We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well worth the short drive from Thunder Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Serenity

Absolute Serenity
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Absolute Serenity
Ranked #5 of 14 Thunder Bay B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the short drive from Thunder Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Visited Absolute Serenity for three nights in July while attending a wedding in Thunder Bay. We were two couples, and the accommodation was just what we wanted. It consisted of a self-contained, open-concept area in the downstairs of their house, with two bedrooms with ensuites opening onto a large living room, plus a kitchen and eating area. Because the Collins were visiting family in B.C. we didn't get to sample Laura's breakfasts, but we were more than happy to cook for ourselves in the unit's well-equipped kitchen. Laura's mom was minding the store and was on hand for anything we needed. On the first night we were treated to the sight of a deer bounding across the front lawn as we ate our dinner outside! It was really nice to spend time in such a green, quiet setting. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! -- S. Kulka, Ottawa

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We are travelling across Canada on a roadtrip and found ourselves needing to find somewhere to stay on very short notice in Thunder Bay. One look at Tripadvisor had us setting our hopes for Absolute Serenity. Laura and Ed were kind enough to accommodate us on such short notice, and we are so glad that they did. West Coasters that we are, we were pretty daunted by the incredible thunder and lightning storm that we drudged through to get to Thunder Bay, and once we arrived, the hail had just let up, leaving hail stones the size of ice cubes! Laura and Ed were so incredibly warm and thoughtful and greeted us with smiles and a roaring fire. If it wasn't for their incredible hospitality and comfortable suite, we're not sure we could have pressed on with the rest of our trip. It is unlikely that we will get back to Thunder Bay any time soon, but I would recommend this B&B to anyone who finds themselves there.

PS: apparently this is only the 2nd hail storm like this one in 10 years -- so don't let that be a deterrent!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
194 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed here for three nights and absolutely LOVE this place!

We arrived late and it was cold and windy and just started to snow (snow at the end of April!). When we went in the wood burning on and it was so warm and inviting.

Laura showed us around and we were fortunate that we were the only one staying at that time so we had the whole B&B to ourselves! There's even a fireplace in the bedroom which was great because i'm always cold. The place was so warm and spotless. The breakfast table had fresh flowers and treats for us.

Breakfast was amazing, would go back just for the breakfast alone. We also met Ed and both of them are very hospitable and give your the best service. We had the pork tenderloin with salad and dessert and they're amazing.

They have great wifi and we even face-time with the kids and showed them the place. My little one was impressed on how big it was. We will for sure take them here this summer. They have video games and board games so they won't be bored. We didn't get a chance to check out the lake in the area because it was a little chilly but gonna check that out in the summer.

This place is in the forest but still in city limits but it's probably a 15 minute drive to downtown.

Definitely five star treatment on this place. This is only my second time staying on a B&B and it won't be my last but they sure set the bar high for the others.

If you have time definitely check out Bistro One. Great food and service as well. Their creme brûlée was soooo good! Also, had a workout at Mind and Body Centre.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

I would highly recommend Absolute Serenity Bed and Breakfast retreat. Laura and Ed went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The setting is so peaceful and the pool in the back is a great bonus! We look forward to staying there again on our next trip to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessVictoriaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have stayed in Thunder Bay many times over the past 20 years. This b&b is my top pick when it comes to value, cleanliness, and overall satisfaction. I have stayed several times both as a b&b guest and as a vacation rental guest. Laura's cooking is definately worth it, but if you want to cook your own meals there is a full kitchen of your own! I could not believe how big the rental was. It is like you have your own house with pool and hiking trails included! I recommend visiting hazelwood lake conservation area which is only 5 mins away. Great swimming, hiking and paddling. Overall, I agree with many of the other reviews, this place is a hidden gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Neither of us has ever stayed at a better hotel or B+B and both of us have travelled a fair amount for our ages (25 and 21). The B+B is basically just the large, comfortable, and well-furnished basement of a wealthy and friendly family. Your money gets you a large living room with a pool table and entertainment system, a nice bathroom, and a bedroom, along with a small kitchen and a porch. Plus, Laura cooks you breakfast every morning and lunch or dinner too if you arrange for that. She lives in a peaceful forest just outside Thunder Bay (with hiking trails) and has a pool and a firepit you can use. We had so much fun staying there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonster324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

This was the best B&B I have every stayed at. You get an entire suite to yourself, with kitchenette, pool table, and a separate entrance. Laura (the host) went over the top with her breakfasts. It was something you would expect to see at a 5 star hotel and expect to pay $50 a plate for. The B&B is in a nice country setting minutes from Hazelwood Lake which is a beautiful place for a wedding (reason for our visit) or a canoe trip. I can't say enough about this B&B and would not consider staying anywhere else next time we are in Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahMite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
22.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
10.3 km away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
15.0 km away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
12.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
10.3 km away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Serenity

Property: Absolute Serenity
Address: 971 Gorevale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Thunder Bay and located a short distance from hiking, skiing, fishing, shopping, and entertainment. 12 km from Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre. Whatever your stay requires, we will do our best to see that it will be truly memorable. Savor a dip in our pool, a tranquil walk through the 6-acre setting, or an invigorating hike on one of the many nearby hiking trails. Snowshoeing and ski trails on the property and at nearby ski centers. No matter what the season, we have a variety of activities for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Absolute Serenity Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing