We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halfway Lake Provincial Park
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful park

The park is really nice. Lots of lakes for kayaking or fishing and several hiking trails to keep... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2018
Duncan S
,
Gore Bay, Canada
via mobile
Great spot!

Last summer I had a seasonal lot at another provincial part in Northern Ontario, and I was happy to... read more

Reviewed August 19, 2018
staceylwhy
,
Sudbury, Canada
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
  
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
8
11
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild rose hiking trails are non existent camp store comfort station boat launch great spot bailey hookups trailer neighbors montage campground sites soap bike highway
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 22 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

Nice large sites with plenty of trees and greenery in between. The camp store is packed with lots of your camping needs because we all forget that one thing.

Thank rennanew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

This provincial park is easily on par with any of the big parks like Grundy and Arrowhead. The drive from southern Ontario is easy and well marked and very good quality drive. The first impression of any park is it's staff and their staff were positivs and helpful. The trailer services are easily accessible. The store has the staples but a bit pricey but that is expected. We always review all the sites for ones we would pick and this park it was easy. They are all great sites even those that were affected by the storm in 2002. The beachs are large with huge swimming areas. Water is clear. Fishing is good in all of the lakrs . Boat launch facility is easy to access and fish cleaning shack is clean and well maintained. The hiking trails are excellent quality. Next time we visit we will definitely be getting to bailey lake.

1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017

This is a great place to go camping. They accommodate tents and trailers. They have trails and beaches.

Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

We camped here for a week. We had a beautiful private site with access and a view of Raven Lake. It was wonderful to be able to canoe or kayak easily. We caught lots of northern Pike- mostly smaller ones, and one monster sized one!
The beach is huge and clean with a large buoyed area for swimming. Halfway lake was almost always rough and a little tough for canoeing. We did canoe to Bailey Lake. The portage is well marked from halfway Lake, but poorly marked on the return. We only found 1 out of 4 campsites as the signage is poor. The one we did find only had a stone fireplace- no privy or picnic table and was very small- not sure where you would put a tent. When we asked staff they said that they are not used often, so that is why they are not in good shape. Perhaps if they were in good shape, they would be used more often?
Another day we crossed under the highway and paddled the other side of Halfway Lake- it is much calmer on that side.
We spent one day on Antrim Lake. The canoe launch is non existent- it was super muddy/mucky. The beavers have built a dam so you have to portage to the main part of the lake. This portage was very poorly maintained- very muddy. It would be so nice for the park to put in a proper canoe launch and some boardwalk along the portage. The lake was beautiful and we were the only ones on it. There is only 1 campsite marked on the map but we found 3 - only one of the 3 had a grill on the campfire and a picnic table. The fishing was excellent on the lake- lots of huge pike and some bass. It made the trek worthwhile.
2 of the parks 4 hiking trails were closed while we were there- one because a bridge needed to be repaired, and one because there were over a 100 fallen trees blocking the trail. It was disappointing that we were not able to do these trails. We did do the others and they were very nice.
The campsites are mostly large and private. Older bathrooms but clean. The park was super quiet during the week but got busy on the weekend. Lots of little kids unsupervised on the roads and on empty sites.
The store is a good sized. They did have a lot of basics but no eggs. There is a little store in Cartier (about 10 minutes from the park) that has everything except meats or fruits and vegetables. The interpretive centre was small but had tons packed in it- worth going to- especially interesting to read about the fire and tornado that went through the park. The staff were all helpful.
This park has potential but needs some work.

5  Thank nurse32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came back for another stay after staying here exactly 1 year ago. We love this park for the canoeing and hiking. We camped over in Antrim Lake this year and it was so peaceful and truly beautiful! All the campsites are large enough for most size trailers. We found the campsite fire pit was full of junk and needed to be cleaned out. We called park staff and they were there right away. We went on a tree hike with the naturalists and learned a lot about trees, animals, the fire and tornado that damaged the park and we even talked a little about some mushrooms. Very interesting and I think kids and their parents would learn a lot from these naturalists and respect the park more. Too many people ripping bark off of trees and putting nails and axes into them. We found that the showers were not the cleanest but definitely had lots and lots of pressure. We camped at the Wild Rose section and we liked the sites there. Most hiking trails were closed though because the park naturalist said that the MNR needs to come in and maintain the trails that have fallen down trees on them. They closed the one big trail after a hiker got lost. Hopefully when we return next year the trails will be reopened.

3  Thank FellowTraveler809885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews