We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toca

Toca
Reserve with OpenTable
Toca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 8,352 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$51
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown West
Transit: St. Andrew (King) Subway station
Description: TOCA offers handcrafted Italian cuisine complemented by seasonal flavours and locally-sourced produce. Located in the heart of Toronto's Performing Arts & Theatre District, TOCA occupies the mezzanine level of The Ritz-Carlton hotel. TOCA is proud to collaborate with Chef Oliver Glowig, one of Rome's most celebrated culinary leaders.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
523 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

The food here was great. Good selection of wines. Very intimate but a little noise. Whole lobby is noisy. Had sea bass and this was excellent. Nice fillet and not a bone. Started with a salad which was great too no room for dessert but would have loved it.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoenisSunDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastian G, Manager at Toca, responded to this review, 13 March 2016
Dear PhoenisSunDog,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at TOCA, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Bastian Germer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    52
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
292 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Wouldn't expect anything less at a Ritz location, but the breakfast here is simply outstanding. Everything imaginable with all of it being tasty especially the omelets and French toast made from their homemade bread. Would eat here again tomorrow.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastian G, Manager at Toca, responded to this review, 5 March 2016
Dear KentuckyGlobetrotter,

Thank you very much for posting this great review!

I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast at TOCA, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Bastian Germer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Unusual, High Quality Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

I came for lunch. It is upstairs at the Ritz Carlton hotel. When you enter they ask your name and offer to take your coat. They say is so when you return they know what your preferences are. It meant the 3 people who served me called me by name. They ask if you wish sparkling or still water. I had the $25 sandwich and soup special and a $6 pot of tea. The meal was different. I had the club sandwich which was two toasted pieces of large bread with a hole cut out of the top with an egg yolk sunny side up in the centre, chicken breast, prosciutto and aioli in side on a wooden platter. It is thick and also because of the egg yolk breaking you use knife and fork rather than pick it up. Soup was in a small iron pot and was winter squash with beans. Tea came in a Bodum plunger "coffee" pot with loose tea. Sliced fresh bread came with olive oil. You can access WIFI from the lobby without logging in or password.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastian G, Manager at Toca, responded to this review, 27 February 2016

Dear e10750law,

Thank you very much for your kind words and compliments. I look forward to sharing this with our Ladies & Gentlemen.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent Lunch at TOCA, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Bastian Germer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016

Excellent food, and the pairings were great as well. Very sleek and modern decor, and the table service was exceptional and accommodating for our business needs as well.

  • Visited November 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rch802015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastian G, Manager at Toca, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
Dear rch802015,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TOCA.

I am glad that you enjoyed the experience, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Bastian Germer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"TOCA"-PROVIDES MAGNIFICENT BRUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2016

We have been several times to "TOCA" .We absolutely love it . Having been to many other restaurants famous for "BRUNCH" ("Mildred' 's," Collette" "Hot House" "Tavoos" "Café Boulud" and others) I have no hesitation in stating that "TOCA" offers by far the best possible brunch, in all likelihood the best "Brunch" in Toronto..
I recently celebrated a milestone Birthday and really wanted something very special; and so we went to "TOCA" We were a party of 14. The choice could not have been better and everyone had a terrific time.We will soon celebrate another Birthday and already made reservations at "TOCA" !
"TOCA" ACCEPTS RESERVATIONS, WHICH IS A VERY IMPORTANT PLUS. Trust me it is not fun waiting 30-45 minutes for a table, elsewhere, sometimes out in the cold (By the time you can get a table, the enthusiasm is almost completely gone)
As soon as you get your table you can go around to fill your plate; no need to wait, you are in charge. In many restaurants, some of them actually quite good, you have to place your order and wait for quite a while; overworked servers, under pressure from too many clients get occasionally confused and will bring you the "wrong" dish. And so you have to wait a while longer to have things fixed. The menu - however good - is not comparable to "TOCA"
With everything on display you need a computer programmer to keep track of the dizzying number of various dishes. (Egg-station breads,, amazing seafood, beef wellington, salads, meats, soups, charcuterie, pasta, pastries, fruit, etc. and - a specially dedicated, spectacular room for mouth-watering desserts.
The presentation of the food is phenomenal ! Long tables filled to capacity with countless, colorful, painstakingly arranged various dishes that will blow you away !
I very much appreciate that there is plenty of room for guests to walk around with their plates, back and forth. Such is not the case with most restaurants where greedy managers place way too many tables, everything is very crowded, and make people feel uncomfortable.
True, at a first glance it may appear that "TOCA" is expensive. Not necessarily so; just think that the food is unlimited, you can go back and have another plate of something. Where can you eat unlimited lobster ? Same goes for the drinks ; divine "Mimosas" and "Bellinis" keep flowing, .Unlimited. !. Try this anywhere else.
The service is absolutely STELLAR.. From the second we arrived we were greeted by incredibly friendly, immensely professional, top restaurant staff- Kim, Irene, Josefine and Tarun who ensured that we were looked after beyond perfection ! They did bend over backwards to make sure that all the requests were taken care of quickly and with a beautiful smile.
The chefs and the servers provide a FABULOUS, EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH LEVEL JOB !.
The ambiance is great and very cozy.
A few words of appreciation for the food;
Good, "Yummy" insanely appetizing, wonderful, exquisite, delightful, glorious, scrumptious, brilliant, astounding, spectacular, magical, sublime, jaw-dropping, stunning, Heavenly, sensational, fantastic, amazing, extraordinary, unbelievable, breathtaking, "to die for",, incredible... Extraterrestrian, ... SURREAL... STRATOSPHERIC !!
Everything considered Sunday "Brunch" at "TOCA" is a very unique experience, .. Incomparable.
Indeed MAGNIFICENT !

  • Visited January 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastian G, Manager at Toca, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
Dear George F,

Thank you ever so much for posting this wonderful review.

I am glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed Brunch at TOCA, and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Bastian Germer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toca also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Toca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing