We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, dependable experience”
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Another lovely experience this year. I even threw in a special dietary request for breakfast, and they did not miss a beat. They've become an integral part of our playgoing trip and make our Stratford stay very special. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The only difference among the rooms are the sizes. All are great.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shakespearecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Avery House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Avery House and John and Amanda cannot be beat for the best overall Stratford experience. John's breakfasts are gourmet feasts, with specialties like house smoked ham and home made cherry clafoutis. Amanda has the best current recommendations for dinner reservations, whether you're looking for a gourmet experience, or a quick casual bite. Avery House itself is in easy walking distance to everything; all 4 theaters, restaurants, shopping.

Room Tip: Key West is towards the back and newly renovated, with a lovely little sitting area.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mzurko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visit Stratford annually for the Shakespeare Festival, and recently stayed at Avery House for the first time. It quickly became our favorite, and first choice for every future visit. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated, quiet, comfortable, and thoughtfully equipped. The location is convenient to every place that we wanted to go. John and Amanda are splendid hosts.

Room Tip: The website contains all the information needed for a wise choice.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Immaculate, lovely home and breakfast. Capable and personable hosts! Every detail seen to with care. Will definitely go back again. Perfect location for all theaters and shopping and dining!! Loved the morning talks with other guests. The owners are knowledgeable about the shows and other things to do in town !

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank caliban3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

August 2016 was my third time to stay at the Avery House and I already have reservations to stay there August 2017 and August 2018! It is an amazing experience. The proprietors, John and Amanda, go out of their way to ensure that every detail of your stay is perfect, from John's gourmet breakfasts to copies of play reviews and programs to peruse prior to your performances. Each room at the B & B and the Inn Next Door are uniquely decorated and each have their own personalities. I have stayed in three different suites over my three years and each was delightful. Staying at the Avery House is like visiting treasured family and greatly enhances the overall Stratford experience - if I could assign more stars I would do so.

Room Tip: All rooms at the B & B and the Inn Next Door are excellent. Each has its own personality and ch...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trainorcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The two different rooms I stayed in were in great condition, and everything looked nice and worked really well. We always could ask for help or directions to one of the performance spaces for the Stratford Festival. Avery House is close to everything, and you can walk to the downtown. John and Amanda are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheppard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The Avery main house has been tastefully redone and offers comfort and elegance to guests. Lovely breakfast, well thought out menu and leisure social time in the morning. We stayed in the newly remodeled loft which is a private studio behind the main house. The loft is quiet and very roomy for two people. It has a private deck, two entry ways (we preferred to use the outside stairs by the deck), comfortable king bed, and a nice sitting area. We would definitely book the loft at the Avery again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
396 reviews
2.4 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
215 reviews
1.2 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing