We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,406)
Filter reviews
2,406 results
Traveller rating
958
951
296
106
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
951
296
106
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree warm cookies eaton centre chestnut street city hall cn tower within walking distance nathan phillips square toronto downtown underground parking upon check convenient location front desk staff corner room subway station king bed university
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,406 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We enjoyed our stay. The location is great in walking distance of the Eaton Center and Yonge street. Close to the theater district. The staff was very friendly and gave us cookies each night we were there. The room was clean and comfortable with excellent housekeeping service. The lobby is small but adequate. The complimentary breakfast for Elite members was well appreciated.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank PositivePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was busy on arrival . Reception staff seemed ok. We had an honors room. However the bathroom was small and good size bed. Ok city view. The cookie is a nice welcome and water in room too . All very clean too

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank benjamin407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Stayed with another couple in two rooms on a Saturday night. We parked across the road from the hotel for $ 24.00 / day which is good value for downtown.

We found the room to be very small, even by downtown Toronto standards, There was only one chair at the desk and no where else to sit except on the bed, which was described as a queen, but it felt more like a double. The bed was also quite worn, sinking badly in the middle. Last real complaint was there was no refrigerator in our room, but there was in our friends identical room.

Everything else was fine. The room was clean, everything worked and we found the hotel to be very quiet.

With so many similarly priced properties in downtown Toronto, we will likely stay somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear ToSquareBob1

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your most recent visit.

I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your visit and hope you will come back again in the future to experience our true care culture.

I will be sure to share your feedback with our team to improve our services for your next visit

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Arrived after a flight from the UK to Maddy checking us in - she was great, really helpful with information. We were Hilton gold card members but because we had booked it through a travel agency we couldn't add our points on however we were allocated a room on the Hilton honours room and got a room overlooking the CN tower on the corner - thank you! Bed was so comfy and room clean and tidy. Small room so not much space to put suitcases so just left them on the floor. TV good variety of channels.

Hotel is in a great location, 1 block from the subway station or walkable to all the attractions. There is a car park on site however it is quite pricey! There is a concierge who did offer to help us book a car. There is a small area where they offer food and drinks in fridges.

Pool and Gym - pool was very clean, towels available and large changing rooms. Chilly though!

Doubletree offer you a cookie upon arrival but if you want more - ask! We had one every day!

Hope to come back soon!

Room tip: Corner rooms
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Moggy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Moggy12345

Thank you very much for taking the time to lets us know about your stay!

Maddie is a true ambassador of our brand values and really takes great care of our guests. I am so proud to see these kinds of comments and will be sure to recognize her for her efforts. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for, a midtown hotel near transportation, restaurants and sites to see. Our problems started when we booked online while travelling. We clicked on what we believed was their official site. In the end it turned out that we booked through "Getaroom.com". When I received our confirmation I immediately noticed a "Tax Recovery & Service Fee" of $261. I immediately called the hotel directly and was told they could not help me because this vendor had our money. They knew very well about this scam and said many other people had also been taken in by the website. "The Tax Recovery Charges & Service Fees includes the estimated amount we pay the hotel for occupancy related taxes owed by the hotel and any amounts charged to us for resort fees, cleaning fees, and other fees. The balance of the charge is a fee we, the hotel supplier and/or the website you booked on, retain as part of the compensation for our and/or their services which varies based on factors such as location, the amount, and how you booked." Really! I can't believe Hilton allows this. I spoke to the manager when I arrived and was told, I was on my own. If you must book with Doubletree, beware and read all the fine print or better yet call the hotel directly.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umesh S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Dear Dale R

Thank you for your feedback

I will be sharing your comments with our Revenue Manager so he may investigate into these charges that a third party vendor may be charging. I am sorry that this may have spoilt your stay with us but as you mentioned i would encourage you to book directly with the hotel on your next stay so we can take great care of you.

Thank you ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews