We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value and Price in Downtown Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed for one night with a good friend who I was showing around Toronto. The location is very good as I knew my friend would want to see the CN Tower, and Rogers Centre. My main reasons for choosing this hotel are:

1) I got a pretty good rate. $139 on the internet for 2 double beds.
2) The hotel and Rogers Centre are located just off the Gardiner Expressway, so driving in is easy. No stop and go in busy downtown Toronto traffic should we have arrived at a bad time.
3) Parking would be easy, it's a stadium...
4) It's close to, as I mentioned the CN Tower and Rogers Centre, but also close to the restaurants on Front St and Union Station. It's a great 'jumping off' point.

We arrived early afternoon on a friday, our room was ready, and the valet took our car. The whole operation was seamless and we were in our room within 30 minutes. We also arrived about an hour before the 3pm check-in time.

We were given a 10th floor room with a city view. Upon inspection of the room it was easily determined that the room was not finished being made up. The shower curtain wasn't hung up, the towels weren't in place, the mirror was very spotty (like someone hadn't wiped it after spraying it with something, I'm not a picky guy). Also there was a big hair under the comforter, that was a little tough to ignore. One quick call to Front Desk informing them of the situation in which I nicely and with some humour explained my misgivings and what it is I would like to see happen (a new room on the same floor, if it could be accommodated), and I was back in the lobby exchanging room keys for a new room a few doors down and receiving apologies. The initial room was substandard, however the staff corrected the shortcoming quickly and did their best to respect my requests. I didn't think of the first room for the rest of our stay.

I must give a thumbs-up to the beds and bedding. I have two small children and I suffer the sleep deprivation that goes along with it. The bed and bedding was fantastic, and the combination of bed, bedding, and a few extra hours of childless sleep worked wonders for me.

We ordered up 6 beers (Stella Artois), come to a little under $50. Most people would complain but I've never been to a hotel that didn't charge like this for room service, particularly alcohol. I'm not saying it's good, I'm not saying it's bad, I'm just saying...

Check out was easy, there were no errors on our bill, and the valet had our car brought around in under 5 minutes.

Good stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneaky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
There are newer reviews for Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place has got something big going for it. The view over the Skydome playing field is a great novelty, even if there isn`t a ballgame on. There is a bar perfectly place to just sit and enjoy with a cold bottle of Canadian.

Everything else about the hotel is everything you would expect from a 4 star property in Toronto. Large rooms, comfy beds, polite staff and clean. It also is only a 10 minute walk from Union station as well as the many bars and eateries in that vicinity. I would imagine this would be a great place to stay for sports events to for obvious reasons. It is also 5 minutes stroll to the CN tower.

One negative is the proximity of the rail lines, which can get a bit loud during the rush hours, but the solution to this is to either ask for a high room, or upgrade to the rooms which lookout over the ball park.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a ballpark view room for the fun of it
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It's the hotel connected to the Rogers Centre, so it's fantastic for a Blue Jays game. I was there in the offseason but it's stiil very centrally located and within a 10' walk of the Air Canada Center and all the major downtown attractions.
Very friendly staff, nice rooms, definitely my choice were I to go back to Toronto anytime soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked a room at the Renaissance based on personal reviews from friends, and was NOT disappointed!
I was staying in the hotel with my nephews and was able to get a stadium view room which the boys loved. The woman who checked us in was wonderful - she made a point of letting the boys know she was putting them in a stadium-view room and made them feel really special. They didn't even want to go swimming the first night - just look out the window!
Everyone who we encountered during our stay were so genuine, warm and wonderful! The room was very clean and a lot larger than I would expect from a hotel in downtown Toronto. The location was great for our outings to the CN Tower (right beside the hotel) and the Hockey Hall of Fame (a little bit more of a walk, but still close), and the hotel conveniently stored our bags after we checked out so we could continue our touring.
My nephews are already asking when we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a sports fan - choose the stadium view!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline and received a very nice rate for our Feb. (President's Day weekend) trip to Toronto. At first I was certain I would find the hotel to be outdated (based on online eviews) and in a downtown location that was more business than leisure. I was pleasantly surprised on both fronts. It might have been a tab bit outdated, but overall the service was really good, rooms clean, and location turned out to be a very convenient one for our weekend plans. We were within short walking distance of The Second City, CN Tower and theater, all of which we availed ourselves of. There's a great breakfast place, Cora's, down the block from the hotel. A great grocery store right across the street for buying quick bites, water, etc.. It's is also within walking distance of the harborfront and even old city, where you'll the distillery district and St. Lawrence market. Even though it is not an ultra-hip, trendy hotel, I found our stay to be perfectly fine and enjoyable. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the stadium.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugNY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After an AWFUL stay at the Holiday Inn Markham, we checked out early from there and via Hotwire, booked a "4 Star Stay" in the entertainment district. It was our first time booking via hotwire, and took a gamble on the room, but because we so urgently needed to get out of Markham, we took what we could get.

We received the room rate at 90$ (hotwire price) but ended up going a day early. The hotel booking agent gave us the CAA auto club rate (118$) and offered us an upgrade for our room. Which really meant little to us, we just asked that we have a king sized bed.

When we arrived the room wasn't ready (I arrived for check in at noon, and the room was to be ready for 1pm), so I waited patiently in the nice comfortable lobby. One of the desk staff came over to me, brought me a coffee and some fruit from the restaurant and offered me a paper. Within 15 mins of that, they came to let me know that the room was still not ready, but that they had put a rush on it (still 30 mins before I was supposed to have checked in). They were clearly making an effort for me to get into my room.

When I arrived in my room, we had been upgraded to a king sized suite, and the room was very clean and nice. They had moved us to a "higher" floor (8th) and we had a city view. The room was brand new, the bed was full of pillows (8 in total) and had a down duvet. A few moments later the front end staff called up to my room to make sure that it suited our needs. It did. She then let me know that we had a 58$ credit for room service or for the restaurant to use at our discretion.

The stay was good. We had a great sleep, even though our room was above some train tracks, the room was quiet. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. Cleaning services were fantastic, our room was always clean - and I mean CLEAN - there was no dust or bits of anything left on the floor or on the tv consoles.

The pool was nice, gym was excellent and the hot tub was a treat.

The location is a bit of a walk, but in good weather, you have only 5-10 mins to get to Queen St. East and plenty of restaurants.

We used our voucher for the breakfast buffet, which was very good. (Bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, pancakes, omlette station, tons of fresh fruit and baking, cereal, bagels, fresh coffee and juices) and left the remainder as a hefty tip for our waiter who was very nice.

I really enjoyed this hotel. We had ZERO issues and I'm a picky traveller. For the price I paid (50$ less than the hell hole we stayed at at the Holiday Inn), we'd def. stay there again. We took the opportunity to check out the CN tower and in the summer, it would fun to be able to be so close to a Jay's game.

All in all, we'd def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allcityd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

As it was my first visit to Toronto, tagging along with my husband on weekend business and leaving the kids behind, I intended to cram a lot of sightseeing/relaxation into a short span of time. Mission accomplished with the help of fabulous staff at every turn. Literally, I did not find one person who did not stop what they were doing try and make my stay more pleasant (and I’m NOT a bikini model).

I didn't choose this hotel. I probably would have overlooked it doing my own research, since I always opt to be right smack in the middle of a funky and walkable neighborhood and I favor either a really modern or really "authentic" feel, but I liked this place. And not because it ‘s perfect. It isn't. Yes, the hallways are a bit odd and some rooms seemed quite far from the elevator at first. The heat did not work in the first room we were shown. It happens. But here’s what doesn’t always happen: someone was at our room within 5 minutes investigating, and we were given a selection of rooms to choose from when the problem could not be immediately remedied. We ended up in room 403, a spacious bi-level room with a giant picture window. And when the Wi-Fi in the lounge was interrupted, someone was immediately on the phone with the engineer trying to get to the bottom of it. In the interim, I was directed to the Club Lounge and given another passcode. It’s also the first time I received a handwritten “thank you” note for leaving a tip for housekeeping ($5).

The Renaissance also turned out to be a nice walk (15-20 min.) from some amazing restaurants. Buca (Northern Italian) and Blowfish (PanAsian), both on King Street W. thoroughly pampered and delighted my taste buds. And R2 cafe on Queen Street W. is a great place to take a break from some fun shopping and enjoy a beautifully made cappuccino (they made perfect hearts out of steamed milk for Valentine's Day) and a pulled pork sandwich fit for a Foodie. The concierge also directed me to Kensington Market, which was a nice little bohemian oasis to visit for a couple of hours.

The hotel is also right next to the CN Tower and attached to Rogers Stadium, which I imagine is quite fun during baseball season. A wall of windows in the restaurant/lounge look right into the stadium and there are about 70 rooms that offer similar views, allowing guests to watch games and events right from their rooms. However, if there are no events or events that don't permit viewing, make sure there are additional windows in those rooms before you stay in one. During my stay, part of the stadium was tarped off for a Harlem Globetrotter event, making the view from the lounge a bit dark.

Didn’t check out the pool or the gym, but the restaurant’s buffet breakfast was pretty good (a little pricey) as was the poutine (French fries, gravy, cheese curds). Again, friendly, attentive service.

I plan to come back, with the kids next time. Go Blue Jays!

Room Tip: Some rooms have older thermostats. We had a bit of difficulty regulating room temp.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Rooms at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Ann R,
Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and were able to explore some of the local gems. More than anything, I appreciate your kind words about our service and will share them with the team. We take great pride in our service and recognize that we have an exceptional team and working environment. Nevertheless, it is always nice to hear from our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
779 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Formerly Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $211 - $863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to announce our transformation from Renaissance Toronto Downtown to Toronto Marriott City Centre, and will continue to make enhancements to the hotel in Fall & Winter 2017/18. Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to our city to get work done or explore. Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance
Toronto Marriott City Centre Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing