We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good except for the location”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not good except for the location”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

extra small bed, not so clean toilet seat( yellowish) behind the seat. NO WIFI in lobby or anywhere. INternet is $8.99 a day. 2 computers in lobby for free use but if you have 150 staying at hotel, 2 is not enough. NO POOL either

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstkt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We thank you for your feedback! We are disappointed to learn of the unacceptable cleanliness in the bathroom of your guestroom and the fact that you were unsatisfied with the size of your bed. We will definitely share your comments with our Housekeeping Team. We are sorry to hear that you were also unhappy with the WIFI service, which the hotel provides at a charge. Unlike some hotels, we give our guests the opportunity to decide if they would like to utilize the internet service rather than including it within the room rate. Should you be returning to the Bond Place Hotel, we would suggest a Business Queen room type to better meet your needs, which consists of internet service, a queen size bed and lots more. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    1,113
    635
    191
    142
See reviews for
384
876
311
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I just purchased a nights stay at The Bond Place hotel under a special on the Jaunt website. They advertised the room on for 119 a night for a deluxe suite stating the regular rate was 198 a night. However I just recieved an email stating there was a mistake and the special is only for a standard room. However a standard room on The Bond Place hotel is for 129 a night. Very disappointed in this false advertising the hotel used to get me to purchase a night. I can say with confidence I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Stephanie

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi Stephanie! We are sorry to learn of your disappointment and the lack of value that you see in the Jaunt Package. However, this particular package is a phenomenal deal and provides those who purchase the Jaunt Package with a number of hotel services and amenities at an amazing price of $119. Our current rate for a standard room is higher than the promotional offer, and does not include the following: parking (1 vehicle), internet, breakfast for 2, a Bay Discount Coupon, a complimentary bottle of wine, and a late check-out for 2pm! We do hope that there were certain aspects about your stay that you were able to find enjoyable. Sorry again for the confusion and we hope that you will reconsider our hotel and give us another opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was in TO for a very serious matter.....my son having kidney transplant surgery.

I found the Bond Place (recommended by the hospital) to be very accommodating and friendly. The Front Desk Clerk I had the pleasure to deal with (Paul) was very very helpful and friendly.

My room was perfect......small but complete in every way. Breakfast was reasonably priced and provided in a very nice room.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Next time I'm in Toronto (hopefully for a less serious reason) I will definitely stay here.

Thank you for making a difficult time for me very much easier!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magical20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We are so pleased that you are able to enjoy your stay at the Bond Place Hotel under the unfortunate circumstances that brought you to Toronto. We know how difficult it can be to have a loved one in the hospital and always strive to ensure that our hospital guests are as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The location is fantastic, very central and walking distance to downtown. 5 mins walk from the Eaton Centre, a great shopping mall which numerous eateries. The airport bus drops/picks up right at the front, costs about €26 euro return. The outside of the hotel is not that attractive, but on entering the lobby it is clean bright and welcoming. The rooms were great, we booked one with a double and 2 twins which was quite spacious, and the price for such a central hotel was very reasonable. Nice views from the upper floors, it is an 18 floor hotel with 2 lifts. There is not that many rooms on each floor so isn't much traffic passing your door, and had no trouble with noise from other rooms. The rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh towels and the beds were very comfortable. There is free internet usage in the lobby, two computers for use by clients.

Only thing that annoyed us, was that the staff did not bother to inform us of the availability of breakfast downstairs, or about the 2nd floor gym. Instead we had to locate breakfast in various cafes in the area each morning. I assumed when it was not mentioned to us, that it was not available, but I see recent reviewers have mentioned it. This would have saved us a bit of hassle trying to find nice places to eat!

Other than that this is a brilliant hotel. Based on other negative reviewers I was a little dubious about booking as we stayed for 5 nights. But I am delighted to say this hotel was in a fantastic location, very clean and comfortable, and was a contributing factor to ensuring that our visit to Toronto was amazing! I hope to be back here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for the great feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay while a guest of the Bond Place Hotel. Please accept our apologies that we did not thoroughly communicated the location of our Continental Breakfast on the B1 Level and our Fitness Facility on the 2nd floor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I read reviews of this hotel prior to booking and it was quite mixed, so I wasn't expecting too much from it to be honest. But we needed to be right in downtown.Previously I had stayed at economy downtown hotels that were OK, but dated and thought this would be the same deal.I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel must have been recently updated as the rooms were clean, modern, with comfortable beds, clean linen. Updated bathrooms and basic cable TV available. What was nice, was they have rooms with a queen bed and two twins, so if you are travelling with teenagers or bigger children, it would be ideal. There were six in our party, so we booked one of those and a twin room. The twin was small room, but very clean and beds comfy also, so again for the price a good deal I felt.This cost $228.60 incl all tax, for a 2 night stay, by booking online. It was considerably cheaper to book online than over the phone, as the hotel has deals for booking that way.
Front lobby is nice and bright, friendly helpful staff ( who looked after our bags for free when we had checked out, but had a few hours until our flight). The elevators were a bit dated.....but you are not sleeping in those! Breakfast was not complimentary, but was available downstairs for $9.50.There was a good selection of cereals, croissants etc. coffee/ tea and juice. There was no free Wi Fi, you had to pay extra for that, but a computer was available in the lobby for free general use.
This hotel was a very reasonable price for the position, right near Dundas square, easy walking distance to the Eaton Centre, cheaper and better than other hotels previously booked in downtown....and I can confrim.... no bed bugs that I saw and I did check thoroughly! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
It’s always great to hear from happy guests! We are thrilled that your enjoyed our facilities, but more importantly, that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed one Sat night through Hotwire. Check-in area has a stark appearance.
You'll need your room card for elevator, except to get down to Lobby level.

What I liked:
- good price
- downtown location, convenient to shopping, subway, theatres
- remodelled rooms, white bedding
- well designed bathroom with newish tub
- sheers and blackout drapes on wall to wall window, with a window that opens
- mini fridge, something I wasn't expecting
- iron and board, coffeemaker, hairdryer
- ice and drink machines on every 3 floors
- noon checkout, even though back of door indicates 11am
- 2nd floor gym was better than I was expecting, although closes at 10pm. LifeFitness equipment includes eliptical, bike, 2 treadmills, a multifunction. Also, there were mats, an exercise ball, free weights, a washroom, water cooler, flat panel wall TVs, handtowels

Didn't like
- room is very compact; mine had two twin beds.
- heat/air conditioner immediately next to the one bed
- narrow shelf desk with cheap chair
- the 'make room up' on the back of 'do not disturb' signs. I had housekeeping knocking, likely because someone passing by chose to flip it around
- flat panel TV takes a while to switch between stations
- sliding bathroom door rattled terribly; bathroom lights really slow to come on; cheap towels
- the only free internet is if you use one of the 2 computers in the extended lobby
- no plastic bag to line the room ice bucket
- no swimming pool/hot tub/sauna
- closed restaurant; although there's continental in the basement until 9:30am. Ask about breakfast vouchers at the front desk. Breakfast included yogurt, quality baked muffins, cut melon previously from a bottle, even cookies

Room Tip: the cheapest rooms have 2 twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thanks for all of your constructive feedback, both positive and negative. We at the Bond Place Hotel feel that it’s necessary to take the good with the bad, and will definitely apply your suggestions to our operation. Our room types are definitely more quaint, but through our recent renovations, we have gone to great lengths to maximize space within our guest rooms! If internet is an important feature during your stay, our Business Queen room type is definitely something to consider, as internet is included within the room rate. We apologize that our restaurant was not available to you during your stay, as we are currently renovating this space, however in the meantime we provide a Continental Breakfast Buffet on our B1 Level. We look forward to unveiling our new restaurant concept in early May 2012! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel rooms were clean and modern. Employee at the front desk was very friendly. Stayed in a twin room and it was a tight fit with my daughter's keyboard. The room reminded us of a cabin on a cruise ship, everything you needed with little wasted space.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyndytrhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondPlaceHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our room types at the Bond Place are definitely more quaint, but as you mentioned, we have made all attempts to maximize space. We do have many larger room types available, which may be a great option to further consider when returning to the hotel. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,993 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 134 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 134 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Property: Bond Place Hotel
Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto, Ontario
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing