We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
137
103
20
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
103
20
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grocery store parking lot full kitchen front desk sized fridge an extended stay marriott hotel canadian superstore pool and hot tub free breakfast great shower nice hotel rooms are great comfy bed free weights yogurt long drive
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 268 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2016

New hotel, pet friendly. Overall the hotel has what we need, including toothbrushes when we forgot ours which was awesome because we arrived on a holiday everything was closed. Excellent breakfast in the morning, has more than the basic bread and cereal, eggs, meat, oatmeal, choice of breads/muffins, etc. Pool is a bit on the small side but usually not very crowded, and always clean which is a bonus. Not much green space around the hotel, and was not impressed but the amount of dog poop on the grounds in the back but that is not the hotels fault entirely. Decent rooms, full size fridge and sink and hot place can be useful as well as full use of bbq on outdoor patio area which is very nice. Right next to superstore makes it easy to prepare meals if not wanting to go out for a meal. My husband and I stay at this hotel about 80% of the times we are in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Bed very comfortable, close to Superstore which also sells beer!
Breakfast good and staff very friendly. Close to bus routes.
A & W nearby. Lots of parking available. Never got a chance to
use the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

A good choice for those visiting Thunder Bay, especially those who wish to prepare their own meals. A full kitchenette is included (full fridge, half range, microwave, dishwasher) allowing you to get groceries from the Superstore next door and make your own dinner / lunch.

Restaurants are nearby (from A&W to Tony Romas) and the included breakfast was also nice though, for those who want to let someone else do the work.

The staff was friendly and helpful (especially the breakfast staff). Parking is plentiful, and the location is great for trips to Kakabeka Falls, Pigeon River or Ouimet Canyon.

The rooms were clean where it matters most (kitchen, washroom and bedding), but in some cases (coffee maker had a used packet in it when we arrived, shower drape had water stains towards the bottom, drains had some difficulty draining) extra attention would be appreciated.

Now I am definitely nit-picking, and I would gladly stay here again when in Thunder Bay, so don't let my above sway you away.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank MarliesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

This is a great review. Thank you for your kind words and also your advice. I am especially glad to hear the staff were friendly and that you loved our rooms with their kitchens.
Your advice about being more particular on the small things is fantastic as it helps us improve our service. We will share your comments with the team and I am sure they will appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for choosing Marriott and in particular, our beautiful hotel here in Thunder Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Well appointed suites, very nice hot buffet breakfast, good location and friendly staff. Ample parking and good restaurants nearby. Nice pool area too. Price may be a little on the upper scale but accommodations were worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Like the suites but each time we stay, there is always something in the room that doesn't work, we almost know now because we stay so often what isn't going to work. Housekeeping very slow - leave the room at 10:00 am & Come back at 3:00 pm & the room still isn' t done. For a brand new hotel already it is filthy - carpets stained, mildew in the showers, dust bunnies under the fridge. TV reception poor - half the time it says "no signal". This is NOT your typical Marriott

Room Tip: Away from elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 304melaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 10, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. While we are a pet friendly hotel we don't usually allow dust bunnies although I do hear they multiply pretty quickly.
But in all seriousness while this doesn't reflect the reviews we usually get it appears your experience was not what we or our guests are regularly accustomed to. Please accept my apologies and once more my thanks for your feedback - it will be shared with our teams and definitely used to further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews