We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"can't beat price and location should be ranked #1"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #39 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"can't beat price and location should be ranked #1"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I fell in love with Toronto and Hotel Victoria! The location is excellent, and affordable. I'm on a budget and was able to take public transportation from the airport to the hotel for $2.60 which is around the corner from King subway station. The location is walking distance, close to CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Centre, St. Lawerence Market, and Rogers Center. When I arrived at Hotel Victoria, I was greeted by a friendly, approahable and helpful staff at the front desk. The room had hard wood floors, the furnature was sleek and modern with a black/white decor. There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall and free WIFI. The bed was comfortable, and the shower had excellent water pressure. They even provided free bottles of water daily in your room. Nice touch! There was no fitness room in the hotel however did provide a discount of $15 for GoodLife Fitness a few steps away.

My home away from home in Toronto!

P.S. I meet one of the owners on the elevator and he seemed genuinely concerned about how I enjoyed my stay there. I really appreciate that. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Good Day Robert S

It is great to read that you fell in love with our hotel. Our location is perfect while visiting Toronto. I thrilled that our staff greeted you in their usual friendly an approachable manner! It is wonderful when I read a guest was pleased with all aspect of their stay. Our Owner, like all of our staff are %150 genuinely interested in every guests experience here at the Hotel Victoria. We most certainty are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    445
    151
    50
    29
See reviews for
122
445
94
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Victoria for 7 nights while at a conference at the Sheraton Centre in Toronto. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a perfect situation for exploring the attractions of Yonge Street and the harbourfront, with a short walk to the CN Tower and the Rogers Centre. The room was recently refurbished and finished to a good standard, although I wasn't too keen on the frosted glass panel on the bathroom door once my partner joined me after the conference ended! The bathroom was very compact, but they had made good use of the space. It was also kept very clean for the entire stay. My one real complaint was the fact that there is only one, very slow, very rickety lift which, when staying on the 8th floor, is quite frustrating. There were a couple of occasions when I was worried I was going to be stuck in it! However, I would recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers, although I might ask for a room on a lower floor so that you could use the stairs!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor to avoid the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hi Missus2009

First and foremost, thank you for reviewing the Hotel Victoria, seeing hoe our guests see us is essential to continued success. Our lift is on our list of priorities for 2012. We are just about to complete the guest corridor refurbishment. I am so glad that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, location ideal with a very clean room throughout your stay. On your next visit, inquire about an upgrade, the bathrooms are more spacious! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I just finished up a 5 night stay at Hotel Victoria where we had an excellent experience. We stayed in a King Deluxe room which was great size! Nicely decorated and very well kept. This hotel just underwent a renovation in 2011 and the attention to detail was superb. However, they apparently had not yet updated the hallways because while we were there, they started ripping down the wallpaper and spackling in the hallways. They did this during the day though, so it was not a disturbance to us at all. Great location! 10 min walk to the Metro Toronto Convention Center, CN Tower, Rogers Center. 5 min walk to St. Lawrence market and easy access to both the subway and trolley system. Would definitely recommend a stay here and will plan to visit again if we ever make it back to Toronto!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the King Upgrade...much bigger size than the basic queen room with other additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hi Erin M

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer a review of Hotel Victoria. We are so pleased to read that the renovations are still a big hit a a year after completion. We will be finished redoing the wall vinyl in the corridors by tomorrow and once that is completed new carpet is going to be installed. So pleased that our location was ideal for your needs, thank you for the recommendation and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked this hotel for a one night stopover after getting off the trans Canadian train, based on price and proximity to the Grand Union Station. To be honest we were just looking for abed for the night and so expected little
This place exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms are not huge but thats to be expected in a city center location. They were beautifully decorated, modern and spotlessly clean. The room had everything we could ask for. I admit we had problems understanding the TV system but thats probably just my age!
Position is great and central for downtown Malls and the CN tower just ten minutes walk.
We arrived early (10 am) but or room was ready and we could check in and freshen up. The reception staff were all attentive and helpful and the attached "over easy" restaurant serves the best breakfast selection.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear kurrif

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience her at the Hotel Victoria. It is wonderful to read that we have exceeded your expectations. I shall pass along your thoughts to our reception staff. We thank you for including the Hotel Victoria in you travel plans, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on May 18, 2012 and was very pleased with the hotel and staff (Peter at front desk was very helpful while booking). The location was fantastic almost around the corner from Union Station and when I arrived early the hotel staff found an available room for me so I did not have to return later and was able to relax before heading out for a busy day. Room was clean and quiet, I love NOT having the old style bed spreads but the nice clean sheets that cover a duvet
. I have never written a hotel review before but I was so pleased with the hotel and location that I felt it necessary to share this experience with others as I find I always look at reviews before booking and appreciate the feed back. I hope to stay again at this hotel, it will be my first choice when booking again in downtown Toronto. Debbie H

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Hi Debbie H

Thank you for your glowing review, it is great to see our staff's service being highlighted! I shall pass your sentiments onto Peter. The "white" linens are quite sharp, they really stand out when you walk into our rooms. I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Victoria while in Toronto, we most certainly look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I would happily recommend the Hotel Victoria to anyone in Toronto on business or pleasure. I was staying in Toronto for a conference and the Hotel provided a haven away from my busy days and the heat.

Room was a great size. Tv was fab and made use if the free Netflix. Wifi was great and worked when using Skype on my phone and laptop.

Only crit is the lift was very slow! I was being lazy though and could've used the stairs!

Great diner next door called over easy

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holt1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
HI Holt1985

Thank you for including the Hotel Victoria in your travel plans. It is great to read reviews like yours, we take such pride in our hotel and when guests comment about that it makes us more proud. We have had our "lift" service contractors look at why the lift is slow, hopefully we can have a solution on your next stay! Will pass along your comments to the Restaurant as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night at a very reasonable rate. The building is quite old and the room was small but extremely comfortable and very well decorated! Nice, clean bathroom and great shower. My room had a "view" of an alleyway, but who would care about that with such a comfy bed and so many free Netflix shows/movies on an awesome Apple TV!!!

Two things though: 1) no room service so that could kind of suck if you were looking to feel pampered. 2) the drape kept on flapping open with the air coming from just below it - so the drapes could not really close

If I needed somewhere to stay for a couple days, I'd stay here again no probs.

Helpful?
Thank Don_Lockwood888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Hi Don_Lockwood888

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I see you mentioned your room was small, on your next visit ask us about an upgrade to a bigger room. I will arrange for maintenance to look into the drape issue. Our beds are very comfortable and loved by most of our guests. Netflix is a great feature, so glad you made use of it. Looking forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing