We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth travelling out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
901 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Worth travelling out of town”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nothing fancy, but a clean, well-equipped hotel, located south of the downtown area. Breakfast is NOT included in the night's stay. The hotel is more of a motel than a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Professional-Pilgrim, TripAdvisor Top Contributor,

Our apologies for the late response, but it is truly an honour that you were able to stay with us and shared with the public what our property is about.

Since your last stay August 2011 we have done a lot of positive changes to our hotel!

I would like to take this moment to let you know that we have fully renovated our entire hotel. This includes; 100% of our guest rooms, the new Cliffhanger restaurant and bar, lobby featuring the log walls and a water wall, Business Centre complete with 2 computers available to all of our guests, as well as all public areas.

We look forward to seeing you here with us again at the Best Western Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre.

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    238
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
223
199
46
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel in late March to attend a conference. The hotel is very nice, close to the ski hill and golf course, and right next door to an arena. It is a little bit out of town though, and cost me $28 for taxi from the airport. There is almost no cell service here unless you stand at your door/window or outside. Even then, the cell service is spotty, so if you're relying on being in contact via text or phone with work or family while staying here, you might find yourself quite frustrated. There is free wifi, so at least you can get your email.
My room was on the ground floor right by the main door to the rooms hallway (room 102). Uh oh.. or so I thought. There was very little noise in this room, I could not hear the nearby vending machines or the main door to the hallway. The room had 2 beds, patio door, sufficient bathroom. I really liked the cable-tv set up - no watching the programming loop through on the tv while trying to find a show to watch - like a satellite receiver, you could watch programming while flipping through the on-screen guide. Not something really big, but when business traveling, any little convenience helps. Great hairdryer in the bathroom.
The front desk staff were indifferent to their guests and ignored me for a while when I wanted to check out (what's with front desk staff at many Thunder Bay hotels?). I stayed here a few years ago with a hockey team and was treated AWFULLY by the front desk staff and was forced to sign a special agreement about damages and noise in order to stay. Funny I wasn't asked to sign one this time - I am the same person who stayed a few years ago.
I did not eat at the restaurant here, but did eat a catered meal at my conference which was very good. The conference wait staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freezing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre for your place to stay. We appreciate your business and the time you took to provide us with your valued feedback as it gives us an excellent opportunity to see our products and services through the eyes of our guests. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the Front Desk staff, we have shared your notes with them in order to improve our customer service skills in this important department. Our goal is to lead the industry in superior customer care.

Our hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service from 5:00 a.m. till midnight seven days a week. You can access this service by using Thunder Bay Hotels Telephone Booth by the luggage retreival area.

In reference to the cel phone coverage, while we have coverage for most large networks, we are aware that Bell celular coverage at our hotel is very minimal. Recognizing that many of our clients are experiencing this problem, you will be happy to know that we have been in contact with Bell and as a result of our valued client's feedback like yours, a new cel tower will be erected within our property.


We would like to thank you for your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to Thunder
Bay soon.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed there last night and was very impressed by the staff. Room was good, bathroom was clean but the shower taps need to be updated. New huge flatscreen tv's really my only issue was the total lack of cel phone coverage which is weird because it's only a few miles from Town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Mananger of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear valued guest,

We are delighted to hear that you were impressed by our staff and the huge flatscreen.

In reference to the cel phone coverage, while we have coverage for most large networks, we are aware that Bell celular coverage at our hotel is very minimal. Recognizing that many of our clients are experiencing this problem, we have been in contact with Bell and as a result of our valued client's feedback like yours, a new tower will be erected within our property.

We would like to thank you for your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back to Thunder
Bay soon.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I personally have stayed at the Nor'Wester for some time now and when a school trip was scheduled for Thunder Bay I recommeneded that they try the Nor'Wester. WIth a group of teenagers and their supervisors hungry upon their arrival, a supper had been prepared for them in one of the banquet rooms in a most appropriate manner with lots of food and beverages. None of the guests went hungry. In fact, after the meal, "left-overs" were taken to the rooms for a late snack. The accommodations were well prepared by Justin Lee, the manager, and the rooms were to the liking of the staff and students alike. For a group of over 15, there wasn't one complaint brought to my attention. I recommend that other groups experience the care and concern of this staff to make one's visit a most enjoyable one.

Room Tip: The corner suites are very enjoyable with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Business Development Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear thoppe, a TripAdvisor Reviewer

I would like to take this moment to thank you for filling out this review on TripAdvisor. It gives me great gratification that you and your group were accommodated so well while staying with us on your school trip.

It is Best Western's 'mission' to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care. I also love the fact that you suggested to your fellow classmates to stay with us here at the Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel and Conference Centre.

We look forward to having you stay here with us again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

While the room was rather comfortable and the staff seemed to be quite accommodating, our recent stay was not great. It started with my bathroom being anything but clean upon our arrival. Hair and soap scum were found in and around the tub. The heater in the room was really dated and we had to endure a really loud fan to keep warm at night.
The prices in the restaurant were very affordable and the food was decent, but it seemed that the waitresses just couldn't get our meals right. They often forgot an item or drink at each meal and they had a lot of difficulty with billing.

Lastly, I found a cigarette butt just under my bed, we don't smoke and had stayed in the room for 4 nights!! YUCK!

Overall, we stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to the arena, but we were slightly disappointed with the over all stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments. I am very sorry to read that your recent stay was not great but we take our customer’s feedback seriously as that is how we manage to improve our services.
Just recently our Housekeeping Department won the Housekeeping Excellence Award for recognition of Outstanding Commitment to Housekeeping Excellence, also our hotel received the I Care II Certification for the ongoing commitment to the Best Western vision of Leading the Industry in Superior Customer Care. Although we strive for excellence, it is apparent that this experience fell through the crack, please note that this is not our standard and we will share this with our hard working staff to continue striving for the excellence for every customer.

As part of our ongoing renovations to our property the AC/Heating unit is scheduled for replacement that we have expedite thanks to your feedback so any new guest using this guest room can relax and enjoy a nice & warm peaceful sleep away from home.

We see that you group has booked for next year so we have mailed you a complimentary Best Western Travel Card towards your next stay.

Thanks again for your feedback as it is the number 1 reason how we continue to improve our services.

Best Regards,


Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
Best Western PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here in June, 2011 for a few days for my father's funeral. We also held the reception at the hotel in one of the banquet rooms. The hotel is in a beautiful location just a short drive out of town. The room was nice and modern with free wi-fi. The staff were absolutely fantastic. Extremely compassionate and helpful, and they made a rather difficult stay as enjoyable as it could be. The banquet facilities were wonderful. Food and drink were excellent, and setting is beautiful with outdoor access from banquet room. Very impressed and have recommended this hotel to many people travelling to Thunder Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Cathy P, TripAdvisor Senior Reviewer,

It has been about a year since your last visit to our property, I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

If you make any plans to come back to Thunder Bay, please contact me directly as I would like to personally take care of assisting you with your reservation.

Thanks again for recommending our hotel to others!

Sincerely,

Edwin Martinez
Manager of Business Development
807-473-2456
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Exceptionally helpful staff and a fantastic suite that was quiet, immaculately clean, private, and had a beautiful bathroom made a difficult business trip a wonderful experience. Had a very comfortable rest, used the gym and took a run on the road leading to the ski hill. Only ate breakfast there but the restaurant service was great and my eggs were perfectly cooked :-)

Room Tip: Ask for the suite on the second floor at the end (Cliffview Suite I think?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyboxTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emartineznw, Manager of Business Development at Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review following your recent stay with us. Your feedback gives us an excellent opportunity to see our products and services through the eyes of our guests. We are happy to hear that we managed to turn your difficult business trip into a wonderful experience!

The Suite you stayed in is the Cliffhanger Spa Suite and following your comment "immaculately Clean" just recently, our Housekeeping Department won the Housekeeping Excellence Award and primarily due to the dedication and hard work of our staff to lead the industry in superior custormer care.

Again, we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back "home" again soon!

Edwin Martinez
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
13.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
13.5 km away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
8.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
8.2 km away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
12.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing