We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay, lots of shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #71 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet stay, lots of shopping!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on December 30th. Check in was a breeze, check in staff Dylan processed me very efficiently and I didn't have any issues at all. The property is a bit dated, and the television was the old CRT variety. Not LCD/LED/Plasma variety. When I got to my room, everything was in order, this property is not a recently renovated Holiday Inn Express property, however the price which I booked at, and the location of this hotel was excellent. This hotel is located two blocks away from St. Lawrence market which opens very early in the morning on weekends, where one can purchase just about anything. Fresh fruit, meats, vegetables, cheese, breads etc. Also a few blocks north west is the large mall in Toronto, Eaton Centre. This mall spends a few stories, includes many notable stores such as Abercrombie and Fitch, Apple Store, Hollister, Lacoste, and many more. Many other electronics stores such as Best Buy and Future Shop is right near by too!

This hotel includes complimentary wi-fi Internet, complimentary breakfast which had a number of different muffins, eggs, sausage, breads, cereals, pancakes, juice, milk, apples/oranges/bananas, and a variety of teas and coffees. Please do note that parking costs $20.

In the morning a copy of the Globe and Mail newspaper was delivered outside of my room door. The furniture of my room and the lobby is a bit dated, however for the price I paid, and the location of the hotel, I didn't have too many issues with the dated furniture.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review! We have shared it with our team at the Hotel. It's very much appreciated that you took the time and effort to mention the name of our wonderful Associate. It goes a very long way in all of our motivational endevours. Amazing customer service is what all of our staff strive to give to each and everyone of our guests and we hear so many great comments about the things that they have done, but we never get tired of hearing more. . Complimentary breakfast, Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
We hope to have you back on your next trip to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    564
    304
    107
    66
See reviews for
296
443
102
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great location within walking distance to Waterfront, Eaton Center, St. Lawrence Market. Breakfast was very good. Rooms need a revamping (compared with other HI Express where we have been).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is a nice bonus and constantly evolving to better appease our guests’ breakfast request, with new items being added from time to time.
Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving.
In the coming year our hotel will undergo numerous upgrades and improvements including renovations to the hotel room. We look forward to significantly raising the level of comfort and guest satisfaction throughout the hotel.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had stayed at this hotel in November, 2011. Its a great location, clean bed room and very friendly staff. The breakfast was very good as well. My family really enjoyed the weekend and we will definitely stay there again. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We were in room 1005. Had a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are grateful for your gracious review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto downtown hotel. Our management is proud that we are able to exceed your expectaions and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Toronto.
Tariq Azad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel on Dec 8, 2011 and thought that the staff was wonderful. We had stayed here before, and enjoyed ourselves, so we decided we'd stay again since it was close to the attractions that we were in town for (The Eaton Centre and Massey Hall).

I would just like to say that the gentleman working the front desk in the evening was phenomenal. My fiancee, my son, and I were goofing around in the room and my son fell back and hit his head on the night stand. It ended up cutting his head and making it bleed quite a bit. We ran down to the lobby to see if they had any rags or anything to help stop the bleeding. The gentleman at the desk (I really wish I knew his name!) not only got me an old rag as requested, but he also gave me the key to the washroom so I could get it wet and offered to call a cab for us to take him to the hospital.

When the cab came, we weren't ready yet (we had to run down to the parking garage to get my son's health card from the van), so it left. The front desk clerk called us another cab without complaint, though and seemed genuinely concerned.

Location is one thing when planning a trip, but the staff is something that either makes or breaks the experience. I myself work front desk at a hotel as well and know just how important great customer service is. This hotel definitely has it.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor - pretty great view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AHaddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. My apologies for not getting a response back to you sooner. I’ m so sorry to hear about your son’s incident. I have two sons and know how hard it can be to see our children in pain, especially when they are very young. I hope your son is okay now.

It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about one of my associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again! Kind regards, Tariq
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had stayed here long ago, and liked the location. So we decided to give it a try. The hotel needs renovation, but the staff is very friendly and helpful and the free breakfast is surprisingly good. Very close to St. Lawrence market, and you can walk to the waterfront. CN Tower is not far away. All in all, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adil_Vaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMToronto, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown an would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review.

Amazing customer service is what all of our staff strive to give to each and everyone of our guests and we hear so many great comments about the things that they have done, but we never get tired of hearing more.

Our complimentary breakfast buffet is a nice bonus and constantly evolving to better appease our guests’ breakfast request, with new items being added from time to time.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.

Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I like to stay in the city center, and I know what to expect from the Holiday Inn chain. The location was just off a major road, so traffic noise was not a problem. The streets are wide, clean, and well-lit. The included breakfast is decent, enough to save you a bit of money, though the selection isn't lavish. I didn't notice any food items running out as time went on (sometimes the "good" stuff is gone before the last hour). Most of the city's attractions are in walking distance, and there are many restaurants and food options within a short walk, the Eaton Centre shopping area is less than 1km away (adjacent to Queen Station).

I didn't I have a car, so I can't judge the value of using the parking lot. There is a lobby computer to check email, do touristy research, and print boarding passes. Free wi-fi worked well, and the room was larger than I expected, maybe being a Priority Club member had something to do with it. I was on the 14th floor, with a nice view of the harbor over St James Park, so I could open the windows (also unexpected) to see the Occupy Toronto campsite activities. The elevators did not chime when they arrive at your floor, so it is possible to never notice that one stopped to pick you up.

I would rate this hotel around 3.5/5, but this rating system doesn't allow half grades. I would recommend this hotel to others who want above average quality for a budget price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klew97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMToronto, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. The best compliment that we can possible receive is that our guests can say that they would recommend us to other travelers. Thank you again for this.
Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary breakfast, Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
We hope to have you return on your next trip to Toronto.

Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a three week tour of Canada and the Sates. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and, arriving in a quiet midweek just before Canadian Thanksgiving we were given a top floor room with a great view of the Lake. The furnishings need a makeover but this hotel represented great value for money. It is situated in the old town and in easy walking distance of the city and the tour bus if you want to use it. We have travelled widely and felt safe walking back here even late at night.The breakfast was included in the price and included a good range of hot and cold food and a range of drinks. The hotel has a mini-launderette, very useful if, like us you are travelling light.The cost of washing and drying a load came to $4CAN and helped us on our way. There is free internet access in the foyer. The staff made bookings for us as needed. Around the corner was the refurbished market where we bought a great seafood meal in atmospheric surroundings for about $9CAN a head.A great place to stay !

Room Tip: The top floor has a great view of Lake Ontario and of the night-time city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walcottia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMToronto, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about our associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again.

Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 136 in Toronto
2,641 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 136 in Toronto
1,786 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing