We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Avery's Inn Next Door"”
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2016

What a delightful stay at Avery's Inn Next Door (next door to their B&B). We stayed in the upper Crane suite and had to remark to proprietor, Amanda, on the excellent job that was done on updating this property! Our suite (the Crane Suite) was two rooms and an outside porch. The two rooms were comfortable and separated by quiet pocket doors. Bathroom was updated and the room decor throughout was delightful! Will definitely stay here again on our next visit! Location was wonderful and an easy walk to everything!

Room Tip: Crane Suite, upper floor in back was quiet and beautiful!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MargeK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Avery House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

Impeccable. Perfect location: Walking distance (3 blocks) to everything: theatres, downtown shops, parks, restaurants. Immaculately clean. Great breakfasts. Gracious hosts. Nice to see hosts who love and are good at what they do.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jerry9552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This was our second visit and it has become our 'go-to"place to stay during our theatre visits. John and Amanda are great hosts and John's breakfasts are to die for. Location is central - a 10 minute walk to the Festival Theatre and about the same to downtown.
We stayed in the Key West Suite - king size bed and a huge balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

As Michiganders, we've been coming to Stratford at least once and usually twice per year for the past 16 years. Have stayed in many B&Bs. During the past several years, the Avery House with hosts John and Amanda has become one of our two favorites, along with the Rectory located just down Ontario Street. John and Amanda are such gracious hosts, in so many ways. They provide helpful information on the theater offerings, restaurants, other events in the region, and offer up the most delicious breakfasts of any B&B in our experience, The accommodations are excellent. We stay in the Cocoa Beach Suite on the ground floor, with a separate outdoor entrance and private patio deck wonderful in warm weather. There is so much about the Avery House we enjoy -- the notebooks providing background information and critical media review of the plays; the camaraderie shared by guests at the breakfast table, talking with John and Amanda about the greyhounds that they rescue, morning walks around Avon lake just several blocks away. Avery House is in a perfect location insofar as we leave our car and walk to all four theaters, restaurants, and shops. We stayed here in the late Spring and again in September--and expect to return in 2017.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

As long time clients of Avery House, we returned this fall for yet another wonderful visit. We stayed in the newly renovated Loft/Sanctuary. We loved the refreshed decor and have already booked for next year.

The proprietors are always upgrading and looking for ways to enhance your visit. They are very helpful and knowledgeable about the plays, the restaurants and how the city ticks. They even send out newsletters reviewing the plays which we find helpful when selecting our choice of plays

We love the breakfasts, not only for the excellent homemade/locally sourced food but the camaraderie among the theatre lovers gathered at the table. For those who enjoy walking as we do, you can park your car and easily walk to all three theatres and restaurants

Room Tip: The Loft offers spacious accommodation and privacy. The Key West in the main house is large and newl...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pandjOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Exceptional breakfasts featuring local foods, accommodating hosts, Amanda and John, and comfortable and attractive rooms make Avery House the go-to B&B in Stratford.

It's situated between the Festival Theatre and the Avon downtown just a short 15 min. walk to either. Tom Patterson is even closer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greensleeves36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed in June 2016 and truly enjoyed our experience. We had previously stayed there in 2015 and returned again. The location of this B&B is within walking distance to all the theatres and restaurants. The room is well appointed with lots of little touches. But most importantly, the hospitality and food are second to none. They truly make an effort to ensure you are comfortable and enjoy your stay with them. Breakfasts are family style with beautifully prepared homemade meals. Everything that is prepared with care and the freshest of ingredients.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
171 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
396 reviews
2.4 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
215 reviews
1.2 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $149 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing