We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations have transformed the rooms.”
Review of Festival Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Festival Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Renovations have transformed the rooms.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife went for two days visit to the Stratford Festival with her sisters. I booked the Festival Inn since we'd stayed there before and, as I remembered, it was OK. When she returned she raved about the hotel and how the renovations that happened recently have transformed the hotel. The room was fantastic. The new look of the lobby was also impressive. No hesitation recommending this place - be sure to ask for the new section.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BH-ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    79
    42
    34
    14
See reviews for
59
54
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Festival Inn is the third mediocre hotel we have visited in Stratford. The town is lovely, the theater is extraordinary and there are some superb restaurants, but no charm or quality has rubbed off on the town's hotels. We had spacious connecting rooms which were well air-conditioned in very hot weather and the beds were fine. We visited the pool, but otherwise used no hotel services. My complaints are that the rooms were very poorly lit (worse than most hotels), the windows were dirty (no excuse on the ground floor) and the building smelled musty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pineGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The festival is a sort of upscale motel. The accomodations range from basic to luxurious, the food is pleasant, and there are many different rooms. I found that it was simple and clean, but I didn't have any real problems with it either. It is an affordable and pleasant hotel, and is very close to downtown Stratford. I reccomend it for anyone who needs a stop from driving but wants something nice.

Room Tip: choose a room that is farther away from the highway to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadwayfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Festival Inn for a synchronized skating competition in December. The hotel was filled to capacity as well as hosting various Christmas parties. The accommodations were clean, the staff was friendly & helpful despite being very busy and we enjoyed our stay. For those who need wi-fi, you have to go to the lobby but you can get a cord from the desk for internet access in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank synchromom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We were at the Festival Inn for a work Christmas Party. They did an excellent job clustering everyone from the company together - albeit a bit far away from the actual party so unfortunatley we did have to pass a number of other peoples guest rooms before getting to our area. We had a beautiful room - which I must stay I have noticed was well updated since the last time we stayed. The room itself had beautiful furnature, a very comfortable bed, a mini fridge, etc. The bathroom in the room was a bit small & still a bit dated, however it was clean & well maintianed. On the bathroom note, a bit of updating to the public bathroom facilies by the party rooms would be of benefit to this hotel. There was a bit of noise - as anyone should expect during Christmas party season - but was well managed by very friendly staff who were out in the halls during the end time of the parties reminding everyone to quietly return to the rooms. I did however find that since rooms have ajoining doors, we could hear everything from the room beside us so that was a bit disturbing to us in the a.m., however we did not hear any hallway noise. I would definately choose this hotel for either a romantic getaway or family gettaway as the facilities (pool, retraunt, etc.) are also very nice.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is not connecting as the doors are not soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohmy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We just returned from a wedding in nearby Shakespear, with accommodations at Festival Inn. Rooms were set aside long in advance for those of us coming from varying distances. While the accommodations themselves were most acceptable, the thinking of guest placement was not. We were located on the main floor, along a hall with a party at each end
of the hall ( Ifound this info out from the breakfast server the next morning who was just lovely, I knew of one party only). The designated smoking area was at the end of our hallway, so everyone had to walk past our rooms-ALL NIGHT. Thank goodness for the extra pillows, which were placed over our heads by 2am so we could get some sleep. Another guest gave his opinions to the manager this morning, and funny, we were not asked how our stay was upon checkout. Most unimpressed. Several guests did call the desk to have noise quieted down repeatedly. As we are not partiers, we can only assume the management thought we would be drunk and pass out as well.

Room Tip: Be VERY specific when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
640 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed overnight in early September. After checking in, my wife and I were dismayed to hear the constant stream of screamed obscenities and wall-bangings of the slobbering drunk guests right next door. I could hear them through my headphones! They were a group of local mechanics who seemed to have left their jobs early to join pals in a wild drinking bout----in the middle of the afternoon! They were so loud, that when I phoned down to Reception to complain, I was able to a) quote verbatim many of those men's shouted words b) warn management that surely there was going to be broken furniture to deal with in that room of partiers. I suppose our disappointment stems from the fact that WE were the ones who eventually had to be given a new room. Oddly, the first room offered was right below those partiers (??). Of course, we declined that and ended up in a lesser room elsewhere. We'd have felt better about this whole fiasco, if only management had shown the slightest intent to deal directly with those idiots and either turf them out, call the cops or move them to a new locale. Note that our polite request for porter help with our luggage was declined. We will never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
3.1 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.4 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.1 km away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Inn

Property: Festival Inn
Address: 1144 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festival Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Festival Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Hotel Stratford
Festival Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing