We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beamsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I booked the Stone Maiden Inn (Rome & Juliet room) for a one-night stay as part of a birthday gift to my husband that included excellent seats for Jesus Christ Superstar and a romantic dinner out before the performance. Unfortunately it was the accommodation that was the only part of the package that was a let down. The excellent rating given the Inn by the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association and Trip Advisor as well as the price of the room indicated to me that I could be assured of a first-class experience. Instead, we found that the room's ensuite needed some freshening up (at least some new paint); the electric fireplace did not project any heat (something we could have benefited from after returning from the theatre); there was only 1 bedside lamp (we both like to read in bed before retiring); and as I lay down in our 4-poster bed and looked up at the top of the posts, I could see a good-sized cob web suspended from the top frame joining the tops of the canopy bed-posts. The website for the Inn states "the grand very Victorian front hall is reached via a well preserved 'Stratford Porch' and sets the tone for the Stone Maiden Inn". Well I'm afraid the porch also needs a re-do.

The Inn's dining room and front parlour are very nice, breakfast was delicious and the service is friendly. The Inn is close to the theatre and the bed was comfortable. However much of the Inn just seemed to be a little tired and not worth the top dollar rate. Hopefully some renovations are planned for the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
We are so sorry that you didn't feel you had good value for your stay and wished you would have talked with us about it. As new owners, we are quickly redoing the property to bring it back up to "our personal" standards. In the first year, we put $150K into things like Windows, kitchen, heating system, roof, landscaping, walkout from basement (things that the guests don't see but were vital just the same) and redecorating the parlour and dining room. Now that our second season just finished, we just completely redid Romeo & Juliet, Charmine, Lewis Terrace and Princess Diana rooms. All got new paper, hardwood floors, bedding, and accessories, some new furniture, pictures, etc. Our next project is the other 4 rooms on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately you have to make money before you can spend it which causes me buy lottery tickets hoping to win big so that I can do all the changes to the property that I want to do right now. The fireplace was a switch on the wall that you must have accidentally turned off when you turned on/off the lights (right below it). The spider web, well sorry, properties this old do have a few spiders in them and those little jiggers are quicker than you can imagine. We hope that you did enjoy your trip to Stratford. Its a beautiful city with wonderful people and lots to do. We hope to see you again to enjoy the "New" Romeo and Juliet room that will capture your heart. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast by our Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    63
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
166
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay while we were in Stratford to watch a couple of plays. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful during our first trip to Stratford, the room was perfect and the breakfast was amazing. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay!

Room Tip: There are at least a couple of rooms with king -sized beds which we asked for - it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
It was so nice to see you again and thank you for taking the time to do a review. We're glad you had the chance to visit again this year and let's plan on that glass of wine next visit :).
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was our second visit to this charming B&B in the heart of Stratford theatres and festivals. Breakfast was a top notch, fine dining experience. Gracious parlour and dining room. Our bedroom was full of charm and character with plenty of space. Delightful hosts. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Edwina room was spacious and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. It's always a pleasure to see you both and look forward to our Christmas visit coming up soon.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I recently booked our second stay at the Stone Maiden Inn this past weekend to enjoy the Culinary Festival. As always, we were greeted by owners Kim and Pat with a huge smile and welcome. The rooms are not only charming but very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are always a delight and we look forward to what's on the menu! Great stay and look forward to our future visits.

Barb & John Moore

Room Tip: We've stayed in three of the rooms and although they were all wonderful, my favourite (so far) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbandJohnMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Charming Inn, very conveniently located to downtown and the Avon Theatre. A comfortable, friendly place. The owners were gracious and helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Spa services a plus, enjoyed a wonder massage to remove the "kinks" of travel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the benefits of our on-site spa services. Rebecca is amazing. Glad you also enjoyed our breakfast menu. Mark is a very talented chef and we always get raving reviews on his creations. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flesherton, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have to admit I had high expectations because of the price. All kinds of little things that when you add them all up, make you reconsider returning.
I really thought I was staying in a place that was a cut above so didn't mind paying extra. I booked because I was coming for a Dragon boat regatta. Imagine my surprise to hear that breakfast is served only after 8:00AM. Isn't breakfast from 6:30-11:00? My bad because I didn't check that out first.

They did make a 'special allowance for me' and allowed me to 'pre-order'. Gee, lucky me.
I thought the value for money simply wasn't there.

Attention to detail lacking- fall flowers plunked in an urn price tag and all, a beside table that's 3 feet from the bed, etc.

When other crew members raved about where they stayed I just couldn't join them.

Next year, I'll check out something closer to the venue and ask them what time they serve breakfast before booking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleshertonStonefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback and It's unfortunatel for both of us that you choose a B&B and not just a place to sleep for the night. With your late evening arrival and 6:00 a.m. departure, it probably would have been best had you stayed with the group at the local Motel. Had you mentioned that you were leaving so early when booking and didn't want breakfast, I probably would have redirected you to a motel given the short time you were going to be occupy the room. You were offered the opportunity to preorder your breakfast due to your early departure and could have chosen from Eggs Benedict, Waffles, yogurt partfait, museli, bakery item, fresh juice, and coffee/tea. We also offered to bring our chef in early to accommodate your early departure as we did an early breakfast with other Dragon Boat Racers staying with us. You declined breakfast indicating that you had to be at the set up tent before 6:00 a.m. and that they were providng the breakfast there. Please do check out breakfast times at various B&B's for your next stay as most B&B's offer a fixed time of around 9:00 a.m. - one seating and usually one menu option (we offer breakfast from 8 to 9:30 a.m, your choice of time and a different 4-item menu selection daily) All details are posted on our website. Hotels certainly do offer their breakfast seating for longer periods of time which sounds like a better option for your next visit. Hope your team did well in the races.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Set dinner with creative dishes using local ingredients. Outstanding breakfast with four choices of main dish including a wonderful "green eggs and ham." The calibre of cooking deserves a better wine list. Rooms are a little worn and decor is more homey than stylish. Comfortable sitting room with many amenities and nice patio. Good value. We were there mid-week in September and it was full.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hear the group plans on seeing us again next year. Since taking over the Inn just one year ago, we have been making a lot of changes to the property already with the parlour, dining room and guest common areas -- no easy challenge in an 1873 property. The changes to the rooms so far have been in new luxury mattresses, bedding, curtains, towels etc. While we will continue to make changes like furniture, paper and carpeting over the winter months, our challenge will be to not loose the homey and welcoming feeling of our property which our guests love and what keeps them coming back year after year.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
375 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
147 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
0.5 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 15 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to the Stratford Festival, Stratford Summer Music, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing