We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Happy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caledonia House B&B
Ranked #8 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

When we travel and have a hectic schedule, we want several things in a B & B: Surroundings with eye appeal, breakfasts that are toothsome, generous, and beautifully served. We also hope for gracious hosts who seem to genuinely like what they do and, hence, do it well. Anna and Michael do it well, indeed. Anna is a really fine cook who presents a cornucopia of colorful, delicious dishes each morning. We spent three nights in their spacious home, surrounded by its equally spacious, beautifully landscaped grounds. Our room was the Caledonia, which faces west onto the lush back garden; no need for an alarm clock, as we kept the blinds open to allow the morning sun to wake us naturally. We savored the view with a pre-breakfast cup of Michael's excellent coffee, his personal blend. At the end of our overfilled days, we welcomed the comfortable bed. High marks, as well, to everything else in our room: fine linens, fresh bathrobes, vanity amenities, and a dish of chocolates. Special thanks for Michael's expert help in finding us restaurants that included gluten free options. He took care in making reservations to insure sufficient time to enjoy our dinner prior to curtain time. This is a personable couple of great heart, humor, and skill. It is by now quite obvious that we highly recommended Caledonia House.

Room Tip: All four rooms have their unique charm. Busy place; you'll be lucky to get any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Jennifer and Jerry,
Thank you for the amazing, very much detailed review. I know we appreciate it and I am sure potential future guests reading the reviews will also. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We came upon Caledonia House when our usual b&b was not available. What a find. The location is perfect; situated in a lovely neighbourhood and close to downtown and all the theatres. Anna and Michael are perfect hosts with a balance of friendliness and allowing for privacy. The breakfasts were spectacular. Our room was very private, quiet and nicely appointed. We would highly recommend Caledonia House.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helpme83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Sheila and Will, I am grateful you for your excellent review, kind, thoughtful comments and at the same time, happy for the chance of meeting you. You were wonderful guests and the time spent together, although short, was most enjoyable. Looking forward to your next visit! Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We just spent another super weekend at Caledonia House in Stratford. We have been coming to stay there every year for the past number of years and it continues to be a wonderful visit. Our hosts Anna and Michael are gracious, fun and most hospitable. The house itself is a total delight and the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. We are already looking forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: The balcony room is wonderful with your own private balcony to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SymeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Syme, Adrian, Lee and Vincence, thank you so much for staying At Caledonia House B&B again this year, and for taking the time to write a review sharing your stay experience with others. We are so pleased that you and your group have had a great stay. Trust we will have the pleasure to see you all again. Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Caledonia House is an exceptionally warm, welcoming and comfortable B & B with delightful hosts and delicious breakfasts, served with style and flair. We had the pleasure of staying at Caledonia for a week in August 2017 and found it to be a treasure in every respect: impeccably clean, beautifully appointed, and convenient to all of the theaters in Stratford. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you Katie and Jack for your kind words, recommendation and taking the time to write a review. We are grateful and most of all having the pleasure to get to know you both, your group ware just fantastic guests. Thanks again, Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We have just spent a week in this splendid B & B. Everything, absolutely everything, was superb. From the truly gracious hosts, the lovely room, to the delicious breakfasts, this was one of our most enjoyable stays ever. The location is perfect for visiting the theatre, strolling the riverfront, or walking the town.
We would heartily recommend Caledonia House to anyone contemplating a Stratford vacation.

Room Tip: Choose the Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spiinyynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Spiinyynorman, I gather by the length of stay and your review that this would be Jan and Alex, and I do hope I am correct.
Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing with others what you loved about Caledonia House B&B. It is great knowing that the pride and care we take making our home a welcoming environment for our guests helped to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to seeing the two of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The Caledonia House is a wonderful B&B located a short distance to the festival, the rivier and local shops, restaurants and cafes in Stratford. The house has been beautifully maintained by its owners, Michael and Anna, and they are gracious and attentive hosts. After many delays, I arrived on a Friday well after midnight, and was immediately met by Michael who helped me bring my luggage to my room, give me a quick tour and offered to get up early in the morning to prepare breakfast before my early morning meeting. In the morning, I was treated to a delicious breakfast with fresh coffee and wonderful conversation. Thank you, Michael and Anna. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a wonderful balcony - I will stay there next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Terrie,
It was a pleasure to meet you. Thank for for the wonderful review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We stayed at Caledonia House B&B for 3 nights in July 2017 and had a wonderful stay. The rooms and washrooms are very clean, the meals absolutely delicious and Anna and Michael were very helpful with things to do in the area. The pool is lovely and we could swim every morning before breakfast and again after our day of biking. We would highly recommend this B&B

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z, Owner at Caledonia House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you Judy for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you all as our guests and happy you enjoyed your stay in Stratford and our B&B. Enjoy the rest of the summer. Best Regards Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.1 km away
Duggan Place
Duggan Place
#16 of 90 in Stratford
65 reviews
0.7 km away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#6 of 90 in Stratford
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Amadeus Haus Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Chisholms in Stratford
The Chisholms in Stratford
#13 of 90 in Stratford
275 reviews
0.8 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 90 in Stratford
341 reviews
0.5 km away
Hatfield House on Hibernia B and  B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia House B&B

Address: 20 Caledonia St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 5W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $196 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate in elegance and personal service in our beautifully restored 1872 mansion just a short walk from downtown Stratford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonia House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing