We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avery House B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foster's Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majer's Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bruce Hotel(Stratford)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hughson Hall(Stratford)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
251
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn's breakfastsbali suitepoppy roombeach suiteaerie suitehosts johncocoa beachsmoked baconstratford festivaloutdoor balconycomfortable sitting areawhite towelsfamily style breakfastfrittatagranolaread the paperlarge dining table
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 255 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2016

Impeccable. Perfect location: Walking distance (3 blocks) to everything: theatres, downtown shops, parks, restaurants. Immaculately clean. Great breakfasts. Gracious hosts. Nice to see hosts who love and are good at what they do.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jerry9552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

This was our second visit and it has become our 'go-to"place to stay during our theatre visits. John and Amanda are great hosts and John's breakfasts are to die for. Location is central - a 10 minute walk to the Festival Theatre and about the same to downtown.
We stayed in the Key West Suite - king size bed and a huge balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

As Michiganders, we've been coming to Stratford at least once and usually twice per year for the past 16 years. Have stayed in many B&Bs. During the past several years, the Avery House with hosts John and Amanda has become one of our two favorites, along with the Rectory located just down Ontario Street. John and Amanda are such gracious hosts, in so many ways. They provide helpful information on the theater offerings, restaurants, other events in the region, and offer up the most delicious breakfasts of any B&B in our experience, The accommodations are excellent. We stay in the Cocoa Beach Suite on the ground floor, with a separate outdoor entrance and private patio deck wonderful in warm weather. There is so much about the Avery House we enjoy -- the notebooks providing background information and critical media review of the plays; the camaraderie shared by guests at the breakfast table, talking with John and Amanda about the greyhounds that they rescue, morning walks around Avon lake just several blocks away. Avery House is in a perfect location insofar as we leave our car and walk to all four theaters, restaurants, and shops. We stayed here in the late Spring and again in September--and expect to return in 2017.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2016

As long time clients of Avery House, we returned this fall for yet another wonderful visit. We stayed in the newly renovated Loft/Sanctuary. We loved the refreshed decor and have already booked for next year.

The proprietors are always upgrading and looking for ways to enhance your visit. They are very helpful and knowledgeable about the plays, the restaurants and how the city ticks. They even send out newsletters reviewing the plays which we find helpful when selecting our choice of plays

We love the breakfasts, not only for the excellent homemade/locally sourced food but the camaraderie among the theatre lovers gathered at the table. For those who enjoy walking as we do, you can park your car and easily walk to all three theatres and restaurants

Room Tip: The Loft offers spacious accommodation and privacy. The Key West in the main house is large and newly renovated.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pandjOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Exceptional breakfasts featuring local foods, accommodating hosts, Amanda and John, and comfortable and attractive rooms make Avery House the go-to B&B in Stratford.

It's situated between the Festival Theatre and the Avon downtown just a short 15 min. walk to either. Tom Patterson is even closer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greensleeves36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews