We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to downtown but worn and dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close to downtown but worn and dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a bare-bones stay that has the advantage of being right downtown. If you're not too fussy, it's as good a place as any, I suppose. The decor is certainly dated and the place could use some serious renovations. On the other hand, the rates are reasonable enough and there's a bar/restaurant with pretty good night life right onsite. The coolest thing about this hotel, for me, is the way it's built right into/onto a rock outcrop. You can see the rock right in the lobby. The last time I was there, there was sex going on in the hallway but that didn't really bother me too, too much. You might want to think about what you'd tell your kids, though, if you were to travel as a family. If you're not expecting too much and you need a place right downtown, this is pretty much the only game in town. Just don't expect more than it can deliver.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blizzardave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    52
    33
    40
    30
See reviews for
36
28
16
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stay here fairly regularly. As one of the previous reviewers noted, if you know what to ask for, this hotel is pleasant, and the location good if you need to carry out business in the downtown. The renovated rooms are much nicer - the older rooms are very sad. The staff has always been very helpful and make the stay much better. The east wing rooms are a pain to get to, and are noisy and cold in the winter. You are able to hear the logging trucks going up and down the main street, so I always make sure to ask for the tower rooms. Food is surprisingly good from the hotel's restaurant - but service can be hit and miss.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the tower room... Stay away from the east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdntraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have stayed here a number of times and you have to ask for a king or queen executive or newly renovated room when booking or checking in, it will cost a little more but is well worth it, these rooms are very spacious, clean, new beds , linens and furniture and also have new HD televisions.If you want to have a cheaper or smoking room then you will have to put up with the old beds and burns in the carpets and bathroom counters. Staff here have always been helpful and friendly to me and always greet you with a smile. I'm not a big breakfast person during the work week so I found the continental breakfast that was offered just perfect for me, fruit, cereal, bagels, toast, danish, waffles, tea, coffee and juice all available. Do yourself a favour here and try the restaurant for dinner, one of the best in town and good friendly service. Location of this hotel is great for me right in the middle of town, please remember you are in a working mining town you are not going to find the luxury of a Hyatt, Westin or Hilton but if you get the right room you should be happy

Room Tip: I gave the rooms a very good but go cheap and you wont be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eerzaweepieanbovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My car was broken into in their 'monitored' parking, nobody cared! Stayed there for the low price, which after the deductible, replacing of items, cleaning, etc., turned into $1500 ! There are signs around saying that the parking lot is secure, don't be fooled, it ISN'T!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timmins hotels

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

When I first checked in I was assigned a room in the "east" wing which is difficult to find as you have to take two elevators to reach the room. It was nothing special, just a average room that is a bit tired. I contacted the hotel management and they arranged for me to move to a "renovated" room.

The renovated room was better for sure, the beds were the best part (thick duvet and nice cover with new pillows and pillow top mattress), along with the LCD tv. There were parts of the room that I supoosed were not finished (torn wallpaper) but I assume they are still working on them.

These renovated rooms are just that, a quick renovation, the underlying hotel is still old but acceptable, especially in Timmins with their lack of any new hotels.

The breakfast was good (the attendant was doing a great job), with cereals, toast, fruit salad and more.

I would probably stay elsewhere just to compare the next time I am in town.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

i picked this hotel in the first place because of the great deal, and oh boy can i see why. The room i had was very old, had cigarette burns on the rugs, and on the sheets. The bed was very old. While the bathroom it self was nice, it was not cleaned properly and I found a used bar of soap in the shower. I put in a complaint to the front desk, and she did not seem to even care that it happened and didn't even apologize. It was also a maze to find our room as we had to use two different elevators at different ends of the hotel to get to it. The one positive thing about this place is the breakfast was good. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinntimmins, Supervisor at Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Dear Valued Guests

I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to ensure our guests have a great stay which is why we are in the process of renovating more rooms. The lack of concern from the front desk agent has been addressed and I will ensure that this does not happen again. As guest service agents we try to give every guest the best service they deserve. I hope you will give us another try to show you how much we have improved since your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I went for a funeral and stayed at the Days Inn for 2 nights in the King's suite on the 4th floor for 2 nights and could not sleep the 2nd night because of the party going on in the hallway from 3am to 5am! People were screaming and swearing and slamming doors going room to room!. The hallways smelled like beer and Cigarettes later that morning. I complain twice but I guess it was not enough because any other hotel would have asked them to be quiet or leave. The room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The person who was cleaning the breakfast lounge was in a bad mood because people were leaving their dishes on the tables when they left! It's your job for petes sake!!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunmanQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
4.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#7 of 12 in Timmins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.8 km away
Cedar Meadows Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins

Property: Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins
Address: 14 Mountjoy St S, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Timmins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at our Days Inn and Conference - Timmins hotel for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Timmins
Timmins Days Inn
Days Inn & Conference Centre - Timmins Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing