We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Ranked #71 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ron, the front desk clerk was absolutely fantastic. Knew everything about the area and was able to point out the best places to eat, with perfect directions on how to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and the amazing things that you have said about our staff members. It always a thrill to hear that our staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that you, are guests, are treated right. Rest assured that I have passed along your comments to the staff you have mentioned.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    541
    295
    100
    57
See reviews for
285
426
96
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

This is a decent hotel with laundrette and parking. I stayed here last weekend and it was good value and clean. The hotel is looking a little dated but being a short 10 mi ute walk to the downtown area makes it fine.

Would probably recommend being 2-3 blocks further in if I was staying any longer than the weekend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Jprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful employee, great breakfast buffet, very convenient location. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daking2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the great comments that you have written about the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and in particular our complimentary breakfast buffet.

We take great pride in the ability to be able to offer this complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet. The items that have been added have truly made this a ‘full’ breakfast.

I will be sure to post your comments so that our staff are able to see them as well. Customer service is important to us and we are thrilled when someone takes the time out of their busy day to write it down.

We understand that there are many choices in Toronto when looking for accommodations and I want to personally thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown.

We look forward to being able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

My flight was cancelled so I called the hotel and even though it was after cancellation the front desk clerk was so nice and changed my reservation with no hassle. I arrived at 10am the next day and they Checked me in early with no fee. All the desk staff I encountered are super friendly!! I noted some other reviewers remarking about safety however being a single female I thought the neighborhood was very safe. Rooms are clean and comfortable! I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jzombro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We understand that times are busy and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write fantastic review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. I will pass along your comments to our front desk staff ,as well as our housekeeping staff, they work very hard at what they do and it is always a pleasure to hear that they have met or exceeded our guest’s expectations. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel and we look forward to being able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Have a great day,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I travel to Toronto for business very often, at least once a month. I often stay at the Delta Chelsea and this is my first time staying here instead. So a lot of my review will compare this hotel to the Delta Chelsea which is a very popular downtown Toronto hotel for both business and pleasure.

First, the price at the Holiday Inn Express is much more reasonable - almost $ 30/night cheaper plus the parking is slightly cheaper. Second, you get a free breakfast at this hotel - at the Delta Chelsea, you can barely get a breakfast for less than $ 15.

The breakfast here at the Holiday Inn Express is quite nice really - it goes beyond most hotel continental breakfasts. There is a wide selection, the breakfast room is spacious and clean.

As far as location goes, I don't think that the walk from here to the Eaton Centre, for example, is much longer than it would be from the Delta. If you walk south or west of the Holiday Inn, you'll have all kinds of selections of restaurants along Yonge, Front St., King St., etc. You wouldn't really want to walk north of the hotel - this is a little bit rougher part of town.

(Now for those of you not familiar with Toronto, "rough" does not mean "dangerous".....you might be asked for money from a homeless person, but you're not going to be mugged or hurt!).

The room is a little small, not cramped though. There isn't a decent closet, more of an armoire but the bathroom is nice, the hotel is clean.

There is no fitness facility at the hotel and that is a downfall compared to the Delta or some other downtown hotels. So I'm making up for that by walking everywhere.

Overall, this is a pretty good hotel especially when you consider the cost compared to other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you travel to Toronto again soon. I will look forward to your next stay with us.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
495 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Not a fan of chain hotels but we were here on business. The hotel is in a good location next to St Lawrence Market. Toronto is a very walkable city with a very clean safe subway and streetcar system. I am directionally challenged & was able to navigate through the city. I was very impressed with the friendliness of all people we encountered throughout the city. The hotel has approximately 16 floors. Our room was on the 16th floor with a partial view of St James Cathedral & the city. The room was clean with a king bed, separate small sofa-bed & desk area. The mattress was on the firmer side but our room was very quiet at night. There is no refrigerator and the ice machines are located only on a few floors. Breakfast is served in the morning which includes juices,milk,cereals,breads,fruits,eggs,bacon etc. Pretty nice for continental breakfast standards. Unfortunately coffee is only served at this time but there is an in-room coffee maker & a Starbucks on every corner. Parking is free & is located next to the hotel in a parking garage. For business I would probably stay here again but for pleasure probably not.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh Pa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My last day of a long weekend in Toronto.I couldn't book another night at the hotel I was in.Oprah was coming to town. I was forced to make a last minute choice.I have had fairly good luck with Holiday Inn Expresses. I said okay when given that choice.The hotel was dismal. My room was cramp there wasn't even a closet but a wardrobe with a massive tv.There were hairs on bathroom floor. I always clean my hotel rooms upon entering. This is the first I actually felt better after having done so. I cannot help it I am a padantic spaz about clean rooms Oh gad the room was so noisy I could hear all the street sounds.There was a couple bangs in the hallway.I know that part of my prejudice comes from just having left a place I loved.This place was noisy the neighborhood seemed seedier. Although overall Toronto seemed safe for a huge city.I wasn't digging the vibe. A few dollars more for the better hotel. I am still really bemoaning that I had to leave the other Hotel.

Room Tip: For a few bills more stay in a nice place.UGH!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiBean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express Toronto downtown. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We are sorry to hear that you had noise issues during your stay. As we are located just off the Jarvis (Very busy Street), light sleepers can be effective by the street noise on busy nights. In future, please let us know and we will arrange to have you facing courtyard, away from the Jarvis Street. As well, I will pass your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that errors such as the hair in your bath room are not repeated. We set very high standards for our housekeeping and are consistently performing quality checks in our rooms and through guest feedback. We would like to assure all guests that cleanliness is a priority at our hotel and that is reflected in many of the reviews of our hotel on this site.
We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider staying with us again.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#51 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing