We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spectacular Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chisholms in Stratford
Ranked #12 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I would like to thank Heather for a super welcome and great tips, while me and my partner were staying at her wonderful B&B.This was my first time at such a place and I was really surprised by the unique touches and high end furniture and care she incorporates into her place. It was very convenient that all theaters are a comfortable walking distance away from her place and the delicious breakfast with wonderful baked goods definitely started the morning off the right way. I really liked the porch and wish I would have brought a cigar to enjoy there in the evening although I think it seats 7 or 8 it was just me out there enjoying the fresh breeze. I would definitely like to return for a few more days and relax while exploring everything that Stratford offers.

Room Tip: The pictures look exactly as wonderful as the place, so feel free to pick a room based on them and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladislavgredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review Chisholm House. It's always a pleasure to have happy guests.
Stella and I look forward to your next visit.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Just spent four nights at The Chisholms. This property is a very short walk from the downtown shopping/dining district. The English room was well appointed and quite comfortable. The rooms are meticulously maintained. The breakfasts are amazing! Heather incorporates farm fresh fruits and veg into delicious dishes each morning. I must say, the hospitality here is welcoming and appreciated. Stella, the resident pup, just made the stay doubly enjoyable! Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank wyldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

It's super that you would take the time to say some lovely things about your stay here at Chisholms. I think that Stella is fast becoming a star! I will let her know in the best way I can- (with food).
I hope to see you again soon.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We just spent 5 days at the Chisholms and loved it. The location is ideal, our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. Heather's hospitality is genuine and is supplemented by a German Shepherd who is a quiet and "polite" companion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abunaalgodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for the 'thumbs up'. It has been a genuine pleasure to have you visiting Chisholms. I hope to see you again here in the land of great theatre.

Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I booked 3 nights for a fun filled, jammed packed weekend in June and the location of this b&b is perfect. Right at the lights on Ontario St.at Front St. so if you want to go downtown and to Avon & Studio theatres; just go south on Front to Brunswick. You can walk or just a few minutes drive to the Tom Patterson & Festival theatres along the river.
Tastefully decorated with fabulously soft but firm pillows, exquisite bed linens and thick & thirsty towels. The chevron shower in room #2 (Red room) means no door to get in your way and the rain head has coloured led lights for chromatherapy and there is also a hand held wand. Pert shampoo is dispensed as is liquid soap or use the provided bar of Dove soap (it's 1/4 cold cream!) I love the foam hand soap dispenser and individual paper Dixie cups by the sink. Lots of shelf space for your kit too.
Nice sized closet with plenty of sturdy hangers. A buffet has drawers for stowing your unmentionables. Each room has a coffee maker and a fridge stocked with water and soft drinks. The dining room also has coffee pods available 24/7.
Central air keeps you cool but nothing beats sitting on the spacious front porch enjoying the breeze laden with the scent of lilacs. Room #2 also has a ceiling fan and a fireplace.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 in the large bright dining/sitting room and are delicious and plentiful. Fabulous freshly baked scones in a variety of flavours, fresh fruit from the farmer's market and a liberal plate of latkes or omelettes with local fresh ingredients or brioche french toast and the local bacon is oh so good. Individual French press coffee pots or lovely tea pots.
Heather is most accommodating to your dietary restrictions or dislikes and can recommend dining establishments. You can also hear Heather humming happily away to Madama Butterfly as she prepares your breakfast feast.
Stella, the resident German Shepherd, will escort you to your room upon arrival and enjoys taking part in the breakfast conversations.
I will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOrfitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

You make me smile to read such detail! Thank you for taking the time to review Chisholms. I am so delighted that your stay was such a success.
We will be here to welcome you back!

Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The Chisholms B & B gets top marks on all counts. This would include the location - an easy walk to the theatre - the warm welcome provided by the owner, Heather, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, and certainly the breakfasts that are prepared with the best ingredients and served with great attention to detail. Note that you will be greeted on arrival by Heather's elderly dog, Stella, whose bark is all show since she is a real softie at heart.
This was our first stay but we will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Thank you Dennis for your kind review. It was super to have you visit. It's early in the theatre season and Stella is loving the comings and goings of guests. I think that it is adding years to her life.
I look forward to your next visit. Let's wish for fine weather and sit on the porch with a glass.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We came up to Stratford from the Detroit area to grab a show at the Festival Theater, and stayed at The Chisholms, for our anniversary. The place was very charming, and Heather was a great host ! We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you Alan! It is always a pleasure to have anniversary getaways in Stratford. I am very happy to share the hospitality of Chisholm House.
Happy Anniversary!
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We took a last minute early season trip to Stratford and to save time used the Hospitality page for booking accommodations at the same time we purchased theatre tickets through the Stratford Festival Website. The look of the Chislholms appealed to us and so we booked the Red Room.
This is a lovely Italianate home. The rooms are all thematically decorated using antique and good quality reproduction furnishings. There is nothing cheap or cheesy looking here! The Host has spent time and care making sure every detail is just right.
We were greeted at the door by Heather and her very friendly but calm dog. A tour of the home showed her dedication to making her guests feel welcome and comfortable. We settled into our room before setting off to get some dinner.
The Chisholms is perfectly situated for access to dining, shopping and the theatres, all of which are within an easy walking distance. You can safely park your car for the duration of your stay and make your way to everything on foot.
Heather is a master in the kitchen. I have very restrictive dietary needs, something that has been a challenge for other hosts in the past, but Heather rose to the occasion and basically invented a gluten free breakfast cake for us that was absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was expertly prepared and artfully served. I am confident that given notice ahead of time she can accommodate just about any dietary need with aplomb!
The Chilsholms is a comfortable, beautifully decorated, warmly hosted home.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank David19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather7963, Owner at The Chisholms in Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review. You were able to give a detailed description that would help any guest in planning their trip to Stratford.
Dietary restrictions are an important consideration and I enjoy the testing of new recipes and endeavouring to make your stay special. Thank you for noticing.
I look forward to meeting up again sometime.
Stella (the dog) thanks you also.
Cheers, Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.8 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
179 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
295 reviews
0.4 km away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
140 reviews
1.1 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chisholms in Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chisholms in Stratford

Address: 310 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $252 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chisholms in Stratford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically designated 1881 Italianate home in downtown Stratford, Canada. Park & walk everywhere. 3 large en-suite bedrooms with TV, fridge, electric fireplace, A/C, Wi-Fi, breakfast, Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Chisholms in Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chisholms In Stratford Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing