We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
277
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john's breakfasts poppy room bali suite cocoa beach aerie suite autumn room beach suite hosts john big table smoked bacon creme brulee french toast heirloom tomatoes outdoor deck granola next year stratford festival comfortable sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 282 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

John and Amanda provide a wonderful stay in every way. The house itself is almost 150 years-old and is furnished comfortably and kept very clean. The bed in the Poppy Room was very comfortable and had a private bathroom with a tub/shower combination. There is a fridge in the hallway if you want to store any food. The house is very quiet, even when full of guests. The location is also great, being walking distance from the theatres and many of the restaurants.

The real treat is breakfast. We started with steel cut oats, a baked peach and strawberry dish, granola, and yoghurt. But that was just the prelude to creme brulee French toast, back bacon that John cured and smoked in the back, sweet heirloom tomatoes with basil oil and fresh cheese, and scrumptious cheddar jalapeno biscuits. Good thing we had an early dinner the night before or we wouldn't have done this breakfast justice.

Amanda was also a very friendly host, chatting with us at breakfast and giving us insights into the Festival.

The one minor complaint is that staff go into your room and tidy it up without asking. While some people might like this touch, we would prefer to be asked if we want this kind of service.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 66HogarthAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

On a recent short visit to Stratford, for theatre, we stayed at the Avery House B&B (our 2nd stay here). We were in the Cocoa Beach Suite as my husband requires a main floor room due to mobility; it is a lovely large room/bathroom, nicely decorated and with an outdoor deck (a quiet relaxation spot in nice weather). John and Amanda were the perfect hosts - warm, friendly, knowledgeable about the area. The delicious breakfasts were made with fresh local ingredients, farm to table (we miss these breakfasts once were back home). The home is lovely and very clean; attention to detail is evident. The Avery House Boutique B&B is our go-to when visiting Stratford!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

John and Amanda have done a remarkable job creating a warm, welcoming environment where one can relax and feel at home. The Avery House B&B (as well as the Inn Next Door) is walking distance to all of the theatres and restaurants in Stratford. Considering the amazing breakfasts offered by John, it's a good idea to get as much walking in as possible. I have visited the Avery House several times with my wife, my father and friends, and everyone of them considers this the number one choice for staying in Stratford. My only hesitation in recommending this wonderful B&B is the fear that more people will be challenging me for the ten rooms available. Hope to see you there!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wdmcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We have stayed at the Avery Inn,for two years,
then this year at Sanctuary room. John and Amanda are sensitive and caring hosts. Plus the location is convenient.. Can’t recommend it more. Plus, their updates on the Stratford Season and restaurant scene are invaluable. We highly encourage Stratford “newbies” or old hands to join the tribe!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank djina60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We have returned from our third stay this year at Avery House.We consider it our home away from home given the welcoming atmosphere of John and Amanda who are so helpful with suggestions re restaurants. shopping, etc.John's culinary skills produce abundant and tasteful breakfasts made form local produce.[Lunch is not needed after John's breakfast!].The house is so very tastefully decorated, it is always a joy to return.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews