We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renaissance Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Renaissance Toronto”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I recently stayed here for a baseball game at SkyDome.  It's hard to believe the dome is over 20 years old as it seems like just yesterday Alan Thicke and Andrea Martin were lighting up the stage in  "The Opening of SkyDome: A Celebration."  For a 20 year old hotel, they've done a great job at keeping it up.

As a Marriott Elite member I was hoping to score an upgrade to a room that faced the ballpark.  I called a few times prior to arrival, and at check in was denied the upgrade. My guess is that they don't upgrade to those rooms whenever there's an event.  They did give me club level and club lounge, which is effectively worthless on the weekends as the lounge is closed.

Parking was a breeze as they share the Rogers Centre parking garage, and have a specific parking zone for hotel guests.  Finding the garage entrance can be tough as it's at the opposite end of the Dome from the hotel.

My room was very spacious, and clean.  The bed and bedding were very clean.  I liked their ribbed towels, but the bathroom sink lacked a counter.  The sink was too small to set up toiletries, but they did have a little table that helped some. 

The hotel had a great choice of HD television channels on a nice big HDTV.  I was pleased with the television offerings and the Internet speeds.

Service at the front desk was very pleasant only service issues I ran into we're repeatedly bad waiters at the restaurant for breakfast.  Otherwise the stay was flawless, and I would return.

If you're a very light sleeper this may not be the hotel for you as there is literally nonstop rail traffic behind the hotel as Canada's busiest rail line is directly to the north.  I heard trains at all hours, but I can sleep right through them.

Room Tip: Beware of the train yard on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    684
    266
    91
    45
See reviews for
455
560
96
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from one of the memorable hotels stays we have had in a long time. I booked the trip to attend a Trade Show at the Metro Convention Centre. For the first time, my husband decided to join me. When we checked in, to our surprise, we were told that we were upgraded to a suite! When we saw the suite, we were blown away by it's space and luxury. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and we were even given a late check out which made it much more convenient for me to attend to a bit of unfinished business before we had to catch our train to Ottawa.

Bye the way, my husband also stayed at this location with his friends in a field view room to watch the Blues Jays game and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay too. In fact it was their second trip!

We look forward to more enjoyable trips to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The staff at the hotel are attentive, polite and increadibly helpful. I stay in Toronto on business on a regular basis and have found that this hotel has always met or exceeded my expectations for both their service and their accomodations. They have gone above and beyond on several occasions, I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

if you are a baseball fan and are taking in the game, this is the place to see it. The rooms are spacious and you can open the windows to partake in the sights and sounds of the game. Nothing nicer than having your own drinks and snacks and bathroom while watching a game. The hotel bar downstairs ensures you dont miss any action and the restaurant also. We visited all. The food was outstanding. A little of a labrynth to find the hotel pool and a lot of wet steps to get to it. But other than that, we love this place.

Room Tip: Go for the stadium view. It holds 4 people nicely, share the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked this hotel via Priceline also, and definitely understand now about some hotels treating those bookings like 'second class citizens'. We called the hotel 2 days prior to check in, to confirm our reservation and request that we have two adjacent rooms, one of which had two beds. My son, his wife and their two children (ages 4 and 7) travelled with us, as their Christmas gift each year has been a fun family weekend away. But we were told that they could not reserve our requested rooms in advance. We took the train from Windsor and were able to walk to the hotel, although with the construction traffic it turned out to be a longer hike than expected. At check in we learned that they were completely booked for our second night and that my sons family would have to move to a room with one bed. They opted to just stay in a one-bed room both nights, and not have to move! Then we were told we would need to pay for two cots AND that we could not place two cots in the same room, due to 'fire regulations'. So a family of four could not stay together?! The cots were an additional $20 on top of the $90 Priceline agreement. Our rooms were at the FAR end of the third floor, overlooking the train tracks (and more construction) which they kids actually enjoyed. We were not disturbed by the sounds of the trains; however the construction went on night and day which was not pleasant to hear while trying to sleep. Our room was clearly 'the room' that they use last: the closet door slats were loose and falling out (lots of dried glue drips), refrigerator 'missing' (big empty space - son's room had one however), hair dryer overheated after 3 minutes of use and quit. The chair was stained and the ottoman was missing (son's room, where the cots were needed, had one though). Found a dirty comb in the dust behind the table, which we moved out to play cards one evening - YUK. The lighting in the bathroom was poor, and there was no fan/vent. Pull knobs missing on furniture, scratchy towels, threadbare pillow cases, the list is endless...
The pool was beautiful, but was very inconveniently located. Guests have to walk through the lobby area, past the bar-restaurant overlooking the field, take a second elevator, walk past the meeting/banquet rooms, and descend an open metal staircase. We were dressed in our swimsuits and some were barefoot, as we assumed we were just going down a level and a short walk. Very awkward and embarrassing, especially walking past the crowd who were drinking and watching the game... The second evening there were no towels in the pool area, but one of our group went back up the stairs to the fitness area and found some for us. The 'hot tub' was just luke-warm. We did not find the beautiful pitchers of water setting out next to the lounge chairs, as in the hotel pictures (the four year old pointed this out!).
The staff were polite and merely following management directives. The gentleman delivering the cots clearly hesitated, expecting a tip: sorry, we were still in shock over this bed issue. We asked for extra bath towels (2 for 4 people doesn't work very well) and they were in the room when we returned. The hair dryer worked the second day so it might have been switched out also. When we couldn't get the in-room coffee maker to work, my husband called down and they said it was 'tricky' and they'd send someone up to help. Twenty minutes later we were dressed and decided it would be quicker to just go out for coffee. We called the desk again as we didn't want someone pounding on the door after we left, awakening the kids in the adjacent room. They were surprise that no one had come yet, but we firmly stated that we were leaving now and to just forget it. As we walked down the hall toward the elevator, an employee came running up to us and wanted to show us how to run the coffee maker! I proceeded to the lobby but my hubby went back with her to our room. In the lobby I spied a carafe of coffee and cups set up, but then noted the little sign stating this was for sale ($2/cup). Seriously.
This hotel is completely overpriced and has only it's location going for it.

Room Tip: Don't use Priceline if you have more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmkmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Grandmkmk,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We always appreciate our guests' suggestions of improvement and continuously strive to better our product and services. We clearly did not meet your expectations on several aspects of your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further. Please email your contact information to fo@renaissancetoronto.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chingo9
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Staff and the hotel were Great we stayed a week in April its is a little bit of a walk to get to your room if your on the far end we stayed in 297 with CN tower view the bar and dinng were good and priced good $6 a beer or drink and appies were like $8 and were awsome.
Try it you will love it

Room Tip: At $100 more per night you can get a skydome view and watch the game with a great view. the only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chingo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonsocket
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, what I would expect from the Marriott. The views from the restaurant / bar area was great, you get to view the Blue Jays game for free. Some advice make reservations for a window seat at the restaurant when you check in. The food may be more expensive then what we are used to but it was excellent and worth the money. Try the homemade chips and dip for an app.
I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location was great, central to most attractions. Located right on the side of the CN Tower and a walk away to Chinatown, shopping areas, Brewery, and lots of restaurants. We were there for six days and did not have bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrane3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 133 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel Ontario
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing