We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“whether a local or a tourist, the museum is a must see” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Ontario Museum

Royal Ontario Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.29*
and up
Royal Ontario Museum Ticket
Ranked #4 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“whether a local or a tourist, the museum is a must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The ROM is a great bad weather/rainy day adventure - everything you can imagine can be seen here.
Caution: this is not a one visit destination - it takes many just to get an overview & may become habit forming!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovethebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,181
    1,764
    500
    85
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, it's amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

ROM is a treasure trove, especially for anyone who is a history buff of any kind. My 9 year old nephew considered it the best part of our 6 day trip to Toronto and Niagara Falls. There is an endless display of authentic artifacts, each explained clearly and some with videos to go with. We couldn't get enough of this wonderful place. You are awed but feel like things are accessible and understandable. It is a dignified place but family-friendly. The Maya exhibit is amazing, we felt lucky to be there while that was on display. This is a must-do in Toronto.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilovelowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“don't miss this attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you're in Toronto, make sure to dedicate a few hours of your time to visit this museum. The building itself is beautiful. Easy to find parking.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinasours !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Its a must do in Toronto ! Great exibits, friendly staff, good size, not as big as New York but decent

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BabsLimerick_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum that curates great exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I'm a lifelong fan and member of the ROM. The building itself is gorgeous and peaceful-- really great blend of new architecture and old. The permanent collections are vast and always interesting, but they also do a great job of bringing in new exhibits.

Kids area is great too. I bring my toddler here often in winter or on rainy days and she loves the Bat Cave and toddler area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank teeceeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing