We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great experience. Very accommodating &caring staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #113 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
1 review
“Great experience. Very accommodating &caring staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Asian guy genuinely cared to help us with a few small things b4 we could settle in. Great cont. Breakfast.
A worthy hotel experience at twice the price!, well done!,
A

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Challengerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Howard Johnson, Toronto Yorkville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    39
    97
    68
    70
See reviews for
63
84
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I've been staying here for years. The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are friendly and helpful. And you can't beat the price, given the location. High-end hotels a block or two away charge two to three times as much. Go there if you want to revel in hotel-room luxury. But go to the HoJo if you want a decent place to sleep, for an affordable price, and you plan to spend your time out in Yorkville, not in the room all day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator and the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments on our hotel. We apprecaite your business and look forward to seeing you again at the Howard Johnson soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Every member of the front desk staff and the manager of this hotel worked at the highest "friendly-professional" level to help us in every way they could.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our staff come to work each day with a positive attitude and ready to assist in anyway possible. We are always pleased to hear when we delivered to our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I booked my stay on Hotwire and received this hotel. It cost me around $140 since it was busy season.

Let's just say, if you're looking for a great way to waste money, this is it.

Positives: Location. Its about a 2 or 3 minute walk to the heart of Yorkville in good weather. A bit longer if its bad weather, but still fairly close. The pillows were comfortable, which I enjoyed, The heating/air conditioning unit served it's purpose very well. When requesting anything from the front desk, they responded quickly. The hotel was quiet despite being fully booked for the night, which was nice.

Negatives: The front desk check-in was incredibly slow - I was a bit surprised at this since we were the only ones there at that moment. The room was a fairly decent size, but the decor was incredibly outdated, and aside from the bathroom and entrance, there is no lighting in the rest of the room. There were only 3 very dim lamps, which barely helped. Although the room had a large window, the view was of a generator, a wall, and part of the ventilation system. The bathroom seemed clean, until I noticed the vent which hasn't been wiped down for ages - it was lined with dust and lint. I mentioned the pillows being good, but the bed was hard - not a good sleep. Breakfast was included, however, it wasn't worth it. All of the items were out of a box - such as the eggo waffles, the defrosted french toast, and the dry old pastries. They didn't have any fresh items - not even fruit.


Overall, with the exception of location, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. At $140, I feel my money would have been better spent elsewhere, even if I had to cab it to Yorkville.

Room Tip: Don't opt for breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank businessgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
We are sorry to hear that we didnt meet your expectations.The hotel is under new ownership and we are working on updating some of the guest rooms and amenities at the property. Our staff are on hand to assist with any guest request and could have provided additional lighting for your room to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay with us at New Year. Your comments will assist us in improving our standards and service as we continue to update the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

If I could I would give this 2.5 stars
We got a really cheap deal new years weekend so im not complaining for the price we got but if I had paid more then would have been upset.
Lobby seems nice, clean.
The room was big but very outdated and worn. Bedroom seemed clean but there were stains on the floor and the bathroom was a little dirty.
The bathroom is literally the size of a closet. The matress was very hard to me but clean sheets.
Location is awesome, makes up for the room. Close to the subway and right in Yorkville.
Very quiet and parking is right at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanescencetabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here. The room was extremely attractive and larger than expected. The mattress was the best I've experienced in years. Due to the position of the room door, it was a tight squeeze bringing in the luggage. Plenty of towels in the bathroom. No coffee maker in the room, but coffee and hot tea was available in the lobby at all times. Also, a continental breakfast was provided. Despite the hotel's location, there was no appreciable noise within the room. Great shopping and subway was close by. Front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful. There is limited parking in the back for reasonable daily rate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay within the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for your comments and staying with us during your recent visit to Yorkville. We truly appreciate your business and taking the time to provide your feedback. Our location is ideal for the city visitor and our staff are always on hand with assistance where required. We look forward to seeing you return to our location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I knew it wasn't going to be the best of hotels when the door didn't automatically open on the way in! ;-)

It looked up with the chap on reception though as he was friendly and really helpful when it came to advice on where to eat/drink.

When I got to the room however I was shocked at the dated and well worn decor, dirty scratch marks on the wall greeted me upon entrance as did the faint smell of cigarette smoke.

To be fair the room was pretty clean and comfortable although for some reason the cable for my television was ripped from it and sat on my table top...didn't make for the best reception so now I sit writing a review on trip advisor instead. I won't say don't stay here just that you won't be seeing me here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyc073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Howard Johnson. Your feedback is very important to us and will help us to improve our product and service to a standard that will meet the expectation of our guests.
The hotel is now under new ownership and we are in the process of providing the hotel with some much needed TLC. During the few weeks of ownership we have gone through each room to deep clean and shampoo all the carpets. We are currently reviewing prices to decorate the rooms and in the process of purchasing new linens to brighten up the room and provide a comfortable place to stay.
The location of the hotel is perfect, close to downtown, restaurants and all the city has to offer. We are sorry that we dissapointed you on your last stay but hope to see you return in the future to see the changes we plan to make over the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 131 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 131 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#104 of 131 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#85 of 131 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
Address: 89 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of upscale and trendy Yorkville-Bloor Village. Our hotel in Toronto, ON, provides you with high-speed Internet access, free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and use of our fitness room. We offer around the clock coffee and tea service, and children under 12 stay for free. Public transportation is just one block away, providing quick and easy access to many areas around the city. Our wonderful location and 24-hour front desk staff makes our hotel near Queen's Park the answer to your Toronto lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing