We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
264
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews led lights fresh fruit watch the world festival theatre next year dining room look forward coffee maker memorable stay breakfast is served ontario st other guests the location is perfect dietary restrictions front porch tom patterson amenities
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 279 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

Just spent four nights at The Chisholms. This property is a very short walk from the downtown shopping/dining district. The English room was well appointed and quite comfortable. The rooms are meticulously maintained. The breakfasts are amazing! Heather incorporates farm fresh fruits and veg into delicious dishes each morning. I must say, the hospitality here is welcoming and appreciated. Stella, the resident pup, just made the stay doubly enjoyable! Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank wyldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

It's super that you would take the time to say some lovely things about your stay here at Chisholms. I think that Stella is fast becoming a star! I will let her know in the best way I can- (with food).
I hope to see you again soon.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2017

We just spent 5 days at the Chisholms and loved it. The location is ideal, our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Heather's hospitality is genuine and is supplemented by a German Shepherd who is a quiet and "polite" companion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abunaalgodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you for the 'thumbs up'. It has been a genuine pleasure to have you visiting Chisholms. I hope to see you again here in the land of great theatre.

Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I booked 3 nights for a fun filled, jammed packed weekend in June and the location of this b&b is perfect. Right at the lights on Ontario St.at Front St. so if you want to go downtown and to Avon & Studio theatres; just go south on Front to Brunswick. You can walk or just a few minutes drive to the Tom Patterson & Festival theatres along the river.
Tastefully decorated with fabulously soft but firm pillows, exquisite bed linens and thick & thirsty towels. The chevron shower in room #2 (Red room) means no door to get in your way and the rain head has coloured led lights for chromatherapy and there is also a hand held wand. Pert shampoo is dispensed as is liquid soap or use the provided bar of Dove soap (it's 1/4 cold cream!) I love the foam hand soap dispenser and individual paper Dixie cups by the sink. Lots of shelf space for your kit too.
Nice sized closet with plenty of sturdy hangers. A buffet has drawers for stowing your unmentionables. Each room has a coffee maker and a fridge stocked with water and soft drinks. The dining room also has coffee pods available 24/7.
Central air keeps you cool but nothing beats sitting on the spacious front porch enjoying the breeze laden with the scent of lilacs. Room #2 also has a ceiling fan and a fireplace.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 in the large bright dining/sitting room and are delicious and plentiful. Fabulous freshly baked scones in a variety of flavours, fresh fruit from the farmer's market and a liberal plate of latkes or omelettes with local fresh ingredients or brioche french toast and the local bacon is oh so good. Individual French press coffee pots or lovely tea pots.
Heather is most accommodating to your dietary restrictions or dislikes and can recommend dining establishments. You can also hear Heather humming happily away to Madama Butterfly as she prepares your breakfast feast.
Stella, the resident German Shepherd, will escort you to your room upon arrival and enjoys taking part in the breakfast conversations.
I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOrfitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

You make me smile to read such detail! Thank you for taking the time to review Chisholms. I am so delighted that your stay was such a success.
We will be here to welcome you back!

Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

The Chisholms B & B gets top marks on all counts. This would include the location - an easy walk to the theatre - the warm welcome provided by the owner, Heather, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, and certainly the breakfasts that are prepared with the best ingredients and served with great attention to detail. Note that you will be greeted on arrival by Heather's elderly dog, Stella, whose bark is all show since she is a real softie at heart.
This was our first stay but we will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Thank you Dennis for your kind review. It was super to have you visit. It's early in the theatre season and Stella is loving the comings and goings of guests. I think that it is adding years to her life.
I look forward to your next visit. Let's wish for fine weather and sit on the porch with a glass.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

We came up to Stratford from the Detroit area to grab a show at the Festival Theater, and stayed at The Chisholms, for our anniversary. The place was very charming, and Heather was a great host ! We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Thank you Alan! It is always a pleasure to have anniversary getaways in Stratford. I am very happy to share the hospitality of Chisholm House.
Happy Anniversary!
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews