We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff; Clean; Poor Location”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Staff; Clean; Poor Location”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

There was a lot to like about this place:
1) My room was spacious and clean;
2) The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One night clerk researched bus routes for over an hour for me, helping me find the least expensive way of traveling to the 1815 Fort re-creation outside of town;
3) There's a pay laundry machine available between the inner and outer doors in the side entrance to the motel. When a person is travelling for an extended period of time, finding a washer/dryer is almost as good as finding a pot of gold!

The only negative about the place is its location. It's out on the long, dreary strip of motels, gas stations, etc. along Memorial Avenue. I was traveling by Greyhound, so would try to get around by foot in each city I visited. It's quite a walk into the heart of downtown Thunder Bay from this motel, but it's do-able.

Over all, this place was a good value. When booking, remember that most Econo Lodges are affiliated with Travelodge, and so when booking into one, your booking might be shunted to the other.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    42
    44
    15
    12
See reviews for
35
43
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Ecno Lodge for 9 days in October 2011. While the appearance of this hotel on the outside is less than attractive our stay there was pleasant. The front office staff is exceptionally helpful. The rooms are basic but clean, quiet and comfortable. Any request we made was accomodated very quickly. The breakfast is the standard fare and the eating area is clean and pleasant. The price is reasonable here and while it's not fancy, it is a good place to stay. We would stay there again. Great friendly staff includes housekeeping people as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the door that opens from the stairs to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank googled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Fairly low price, but a good, clean room. Very basic. Fast wi-fi. Basic continental breakfast.
TV got a lot of channels, but for some odd reason, the tv is connected to the light switch beside the door. When you turn off the light, the tv won't work. Strange.
The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for one night on August 17 my husband, two children and I. It was easy to find. Upon check in which was fast we received a voucher for the continental breakfast and had to lug our luggage up two flights of stairs. The hotel lobby and hallways are not air conditioned just the rooms which made for a hot walk with the luggage. Our room key did not work after a half a dozen tries and we had to go and get it corrected. Even after that the room key worked sporadically which was extremely annoying. The room is basic and very sparse. The air conditioner in the room is very loud. The hotel is in kind of a sketchy location. It is beside a bowling alley and people are always just hanging around the hotel and at a picnic table across the parking lot. I wasn't sure it they were staying there or just loitering. Which made me feel uncomfortable as I had to bring in everything from the car. It would have been nice if there was a security guard. The continental breakfast is very very basic. Toast, package muffins and no-name oatmeal (which doesn't cook in the lukewarm water provided) and coffee and tea. The staff here are fantastic and friendly but I would not stay here again due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PenelopeKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Not too much to say about this place except that it was clean and a great price. The free breakfast and Wifi made it an even better value. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alligood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

It was ok. Didn't stay for the breakfast. Not in the most exciting part of town, but with all due respect to Thunder Bay is there an exciting part of town?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

After travelling 15 hours over night on Greyhound we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff. The motel reception area was clean and modern. The hallways to the rooms were slightly dated but this added a cosy charm to the place. Our room was on the first floor, a good size, very clean throughout including the bathroom. The room included tea/coffee facilities, a big wardrobe, drawers, tv and wifi. Internet connection was good. Breakfast consisted of English muffins, bagels, toast, selection of cereals, teas, coffee and juices. I would highly recommend this motel to other long distance travellers (also only 10 min walk to Greyhound depot)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_T149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
215 reviews
2.8 km away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
2.4 km away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
5.1 km away
Old Country Motel
Old Country Motel
#28 of 33 in Thunder Bay
50 reviews
1.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 686 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing