We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Festival Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Festival Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

As a frequent visitor to the Stratford Festival, I have stayed at many of the B&Bs there, but found virtually none that were what I was looking/hoping for, so this year we decided to check out the Festival Inn. It's an older hotel on the main drag, with free parking, newly renovated, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, gym (we never used it, but it was there), and a complete, very generous, breakfast buffet was included..Since we went as a family, we rented a suite so we could all stay together. The price was extremely reasonable, the pool was great fun, and the whole place was sparkling clean. The staff were extremely accommodating, it was close enough for almost anything (e.g., restaurants, art gallery, restaurants, antique mall, restaurants... well, you get the idea. We decided that from now on , when we go to Stratford, that's where we will be staying.

Room Tip: The suites were large, comfortable, and having a separate living room so now kids were awakened by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    78
    42
    34
    13
See reviews for
59
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were here for a baseball tournament. The room was very nice, clean and modern. The staff were very helpful in supplying a couple of things we had forgotten to bring. I would certainly return to this spot!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saliv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had to find a last-minute hotel for a spontaneous trip to see plays in Stratford and The Festival Inn had a room. We thought it was just a bit more than it was worth but took what we could get.

We have been to Stratford for several one-nighters over the years so we could take in a play on two different days and have stayed in The Festival in the past but the last time was at least five years ago.

We checked in about 4:30 p.m. and decided to have forty winks. Our curtain was at 8:00. We knew we were pressed for time when we left the room about 6:30 since it's a few minutes' drive to the theatre and parking, etc. We went to the hotel restaurant for a small meal beforehand with intentions of eating again after the theatre.

We arrived at the dining room door and waited by the "Please wait to be seated" sign. And waited. There was no hostess but there were three women waiting tables and none of them seemed to be moving beyond second gear. Most of the tables were occupied but there was no line-up. One of the women acknowledged us with a nod but we still waited. After about ten minutes one of the women came to us about 6:50 and I explained that we had to be out by 7:30. She sullenly said that that couldn't happen.

Now I have never had that experience in a Toronto restaurant. I'll usually get some explanation that we have to order from just a few items that can be prepared quickly.

But when I was told that it couldn't happen, I replied that it had to happen. (What did she think I was going to do? Have the curtain held until we got to the theatre?!?)

Then it took another five minutes to have a table set up and we were shown to it only to be ignored. The waitresses walked by several times but didn't even come to take our orders. What we did get were icy stares. We established our limit and at 7:00, got up and walked out!

I stopped by the hotel desk to inform the young man working there that the hotel obviously had some staffing problems in the dining room but that I wasn't going to let their problems become my problem.

We dropped by Wendy's for a snack and made the curtain with a few minutes to spare.

After the performance, we went to Crabby Joe's just down the street from the hotel for dinner. There, we were greeted by a most amiable manager and all the other staff were charming and attentive. The only thing I could fault them for was an unsavoury habit of encouraging their patrons to litter the floor with peanut shells but that was kept to the bar side of the room. We told the manager of our problem trying to eat at The Festival and he noted to us that just about all of Stratford caters to theatre-goers and has to work with curtain deadlines all the time and that if you're not prepared to do that, you'd better be in another business. We had a pleasant meal and left the decent tip that did not go to a hotel waitress.

As for the Festival Inn room, the only other thing I would mention is that there was a bedside table on only one side of the bed and that the lighting in the bathroom was a little dim. Also, the room air conditioner was a bit loud even at the lowest fan speed.

Next trip to Stratford, we'll have to plan more in advance and we'll definitely choose another place that understands catering to guests' needs. It's not like it's the only hotel in town!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_and_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I would rate our two-night stay as above average. We were in the North Wing, the room was spacious, updated and quiet. It is in the back with view of parking lot and lots of field behind it. The inn is about 2 miles from downtown and 1.5 miles from the main theater, so plan on driving there. We had breakfast both days at Demetre's, right next door, and found it a lot nicer than a regular breakfast joint. The fitness room is small, only treadmills, no weights. There is a mall with a ginormous Canadian Tire store across the main street out front. The $172 tab per night was no bargain but it served the needs of a family of three quite well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was our second stay at the Festival Inn in Stratford. The rooms we've stayed in were both very pleasant, comfortable and quiet. The pool was a nice bonus, with a hot tub and sauna to go along with it (although the sauna did not get very hot). Breakfast was not very inspired, but with so many interesting dining choices in town, you'd be better off checking out the downtown area for something more creative and good. The location on the edge of town means you probably won't choose to walk to the downtown area or the theater, but being out of the central part of Stratford makes the room rate more reasonable. A worthwhile tradeoff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbbbnbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We went for three days to visit the town and catch a show. We checked out a few other places but either no pool or a poor excuse for one, so when we saw the one at Festival Inn it we were sold. Until we wanted to use it. It had been rented out for a birthday party of 8 little screaming yelling splashing boys with little or no supervision. We left eary to come home and enjoy our own pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barney154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed here as part of a group of 20 or so. We stayed in the courtyard section which is essentially a drive-up motel like experience. The rooms smell like musty old wood. I felt like we were camping. This was more like a $59 a night experience rather than a $139 one. It is several miles from the good part of Straftford, necessitating driving. This is a very very old section of the hotel, and the bathrooms were more like an old cottage than a nice hotel. There is no wireless but you can buy a cord in the lobby for $10. Several units had recurring electrical and HVAC issues as well. How this could be the #3 hotel for business is puzzling.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyninetynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
3.1 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.4 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 km away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Inn

Property: Festival Inn
Address: 1144 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festival Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Festival Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Hotel Stratford
Festival Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing