We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Festival Inn
Nearby Hotels
Stone Maiden Inn(Stratford)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duggan Place(Stratford)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Garden Bed & Breakfast(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bruce Hotel(Stratford)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
37
90
49
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
90
49
43
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingpool and hot tub areamotel stylecomplimentary breakfastnew sectionhome frieshockey teamwe've stayedwould stay againyogurtannexaccommodationsdowntown
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 236 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

There used to be a free breakfast, and there is no WIFI other than in the lobby. All in all it is not a bad hotel, but after many years of it being our default location for the Stratford Festival, we are looking around. Overpriced and underserviced.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As a frequent visitor to the Stratford Festival, I have stayed at many of the B&Bs there, but found virtually none that were what I was looking/hoping for, so this year we decided to check out the Festival Inn. It's an older hotel on the main drag, with free parking, newly renovated, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, gym (we never used it, but it was there), and a complete, very generous, breakfast buffet was included..Since we went as a family, we rented a suite so we could all stay together. The price was extremely reasonable, the pool was great fun, and the whole place was sparkling clean. The staff were extremely accommodating, it was close enough for almost anything (e.g., restaurants, art gallery, restaurants, antique mall, restaurants... well, you get the idea. We decided that from now on , when we go to Stratford, that's where we will be staying.

Room Tip: The suites were large, comfortable, and having a separate living room so now kids were awakened by the TV, conversation, etc. was a boon.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were here for a baseball tournament. The room was very nice, clean and modern. The staff were very helpful in supplying a couple of things we had forgotten to bring. I would certainly return to this spot!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saliv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had to find a last-minute hotel for a spontaneous trip to see plays in Stratford and The Festival Inn had a room. We thought it was just a bit more than it was worth but took what we could get.

We have been to Stratford for several one-nighters over the years so we could take in a play on two different days and have stayed in The Festival in the past but the last time was at least five years ago.

We checked in about 4:30 p.m. and decided to have forty winks. Our curtain was at 8:00. We knew we were pressed for time when we left the room about 6:30 since it's a few minutes' drive to the theatre and parking, etc. We went to the hotel restaurant for a small meal beforehand with intentions of eating again after the theatre.

We arrived at the dining room door and waited by the "Please wait to be seated" sign. And waited. There was no hostess but there were three women waiting tables and none of them seemed to be moving beyond second gear. Most of the tables were occupied but there was no line-up. One of the women acknowledged us with a nod but we still waited. After about ten minutes one of the women came to us about 6:50 and I explained that we had to be out by 7:30. She sullenly said that that couldn't happen.

Now I have never had that experience in a Toronto restaurant. I'll usually get some explanation that we have to order from just a few items that can be prepared quickly.

But when I was told that it couldn't happen, I replied that it had to happen. (What did she think I was going to do? Have the curtain held until we got to the theatre?!?)

Then it took another five minutes to have a table set up and we were shown to it only to be ignored. The waitresses walked by several times but didn't even come to take our orders. What we did get were icy stares. We established our limit and at 7:00, got up and walked out!

I stopped by the hotel desk to inform the young man working there that the hotel obviously had some staffing problems in the dining room but that I wasn't going to let their problems become my problem.

We dropped by Wendy's for a snack and made the curtain with a few minutes to spare.

After the performance, we went to Crabby Joe's just down the street from the hotel for dinner. There, we were greeted by a most amiable manager and all the other staff were charming and attentive. The only thing I could fault them for was an unsavoury habit of encouraging their patrons to litter the floor with peanut shells but that was kept to the bar side of the room. We told the manager of our problem trying to eat at The Festival and he noted to us that just about all of Stratford caters to theatre-goers and has to work with curtain deadlines all the time and that if you're not prepared to do that, you'd better be in another business. We had a pleasant meal and left the decent tip that did not go to a hotel waitress.

As for the Festival Inn room, the only other thing I would mention is that there was a bedside table on only one side of the bed and that the lighting in the bathroom was a little dim. Also, the room air conditioner was a bit loud even at the lowest fan speed.

Next trip to Stratford, we'll have to plan more in advance and we'll definitely choose another place that understands catering to guests' needs. It's not like it's the only hotel in town!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_and_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I would rate our two-night stay as above average. We were in the North Wing, the room was spacious, updated and quiet. It is in the back with view of parking lot and lots of field behind it. The inn is about 2 miles from downtown and 1.5 miles from the main theater, so plan on driving there. We had breakfast both days at Demetre's, right next door, and found it a lot nicer than a regular breakfast joint. The fitness room is small, only treadmills, no weights. There is a mall with a ginormous Canadian Tire store across the main street out front. The $172 tab per night was no bargain but it served the needs of a family of three quite well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolverine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews