We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, unexpected flavors and ingredients”
Review of Olio

Olio
Ranked #559 of 8,717 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Etobicoke
Cross street: Atwell
Transit: Our closest major intersection is located at Dixon and Atwell/Skyway. Buses that stop in front of the Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel 801 Dixon Road: 58 Malton (east/west on Dixon, and the 112C via Kipling Station (Skyway/Atwell)
Description: Here at Olio we believe the key to great cuisine lies in its simplicity. We use this philosophy as an inspiration for all our dishes: seasonal, local ingredients prepared in a style that will bring out their natural flavours. Organic produce and meats, as well as fish from sustainable fisheries and environmentally sound aquaculture farms, have been chosen to complement this philosophy. We invite you to join us for a great meal.
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Came here midweek with my father in law and husband for dinner. The server was attentive and helpful. We each got at least one appetizer (in true form I believe my husband may have ordered two or three so that we could try a lot of things!). I got a beet salad and a jerk chicken dish. There was something dark, perhaps bits of olives, sprinkled throughout the salad that really took over compared to the flavors of the other ingredients - which was unfortunate given the beets were well done and combined well with the cheese in the salad. I was pretty excited about having jerk chicken. It was good enough. The vegetables underneath and around the chicken were really the high point of the meal to me. Something about the cooking method of the carrots really brought out their mild sweetness and they had a great texture (cooked and softened compared to a raw carrot, though not limp and mushy). The chicken took me aback - every jerk recipe I've had has been more citrus and pepper based with a zing from spices like cinnamon. The chicken here tasted much more like soy sauce than anything else and there was no spicy bite. My husband got a seafood dish with a red sauce that was advertised as having chorizo sausage in it, he mentioned after a few bites it was definitely not chorizo. Nothing was bad here, there were just some flavors that were not what we hoped for when we ordered our food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Assistant Outlets Manager at Olio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Marie S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Since your meal at Olio we have changed our menu to coincide with the season and to allow our culinary team to explore some new recipes.

Your feedback nonetheless is very valuable to take into consideration and look into adjustments to recipes which may have a comeback in the next seasonal menu. We're glad to read that the flavour and texture of the local vegetables we use were very much to your liking.

We hope you have an opportunity in the near future to stop by again and try some of the new menu items. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you need assistance with reservations.

Best regards,

Hector Garcia
Assistant Outlets Manager at Sheraton Toronto Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Olio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

One of the servers, Giselle, was outstanding. Friendly, delightful, intelligent, efficient yet relaxed, easily relating to us and going out of her way to be present to and help us 3 women. I felt joy and thankfulness for her presence.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Assistant Outlets Manager at Olio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Marcia S,

We're humbled by your comment and great feedback about our associate, Giselle, and her dedicated service in your recent visit.

Rest assured this comment will be shared with her and the rest of our team as an example of outstanding care for our guests.

We hope you and your friends come back to visit again soon. Should you wish to share any additional or specific details about your visit to help us identify those most memorable and important to you, please feel free to reach out directly to me via email at hector.garcia@sheratontorontoairport.com

Best regards,

Hector Garcia
Assistant Outlets Manager at Sheraton Toronto Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Outstanding GF options, delicious salads and attentive servers.
We enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant.

Thank reginam20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Assistant Outlets Manager at Olio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear reginam20172017,

Thank you for the shoutout to our culinary and service team's attention to your dietary restrictions. We like to ensure that gluten-free options are just as delicious as anything else on offer in the menus.

Our chef will continue to feature gluten-free options on the regular menu and will have his team ready to prepare additional items to keep breakfast, lunch and dinner options open to guests spending more than one day with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and hope to keep up to your expectations with outstanding food and service.

Best regards,

Hector Garcia
Assistant Outlets Manager at Sheraton Toronto Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Both lunch (open-faced haddock sandwich) and dinner (curried chicken and rice) had lovely spicing. Comfortable space to relax. Service a little slow at rush time but otherwise a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjmcrae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Assistant Outlets Manager at Olio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear bjmcrae7,

Thank you for both your recent visit and for taking the time to share a brief review of your experience with us.

Our culinary team is humbled by your comments and hopes to provide you with another lovely meal on your future visits. We will be unveiling our new seasonal menu in the coming weeks but will continue to offer the crowd-pleasing Butter Chicken and rice.

We hope your next visit is much smoother service-wise and even more pleasant when it comes to spices and rich flavours.

Best regards,

Hector Garcia
Assistant Outlets Manager at Sheraton Toronto Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

good for a drink and an appy. quality food, wish they had a bigger menu though. Marco is my fav, great bartender!

Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector G, Assistant Outlets Manager at Olio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Dave W,

Thanks for the great review and the shoutout to our bartender Marco!

It's always good to receive feedback and yours comes at a great time since our chef and culinary team are conducting their preparation for a new seasonal menu.

Please stay tuned for a new menu launch next month and feel free to stop by even before that, the food is still great in the current version of the menu. We hope the next one meets your expectations in terms of variety and exceeds them in terms of taste.

Best regards,

Hector Garcia
Assistant Outlets Manager at Sheraton Toronto Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Olio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing