We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent experience and value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steam Whistle Brewery

Steam Whistle Brewery
Ranked #8 of 491 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent experience and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

Close to CN Tower and Air Canada centre this small brewery makes for an excellent visit, especially around lunch time. Many free 'samples' and a charcuterie sample made for a pleasant experience which was supplemented by a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,424
    597
    137
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“place to meet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

congenial place, phantastic assortment of beverages, food good

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Austrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ALWAYS a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I try to come as often as possible even though I've been on the tour enough to practically give it myself - but always love an opportunity to pull the whistle! And the guides each add their own unique flare to the tour, they all seem like a big family ready to share their secrets, everyone is very personable and friendly. Great artwork on the walls each time I go. I've seen them getting ready for larger events and love their space. And you gotta love the samples!! A great place to stop before a baseball or hockey game.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabinetofcuriosities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Where else can you get a glass of beer, a tour another glass of beer and a bottle opener all for less than $5. Fun and interesting...love the atmosphere of the old roundhouse. Easy to find and very relaxed atmosphere

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Goodsheppard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casual and yummy with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My fiancé and I were in The District and had heard good things about the Brewery, so we decided to try it out on a mid-afternoon while escaping from the rain. He had the butter chicken and I had the fish and chips, and both were really yummy. The service was attentive (though it was not busy) and the atmosphere was casual and fun. We enjoyed the experience!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymelissabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing