We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place close to Avon Theatre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
220 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Nice place close to Avon Theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

DH and I had pleasure to stay for one night here. Inn is very cosy and owner on hand to greet and show you to your room when you arrive. Like that! Our room was sweet and clean. Nice clean bath too. Had to pass on breakfast since we had to get home early. Easy walk to Avon and restaurants..Parking lot very tight.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It's too bad you had to pass on breakfast... it's the most important meal of the day and our breakfast menu spectacular.. Parking to date hasn't been an issue as we have 18 spots for 13 rooms however the night you were here, there was a group of 12 ladies in 6 rooms who unbenouced to us, all arrived in separate cars as they were meeting here from all over the country - thereby doubling the amount of cars normally here on any given night. We will keep an eye on parking needs with group bookings going forward.

Hope to see you next visit.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    62
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
160
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed one night with a friend. Were in Stratford to see a play. The house was beautiful. The bedroom comfortable. The owners Kim and Pat were warm and gracious hosts. When asked for a restaurant recommendation - they also made our reservation for us. The Inn has an excellent location - about a 10 minute walk to downtown and Avon theater. Breakfast was delicious with local products incorporated in the menu. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie5563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kim & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I recently had a one-night stay at this lovely bed & breakfast Inn. We wish we could have stayed longer! We were welcomed by the owner Pat who gave us a tour of the common areas – a sitting room with sofas and large TV, computer corner for Internet access (also WiFi in rooms), an attractive small patio area and the very tastefully decorated dining room with separate tables. Our room was very clean and well appointed with a small sofa, TV and a very comfortable bed. The ensuite was roomy and bright. The Inn is close walking distance to the Avon Theatre and several good restaurants. We appreciated the help that Pat and Kim gave us to choose a restaurant for dinner and make reservations for us. The breakfast was perfection. So delicious! It was difficult to choose from the three choices as they all sounded wonderful. Kim was patient while we decided and we both chose the Eggs Benedict which included unique tasty local ingredients. Without a doubt, if we were asked for advice about B&B’s in Stratford, we would recommend the Stone Maiden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that you liked our restaurant recommendations. We love our guests and wish that all could stay for a few weeks to really enjoy the Inn, the town and our delicious food menus. We are the only B&B in Ontario who has signed a pledge to use at least 5 local farmers and ingriedents in our day to day menus. Something our chef Mark Brown and we are very proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stratford does not have a good selection of places to stay. The hotels are pretty crappy, and the good ones are booked months in advance. As a person who likes privacy, I usually do not like Bed and Breakfasts. I was delighted to find The Stone Maiden. It's a lovely old mansion, that has been turned into an Inn, rather than a B and B. There is breakfast, but in a formal dining room, with separate tables and a waitress, so really more like a restaurant. Each room has a private bath. We were there when all 14 rooms were occupied, and didn't really hear any other guests. Since it is an Inn, I didn't feel weird about coming in late at night, and didn't need to tip toe around awkwardly. Again, it's very private. Walking distance to EVERYTHING, and the owners are very nice and attentive. After checking out, they told us to leave our car there for the day, and just pick it up when we were ready to head out of town. I will stay there the next time I visit Stratford, without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supermom534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to review our Inn and the kind words. We are a very unique property with 13 guestrooms (all with ensuite) and are large enough to allow our guests to have their privacy yet small enough to be there when someone needs our help. Our guests refer to "home away from home" and plan their stays a year or two in advance to get their favourite rooms and dates. We've put a lot of work into the property and our guests seem to love the breakfast options, the redecorating and upgrades as well as the new on-site Spa. Most guests park and walk everywhere as we are so close to the downtown core, shopping, restaurants and theatres. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My significant other and I have been twice to the Stone Maiden Inn. The first visit was back in February for their Valentine’s dinner and the second just this past June for a Sunday breakfast. We live nearby so we haven’t stayed over night but we go for the exception food. Their resident Chef is constantly tailoring a wide variety of menus and each time we look forward to tasting his delicious combinations. Portions are always adequate and spread over a selection of courses. Kim is very welcoming and her and her husband have invested great effort since taking over the inn and it shows. I look forward to experiencing their future plans and menus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our food and menus. Yes, Mark is truly amazing and exceptional with his food choices and presentation. No wonder he has a following. We also appreciate your compliments on all the word we've done here at the Inn. Our returning guests this year are simply amazed at the transformation. Hope to see you again soon.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Many thanks to Kim and Pat who made us feel welcome right back earlier in the year when we booked 8 rooms with them for 5 nights stay in July. Nothing was too big of an ask and all of our expectations were exceeded when we finally got there. Traveling with a toddler can be tricky at the best of times but from the playpen to the fridge to the nappy bin (diaper bin) to washing bottles and presenting a new toy doll .... everything was taken care of. They even helped us organize a private family function on one of the nights which was great. Thank you so much for all the added touches.

The breakfasts were a surprise each morning and delicious to go with it. The local knowledge and friendliness were a joy each day. The property itself is tastefully decorated and each room individual in style.

We really were sorry to leave and hope to return one day. Best of luck with the business for the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SineadC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We love having groups here and your daughter was so cute. It was great having your whole family here as well and so nice to see everyone having a good time at your dinner. We're glad to help and enjoy making everyone feel as if they are at home (away from home). Thank you for teaching us new words for things here and for the invites from your family to come visit Ireland and England some day. We hope you had an enjoyable stay during the rest of your time in Canada and trust that your trip home went smoothly too. All the best with the new job and keep smiling - makes em wonder what you're up to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Stone Maiden Inn is a family-run B&B located in a quiet residential neighborhood about two blocks due south of the Perth County courthouse. The owners are Pat and Kim Walsh, who acquired the business last year (2010). In one year's time, they have turned what was a somewhat tired-looking small hotel into one of Stratford's best places to stay.

The new owners have greatly improved the hotel and guest rooms in many ways. The original part of the building is in a late Victorian style, with beautiful woodwork, wide-board pine flooring, high ceilings and crystal chandeliers, all of which has been preserved. The dining room area on the first floor is bright and cheerful with large windows flooding the interior with morning light, with a beautiful new wallpaper that enhances the look of the room. The large common room on the first floor is appointed with comfortable chairs and sofas, and includes a large flat screen television and a brand-new desktop computer for the use of the inn's guests. It is perfect for killing time during the day or waiting for friends or guests. The hotel also provides wireless service at no extra cost; we had no difficulty in connecting to the internet from our room on the third floor.

Mark Brown is the inn's new and outstanding young chef. The breakfast selections are inventive, delicious, and beautiful -- many of our servings included small colorful edible flowers. The berries, produce, and eggs are from local markets and suppliers, and are very fresh and flavorful - the dark cherries and blueberries were simply bursting with taste. Even the coffee did not escape Kim's attention to detail - the inn serves its own blend of Balzac coffee, which avoids the bitterness of the Starbucks blends but preseving a rich coffee taste.

In terms of location, the Stone Maiden is just a very short walk to downtown Stratford, the Avon and Studio theatres, downtown restaurants such as Pazzo, Raja, The Church Restaurant, and much shopping. The Festival Theatre is a little more than a mile away, and the Tom Patterson Theatre perhaps a half-mile. Note that parking can be difficult in the downtown area during the week. Stratford is a great town for walking or bicyling - if you enjoy walking everywhere like us, you won't need your car if you stay at the Inn.

The staff is pleasant and helpful, and the owners are attentive and congenial without being either overbearing or invisible.

The new Stone Maiden Inn is worth your consideration for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are on the second or third floors; guest who wish to avoid stairs should try to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogstar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide such an indepth review. We love seeing the faces of guests returning and seeing all the changes we've made. As new owners, we are trying to redo the whole Inn as quickly as we can (both physically and $$). We are thrilled that you loved all that we are doing including our gifted Chef de Cusine Mark Brown.

Again, thank you for providing such an indepth review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.2 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 km away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 14 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Spa services now available. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to Justin Bieber, the Stratford Festival, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing