We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dated but a good economy motel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Voyageur Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Voyageur Motel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A bit dated but a good economy motel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We needed a place to stay for three adults and a small dog. This place did the trick at reasonable cost. Quite dated but clean and beds were comfortable. Could use a few updates. I don't recall ever seeing a lime green set of bath fittings before!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dauphindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
18
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Staff were lovely, very helpful and polite. Obviously take pride in maintaining their motel. Rooms were simple but clean with no odour of smoke etc which was very nice. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Lookout, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A nice surprise. Reasonable price for a large, clean room. Fridge and microwave included. Friendly, helpful front desk.

Room Tip: Upper floor queen room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelExploreTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
250 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The big attraction to staying here is the price. $61 including taxes. Service was very friendly and the room was very clean. Bed was very uncomfortable, insufficient thin pillows, insufficient towels and no shampoo.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimpete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryden,ON.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Voyageur Motel and found it to be beyond our expectations. The owner was most helpful and joyful. When we checked into our room, there was no microwave. We called him and less than 5 minutes he brought one to us. Th room was large and had everything we needed. Cleaner than most high-end motels. The beds were very comfortable and being on a busy street, we found it very quiet. My husband and I both received a voucher for $15 free play at the casino, which was a bonus as we were planning to go there. I strongly recommend this motel. There was no coffee pot or shampoo in the room but next time we will bring some. There was a Tim Horton's just a block away to go get our coffee, so no big deal. We definitely will be staying there next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The lady at the front desk was very helpful, letting me know about a clean restaurant to try out in the area as i had been traveling all day and did not want to go very far for a meal. Once i got into my room was impressed because it was very clean no hairs or stains on sheets. The room had been updated but did not have many pictures on the walls, there was a table and two chairs plus a microwave and small fridge. Lots of channels to watch on TV. I did not see a place to adjust the temperature if you needed to but for staying there beginning of October the room was just the right temperature for me. The bathroom was clean and had lots of hot water. My room was upstairs and tucked in the corner which makes me happy. This motel is very good for short term stays if driving through. There was some workers that were staying there on bottom floor near the staircase at the time i was and outside drinking. If i was staying next door i might be bothered if i could not sleep due to the noise. But other than that i had no issues myself and could not hear anyone in the rooms beside me at all and motel was completely booked for that night. Definitely worth your time to stay here and make sure you make a reservation ahead of time as i can see why this motel fills up fast.

Room Tip: Worth staying here for the cleanliness and value you get for a great nights sleep. Not far off of Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronson, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I really enjoy staying at local owned retro Mom & Pop motels as it reminds me of trips from my childhood but this was not a good value even at $60 a night.
The owner was very pleasant and helpful when we checked in and the room seemed nice. It had a nice mini fridge and microwave and was spacious. However on closer look it was not as clean as it could be. There were long black hairs stuck to the shower curtain and in the bed. IN THE BED! The sheets appeared clean and smelled clean but yuck. Also there was a empty pop bottle under the bed.
We were on our way somewhere and only needed a clean, quiet room for the night. This wasn't it. It was also a long drive to the nicer dinner places in Thunder Bay. Which was a hassel we didn't need after a long day on the road.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.0 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.2 km away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
10.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
0.2 km away
Nights Inn Motel
Nights Inn Motel
#14 of 33 in Thunder Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Motel

Property: Voyageur Motel
Address: 177 Powley Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 2K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Voyageur Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike many other hotels and motels, the Voyageur Motel prides itself on its friendliness, combining professionalism with sincere smiles that allow travellers to unwind, relax and enjoy their stays.Immaculate, quiet rooms to ensure a good night’s sleep. Few minutes drive to downtown, Thunder Bay charity casino, Hospital, Marina Park and other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Voyageur Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Motel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing