We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like old houses”
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
Book In Advance
More Info
US$142.22*
and up
Ultimate Toronto Tour
More Info
US$243.80*
and up
Private Toronto Guided City Tour
More Info
US$34.94*
and up
Toronto City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #16 of 515 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Canada's majestic castle and Toronto’s premier historic attraction. In 1911, Sir Henry Pellatt engaged noted architect E.J. Lennox to help him realize a lifelong dream,the creation of an Edwardian castle on the top of a hill overlooking Toronto. It took 300 men nearly three years to complete the nearly to 200,000 square foot castle at a cost $3,500,000 (at the time). Situated on 5 acres, Casa Loma was the largest private residence in Canada. Sir Henry Pellatt with his wife Lady Mary enjoyed Casa Loma for less than ten years before financial misfortune forced him to abandon his home. The tour of the castle is self-guided. Visitors can experience the castle at their leisure with the aid of multimedia audio guides.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you like old houses”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The theme is Medieval times so the activities are fun and original. This is different from the modern CN tower or the Ontario Science Centre. It is 2-3 long blocks from Dupont Subway Station and be ready to go uphill! They charge for bags/coats ($2 per bag/coat). You can spend quite a bit of time around so make sure to feed the children before.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,626
    1,954
    677
    144
    68
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We enjoyed our recent visit to Casa Loma.Because we arrived when they first opened we were able view the towers with no other tourists in sight.This castle is over 100 years old and once in the upper floors you can see some of the old timbers used to support the roof.The craftsmanship and design were very interresting.Overall we spent about 1.5 hours and saw all we cared to.Its worth a look if in Toronto

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank quique17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“March Break attraction”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This is a very grandeur home of a former wealthy Toronto family that had much impact on development of the city. The family only lived there for 11 years before falling on hard times. The style is definitely not my taste... very ornate furnishings and dark depressing feel with a lot of wood. There's a great Canadian military collection and group of seven collection on the 3rd floor worth the climb. The march Break was busy with renaissance themed activities for visitors but after awhile the piped in music was starting to get on my nerves and I decided to leave at that point. If you're a fan of old things and the castle like architecture than I really suggest it's worth the view. I was more impressed with the history of the property and that at one time that the property was actually waterfront!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Harasnotlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komoka, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing home and history”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We took the kids during March break. We went before noon and beat the crowds. We were concerned that the kids would lose interest and become bored but the opposite. The kids, 14 and 9, enjoyed exploring the home and the many staircases. My son enjoyed going to the highest points in the castle. Great history and amazing construction.
Parking on site and reasonable at $10. Get there early before lot is full. You can spend a few hours here.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Medievel Magic”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Toured the castle right at opening on a snowy, March Break Monday. Painstakingly restored to reflect a different time in Toronto history. As an American visiting the city for the first time, we bought a city pass and Casa Loma was our first stop. Loved learning about life and history of this time period and reveling in the architecture of the building. The Queen's Own Rifle museum on the top floor was an unexpected treat!

Allow 2 hours to fully experience the magnificence of this city treasure. We parked in the lot for the day, very reasonably priced for the city, then caught the subway a few blocks from the castle. Spent the day exploring/sightseeing in Toronto before returning via subway to retrieve our car.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank dpk1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing