We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for somewhere else”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for one night on August 17 my husband, two children and I. It was easy to find. Upon check in which was fast we received a voucher for the continental breakfast and had to lug our luggage up two flights of stairs. The hotel lobby and hallways are not air conditioned just the rooms which made for a hot walk with the luggage. Our room key did not work after a half a dozen tries and we had to go and get it corrected. Even after that the room key worked sporadically which was extremely annoying. The room is basic and very sparse. The air conditioner in the room is very loud. The hotel is in kind of a sketchy location. It is beside a bowling alley and people are always just hanging around the hotel and at a picnic table across the parking lot. I wasn't sure it they were staying there or just loitering. Which made me feel uncomfortable as I had to bring in everything from the car. It would have been nice if there was a security guard. The continental breakfast is very very basic. Toast, package muffins and no-name oatmeal (which doesn't cook in the lukewarm water provided) and coffee and tea. The staff here are fantastic and friendly but I would not stay here again due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PenelopeKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Not too much to say about this place except that it was clean and a great price. The free breakfast and Wifi made it an even better value. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alligood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

It was ok. Didn't stay for the breakfast. Not in the most exciting part of town, but with all due respect to Thunder Bay is there an exciting part of town?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

After travelling 15 hours over night on Greyhound we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff. The motel reception area was clean and modern. The hallways to the rooms were slightly dated but this added a cosy charm to the place. Our room was on the first floor, a good size, very clean throughout including the bathroom. The room included tea/coffee facilities, a big wardrobe, drawers, tv and wifi. Internet connection was good. Breakfast consisted of English muffins, bagels, toast, selection of cereals, teas, coffee and juices. I would highly recommend this motel to other long distance travellers (also only 10 min walk to Greyhound depot)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_T149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed at Days Inn for 2 nights in Feb. 2011 and had to book the third night elsewhere. Booked Comfort Inn but they told us they oversold and bumped us to Econo Lodge. The place (Econo Lodge) is shabby, old, dark and dingy. And there was NO elevator and we had to drag out luggage up and down the stairs ourselves.

The room was small and old and not polished at all, although it is relatively clean. I got itchy quickly and was concerned there might be bugs. The bed was old, screechy and you can feel the springs. The internet was painfully slow and I had to give up on working.

But the best thing is that around 9 p.m., a huge snow plougher showed up and began to scrape the parking lot below our window (actually, all of our windows). The noise was deafening. I was hoping he would finish quickly but this lasted for three hours and he finally finished after midnight. We had an early flight and were hoping to get some sleep early and in the end I did not sleep at all that night.

This place should be torn down. Worst place stayed ever.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

As I said above, the staff are wonderful. Very happy to help in all ways! Every question I had, they gave me suggestions (eg, what to do/see/eat since I was only there 1 night!)
We brought our dog with us as we are currently moving across the country, and they were so friendly with my dog - I appreciate that!
The rooms are basic, but clean and come with what you expect.
The internet is easy to use and fairly quick. Just down the road is a huge shopping district area! A definite plus!
I would give them 3 stars out of 5, because it's so basic (which the cost promises) but because the staff go the extra mile, I'll give it a 4/5!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am2johns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Arrived late at night. Entrance off the highway could be better lit as I almost buried the nose of my car in a depression coming off the highway and had to crab it over the transition/edge. Staff was friendly enough. Room was basic, but clean (for what I could tell). Walls were thin as paper as I heard the people talking rather loudly in the room next door. (Good thing I fell asleep quickly.) They had complementary coffee, etc. the next morning in the lobby, but there was sparse anything else...went to a McDonald's to actually eat something. Wasn't the worst hotel in over a month of being on the road, but the next time I'm in Thunder Bay, I'm staying someplace else.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VetteDrivingFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.1 km away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#27 of 33 in Thunder Bay
51 reviews
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
258 reviews
2.8 km away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Best Western Thunder Bay Crossroads
5.8 km away
Thunder Bay Inn
Thunder Bay Inn
#12 of 33 in Thunder Bay
83 reviews
5.3 km away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range: $82 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing