We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights last month and thought it was a great hostel. Was a bit wary as it was my first solo trip but the staff were brilliant-helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Hostel was clean and welcoming. Private room was fine, plenty of space with all the facilities needed, bathroom (shower and toilet) was very cramped but for 2 nights I wasn't too bothered. Breakfast choice was brilliant and tasted great. Cafe area was rather hot but to be expected when underground with a kitchen. Lockers for luggage were very helpful, need you own lock to use them for free. I used small one from my suitcase which was sufficient. Location was great-I never actually found the subway but was told it was close by! Walked to the CN Tower etc which only takes 15mins and is very straightforward. Toronto City Sightseeing bus also passes close by so if you're doing a tour of the city you can hop on and hop off near the hostel. Overall a brilliant hostel, would definately recommend and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemma102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Toronto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

The hostel is a few minutes from King Station, so easy to get to and from the airport by public transport. It's also close to the wonderful St Lawrence Market, where food stalls are amazing. We found the staff great, and the members' discounts on trips etc. well worth having. The little cavern cafe desperately needs air conditioning, but the food was great, and we had vouchers for breakfast included with our room. Hostels are great for friendliness, even if you don't want to join in with the pub crawls or rooftop barbecues or games of pictionary, and of course there are useful facilities like the self-catering kitchen and the laundry.The kitchen was kept very clean, and there was a clear place for anyone leaving to put their surplus stuff for others to help themselves. I didn't take a laptop, and had to pay to use a computer - but it was fast and ok. We had a double ensuite which was nearly hotel standard - but for the tiny bathroom which you could only enter by a close squeeze round the door!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFeeny, Assistant Manager at Hostelling International Toronto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thanks for your feedback! You will be happy to hear that we are replacing the doors in bathrooms with are affected by the space problems you have described. Sliding doors will be installed removing that awkwardness of struggling to close the door behind you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I really enjoyed the location of this hostel but thats it. The staff were horrible. The british guy behind frontdesk who checked us in "seemed" drunk. I had breakfast the next morning and the food was okay, but the "spanish" guy serving it could hardly speak a word of english and was very rude to me and my friends. Even worse was how everyone eating could hear him yelling at the other staff it made for a very uncomfortable meal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gennifer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Great hostel friendly people, comfortable rooms, we stayed in a four bed shared room which had its own bathroom which was a bonus, great breakfast in cavern cafe. Lockers available in the room although bring your own padlock,friendly people and atmosphere, subway nearby and places to eat. CN tower and river cruise worth a visit. Niagara falls is a definite must. Great time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiejsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great hostel in a great location. Stayed in a 6 bedroom mixed dorm- the room was good, a bit small, but had its own bathroom. The kitchen was huge and very nice. THe staff were more than helpful! RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We were upgraded from a 10-bed-room to 6-bed-room, but the toilet is disgusting. The rooms were not properly prepared (dirty), lockers were small, and other guests did not keep to their confined space. The room temperature varied very much. Hygiene level acceptable. Not up to HI standard.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geolpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I was there from Saturday (April 9) to Wednesday (April 13) and I had a lot of fun. The staff is very helpful and someone cleaned my room and the bathroom every day. Great price and you get a great place to say. I totally recommend if you are not sure where you want to stay. It is located in an awesome neighborhood and close to everything. The internet is a little bit slow, but who cares, you are going to Toronto!!! P.s.: Don’t forget to buy the city pass and do the Niagara Falls.

Room Tip: Room 404 is great!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelersnotesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,166 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Toronto

Address: 76 Church St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: $34 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Toronto 1.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Toronto, HI-Toronto is steps away from local attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame, CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre and Distillery District, and just minutes away from major shopping districts like the Eaton Centre and Queen West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostelling International Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hostelling International Toronto Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing