very comfortable, with lovely linens, and the latest high tech shower heads are fun. The location is very central - everything is within walking distance. Breakfast is clearly a time to interact with fellow guests - it is not a hurried meal! It was all in all a very nice place to stay, although we thought a tad pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I cannot possibly do justice to what a lovely experience we had at this B&B. Everything was just perfect. As a few highlights: The house itself is a lovely historic building, lovingly maintained. The interior design is stunning, and the bedrooms in particular are very elegant. Every possible amenity and convenience is thought of, making the stay very relaxing and luxurious. Little details such as old costumes from the Stratford Festival, flickering electric candles & a fireplace, and an iPod stereo make the stay memorable. The hosts are charming, knowledgeable, and very welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The location is very central and convenient.

I would whole-heartedly recommend this B&B. Thank you to Diane and Kent for their excellent hospitality!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the English room is particularly spacious and elegant. The bathroom is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just came back from my annual stay at Chisholms and I don't know how they do it, but every year it just gets better. When I arrive and get to my room, I notice some new amenity that was not there the year before. When I arrive for breakfast, I cannot help be dazzled by the fare. Diane and Kent are the perfect hosts at the best B&B in Stratford - once you stay here, you will see how much they love making each guest feel welcome and you will understand why they have so many repeat visitors!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 km away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 90 in Stratford
152 reviews
1.1 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 90 in Stratford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#16 of 90 in Stratford
65 reviews
1.5 km away
Hatfield House on Hibernia B and  B
0.1 km away
A Night at Rosehurst
A Night at Rosehurst
#19 of 90 in Stratford
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chisholms in Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chisholms in Stratford

Address: 310 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $299 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chisholms in Stratford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically designated 1881 Italianate home in downtown Stratford, Canada. Park & walk everywhere. 3 large en-suite bedrooms with TV, fridge, electric fireplace, A/C, Wi-Fi, breakfast, Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chisholms in Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chisholms In Stratford Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing